We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Friendly, Real Bangkok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Beautiful, Friendly, Real Bangkok!”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Phranakorn-Nornlen is a hidden delight - you will get the warmest welcome in this Bangkok oasis of calm - personal touches like a flask of ginger tea in your room at night to a lovely hand written leaving card signed by all the staff made this place one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed in.

It might not have the facilities of a big chain hotel but the staff encourage you to explore the local area to find places to eat and shop adding to the overall feeling of living in a really local Bangkok neighbourhood. The staff at Phranakorn-Nornlen are like a family and they make you feel as though you are sharing thier home. I will always return to this special place.

  • Liked — uniqeness
  • Disliked — taxi drivers found it hard to find
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ladyjane97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,751
    459
    60
    17
    3
See reviews for
665
969
213
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

My wife and I stayed only one night, and had a wonderful experience. Every single thing about our stay was pleasant, every encounter with the staff, intelligently deigned rooms, coffee & breakfast, etc. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Very good stay in one of the most welcoming hotel I have been to. Everything here is made for you to feel comfortabel and happy. Every room is unique, in mine and I guess in all of them you have a cd player with some relaxing and very good music you can listen to. The staff is just amaizing, always smiling and always trying to help. Ok that is not a luxury hotel but that is one of the best experience I had so far when travelling.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank ezzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

We loved, loved loved Phranakorn-Norlen! My fiance and I stayed there for our first 4 nights in Thailand. It is the cutest place... so much character! The staff are fantastic and so helpful. The breakfast was different every day, and always creative and delicious. Hint: they do have a small "snacks" menu, and I ordered the pancakes one afternoon, not expecting too much. Honestly, they were some of the best pancakes I have ever had, fluffy with real butter and REAL maple syrup! We traveled for over 7 months, and this was definitely one of our favorite places to stay.

  • Liked — The design of the place, and the staff
  • Disliked — Inconvenient location... some taxis refused to drive there because it was too out of the way.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Botanicalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed here on our way out of Thailand. We had gone more deluxe on the way in (See our review of the Metropolitan), and were just looking for something basic for our last night prior to flying out. This place delivered in spades. They have taken a nondescript (70s?) building and infused it with buckets of charm. So much so, it is hard to recognize it for what it was. The rooms are decorated with a mix of quirky and reclaimed architectural elements. The overall effect is folksy mod, a rare blend.

There is a plant filled court yard, with seating for relaxing, reading and eating. It is shaded, quiet and cool -- a nice break from Bangkok when you need it. There is a free (and ample supply) of computers for internet access. There is a cafe with good stuff. The included breakfast is substantial and quite good. (I usually do not even bother to eat free hotel breakfasts, even at expensive places, because they typically suck). The staff is SO friendly, charming, and accommodating.

Each room has a balcony, a ceiling fan, AC, and a CD player (complete with delightful house mixes). There is no mosquito net, but the door and window are actually very well screened. The beds are stiff, so good for some, not for others. There is also a huge roof deck.

The location is in the old part of town, near many of the "attractions", and close to Khao San if you feel you must, but far enough that you otherwise don't have to see it. Many great places to eat within walking distance, and an interesting location to just start walking randomly.

Definitely print out the map/directions for your taxi; it is down an alley, of an alley, and even with directions, it is hard for taxis to find unless they know the area well (as, in addition to the double alley, no one has ever heard of this tiny place).

If this was the extent of my budget, I could not imagine staying anywhere else. It is a bargain for what they offer. If my budget was lower, I would dig a little deeper and pony up for this place and really enjoy Bangkok, rather than save a few bucks and suffer through Bangkok's absolute cheapest. I would have a hard time choosing between here and the Metropolitan on a return trip, and I liked the Metropolitan a lot. These were two of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Both places exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — General ambiance.
  • Disliked — Hard bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lemonbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

Stayed for two nights at this place and we quite liked it, but people desiring more international atmosphere maybe should try something else. Rooms are quite simple, no cupboards, no tv (but a cd-player) but clean, big beds, a little balcony and a artsy down-to-earth feel of the room. Staff - very friendly and helpful, breakfast - a treat with different local servings every day. The community spaces are really nice, a lot of effort has been made to make it a cosy and unique place, and internet is free, with several computers for hotel guests use or Wi-Fi. Location is a 15-20-minute walk from Khao San Rd, local food stalls around the corner on Thanon Samsen. Area quiet at night time, but the best thing about the location is the Tha Thewet pier where you can take the express boat to go more central, beware though, it stops running by 7am. There is also a great open-air restaurant by the Tha Thewet pier called "In Love" with live music.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank My0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We have just returned from Bangkok and spent 2 nights at this hotel based on reviews on this site and I felt it appropriate to clarify some points (hotel will be advised about this too).

First: this is a superb boutique hotel re rooms / staff / breakfast / quiet location and general in house environs.

Second: Its not easy to find.... given. But read your guide book!! Many taxi drivers do not know where this is and its important to be well armed with address and location map WRITTEN IN THAI.. and supplied by hotel. This info also needs to be on their site to help people at the airport with this problem as the majoritory of drivers wont know it.

Third: This hotel is in a quiet suburb... and it is not a restaurant, and unless you are openminded enough to eat from street stalls nearby then there's not much in the way of eateries locally to choose from.... but hey you're in Bangkok and you can get almost anywhere in the city for £1 in an aircon cab, so grab your guide book and take your pick!.... I suggest there are a few more options than the local 7 eleven to choose from as suggested by a previous moaner... and by the way... as a general rule all tuk tuk drivers will try and rip you off as will many taxi drivers unless you insist on the taxi meter beign used!! Bangkok and Pr.. N are wicked.. enjoy!

  • Liked — staff have a fantastic attitude to customer care. Breakfast area superb
  • Disliked — some difficulty finding it initially from airport but no real problem
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshboyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
549 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
605 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
1,231 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing