We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful stay in "real" Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay in "real" Bangkok”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Nice alternative staying here in Old Bangkok versus the modern Sukhumvit area where we previously stayed. Rooms were clean, service was good, but their knowledge of local area attractions and to-do's was limited. Hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the nearest ferry stop on the river and about a 15 minute walk from Kho San Road area. We encourage everyone to explore as at first we felt very isolated because this is mainly a residential area. There is a 7-11 right on the corner and lots of street food vendors nearby. P.S. The hotel's restaurant is excellent. Try the Thai breakfasts (a different one everyday) - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_traveling_pants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thanks you for your kind review ^_^ If you are a kind of conservative and like to explore, experience new culture ... choosing to stay in the old area of Bangkok is an good idea. The Rattanakhosin Island is the old area of Bangkok that is still maintain and keep it as a historic part of Bangkok. The Temple, Palace, Canal, Museum, Market and the people are the original. You can feel the real Thais is here. Where about Sukhumvit area is more civilize and modern it's come with the entertainment, comfort, crowded and traffic. So lucky that you have been experience both part. Thank you for your advise we ill train our staff more to search for the new attraction in the area for the guest ka. Hope you can share some of your pictures on our facebook fan page. Have a slow life ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    459
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
661
967
213
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Six-Fours-les-Plages, France
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We picked up this address in French "Guide du routard" , and its opinion was excellent .
We were actually surprised as it was better than we expected : excellent welcome , originality of decoration and rooms , good drinks & meals . If by chance we come back in Bangkok , we won't hesitate one second about the place to stay !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-claude r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
^_^ Thank you for your kind review. Glad to know that you like our place, here at PN we're trying hard to service beyond guest expectation. Eventhough, we still need some improvement and many suggestion from our guest. Hopefully on your next visit you will be surprise by our living service. Have a slow life.. ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent a few nights here transferring from Koh Yao Noi to an international flight out of Bangkok, so just needed somewhere comfortable and hassle-free. This place was just the ticket.

We arrived at the airport very late, and our luggage was delayed - we had booked their taxi service and were skeptical since you have to first pay via paypal and then pay again in person at which point they refund your electronic payment. We took a leap of faith and used the service, and were VERY HAPPY with the result. Our driver was waiting for us just outside baggage pickup, and was very patient as we tracked down our luggage. He was also good natured, and kept his car very clean. This appraisal goes for to and from the airport as we had the same driver. We highly recommend this service as a means of reducing the stress of arriving late in Bangkok, and then leaving very early again.

The hotel has an adorable decor which softens its institutional bones, and its warmth is matched by the service provided by the staff. As we arrived a couple of the staff were leaving for the evening but stayed back at least half an hour to help welcome us and give us advice about where to go the next day.

The decor in the room was very cute, the bed was sizable and the bathroom was functional (good shower!).

We used the in-house massage service, and the masseur was excellent. We had a 50% off voucher for that service provided at check-in, along with some food vouchers for the in-house cafe. This was a really lovely touch.

The position of the hotel is just away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, and we had no problems accessing the major sites by foot and public transport (public ferry and train).

The hotel seems very family-friendly, from the other clientele we saw there - lots of kids running around the courtyard at any given time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia_Alex_Latti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
^_^ Glad to know that we are your perfect last destination in Thailand before you depart. Our partner (the taxi company) are the best one we select to work with. So we can be sure that you will be drive home save and smooth. Truly it a bit more expensive compare to the normal Taxi, but if you require for a comfort and safe drive I recommend you to book for our airport transfer service. No need to afraid of getting lost, over charge fare, or lost your belonging in the Taxi. They are on time and patient as you said so you won't be disappointed. We knowing that as a traveller you need a comfort and convenience stay before you depart, that's why we offer a free shower room for you to take a shower before take off, free luggage storage for you to keep your belonging incase you check out during the day time and will be back to take a shower because you have a late flight, and a living room for you to lay down your back get relax before you leave the hotel. No need to extend the room or finding a place to hang around before depart. We hope with all this care we prepare we can send you back home with pleasure. Have a slow life ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Rarely have I ever been as impressed by a hotel as I have been by Bangkok's Phranakorn Nornlen. For my taste, this is as close to perfection as a hotel realistically gets. The Phranakorn Nornlen simply oozes atmosphere. Staying downstairs in the "lobby" is so incredibly comfortable that I had to force myself to get up and explore the city instead of just hanging around the hotel all day. The great love for detail with which the interior has been designed, decorated and furnished creates a completely unique personality. And then there's the staff! Great English, super friendly, reliable sources of information.
My particular room was a beauty, fan and AC worked perfectly, bed was comfortable, and the shower was sensational. It seems almost like too much but included in the room price are various vouchers, including free breakfast AND lunches. Apropos - the cook is superb! WiFi is free and works quite well at almost all times - my single point of criticism is that the signal could have been stronger in my room.
Naturally, as special places like this often do, the hotel attracts the type of traveller that's a pleasure to meet - well-informed, well-mannered and easy to get in touch with. This is an extra plus as it gives the guest the opportunity to exchange infos and get to know new people.
The location is above average - close to Thewet market and Thewet Pier (and hence to the Chao Praya riverboats which are one of the most important means of transportation in the city, especially during rush hour).
The Phranakorn Nornlen is simply lovely, with all the personality you could ever ask for. I simply can't wait to be back! And I would give 6 stars if that was possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review ka ^_^ We will keep trying our best to serve our guest the best each day. Glad to know that you like our public space, in nearly future we will expand our public space more for guest to hang around such as our roof top cafe. More workshop rooms for kids and also more activities outside the hotel such as walking tour, biking tour, and a boat trip. Hopefully you will see a lots of change and improvement on your next visit. Thank you for inform us about the wifi signal, we will check it out as soon as possible ka. Glad to be part of your dream trip to Thailand ^_^ Kob Khun Ka.. Have a slow life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

lovely, beautiful and perfect stay.

We had a perfect family room and our sons just l was a loved it. After being tourist around BKK it was a perfect place to relax in the evening!

We'll be back!!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review ^_^ ... Glad to know you love our family room... Especially your son, we can imagine how he playing around in the room ^_^. The family room has been design specially for the family, with lots of beds and pillows double from standard room. Luckily you can book our family room cause we only have 3 family rooms out of 30! and it's very popular among family travelers. The rooms can fit for 4-5 people or maybe up to 6 if for the kids. We do also have a kid amenities such as baby bathtub, baby shampoo, baby cot ...etc You can request in advance if you need something specially use for you kids too. At PN the young guest are alway exclusive ^_^
Have a slow life...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

lovely, amazing, and helpful staff, clean, stylish, comfy rooms, premium breakfast, superbe smoothies ... I could carry on, but it will all sum up in one word: FANTASTIC :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babette55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
^_^ Thank you for your kind review. We try to improve our service each day to service the best!!. The breakfast menu, the smoothies and the rooms has been monitoring carefully to make sure guest will receive the best on what they're paid for. Glad to know you has been fulfill with our service and we will keep on working hard to keep our standard. Have a slow life... ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. Everything was great but for one thing: lack of wardrobe. Consequently all our things were spread all over the room. Besides this, everything was perfect especially the location. Early in the morning the next day after we arrived we found a river taxi and has a beautiful river trip. That was great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review ^_^.. We do agree with you that the room need a small wardrobe but because our rooms are small so it might not be enough space for it. Anyway we will keep thinking of it and will find a solution for this. As you said the river trip is very great we are about 10-15 mins walk to the pier. And along the way to the pier as you pass the fresh market, the flower market, and the temple you will see the life and culture of Thai people. The river taxi is very cheap and can easily access you to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town and also the sky train to the city Siam square and MBK. The River taxi working hrs. start from early 6:00 and will be finish by 7:00 in the evening and the fare is start from 10 to 32 THB and will be paid on board for more information you can ask from our front desk too. Glad to know you love the river trip it's one of the hi-light to do when you visit Bangkok. Hope to service you again. Have a slow life....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing