We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2008

Phom Rok PN!!!! Seriously, I love this place. The first night I arrived in Bangkok this was where I stayed and I continued to stay at PN for a week. I have come back many times since then and simply because I love the staff and the environment is so comfortable. I can literally just hang out at Phranakorn Nornlen all day and be happy. It's a real get-away. Great food, great rooms, wonderful staff and it truly is relaxing. The new upgrades should be pretty cool, I hadn't seen the roof until a week ago.

I want to give a shout out to all my people at PN!!!

I strongly suggest you stay here if you're visiting BKK.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maffmatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2008

Without the need to write what many others have written about this lovely hotel, my girlfriend and I truely enjoyed our stay at Phranakorn-Nornlen.
The settings brings me fond memories of my childhood !
The breakfast were wonderful and yupz.. even when we had an early flight to catch, there was breakfast packed for us!
Wonderful staff, simple and down to earth.
Thanks for everything guys!

My only hope is that the place doesnt get over commercialised and loses its charm! Will definitely be back in Sept for another stay! ! (:D)

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

Let me just begin by saying that I really, really hope the Lonely Planet doesn't start listing the Phranakorn as a place to stay anytime soon. My reason for saying this is entirely selfish- I just don't want my new favorite hotel to be ruined by an influx of travelers, especially travelers that won't appreciate its quirky charm. My boyfriend and I stayed here three nights and as soon as we stepped through the gates of the Phranakorn and into the garden outside of the lobby we knew that we had fallen in love with this hotel.

Every room has been painted differently (we were in room 209) and every aspect of the Phranakorn's accommodations have been attended to in such a way that they radiate cheerfulness. Everything from the garden to the quaint little open air "internet cafe" (about five computers) has been decorated in such a fashion as to convey a cozy atmosphere as enthusiastically as possible- something more recognizable hotel chains will always fail at, although I do not believe it's from a lack of effort (please see my review on the Sofitel Metropol in Hanoi).

As all of the other reviews have said, the organic breakfast has been really well done- every morning a different breakfast in a open air facility that overlooks the garden. Also, just like the other reviews have stated, the Phranakorn staff are the definition of hospitality (something that comes in handy when trying to find a restaurant for dinner or other various activities). As for the tours, we went on the Kanchanaburi trip, which was also really well choreographed. We had a driver and a tour guide, and ourselves (all two of us). I had originally anticipated other guests from the hotel to be joining us, but it truly is a "private tour". Our driver and tour guide were always available without being intrusive, no doubt another benefit of a well organized and efficient routine. One example of this was we asked our tour guide and driver to join us for lunch- clearly we would have enjoyed their company but they maintained a professional distance and politely declined. Given our experience with the tour that we took I would highly recommend guests to utilize the tours the Phranakorn has available- just make sure you have enough Baht handy when the tour is over, they don't allow you to add the charge to your hotel room.

Aside from all of the positives, there are a few other things visitors should keep in mind. The Phranakorn is comfortably set apart from the bright lights of Bangkok- something that we appreciated- but other guests may not. Other things some traveler's may want that are not available: a tv, a swimming pool, a mini bar, elevators- When talking with the staff one morning she informed me that *sometimes* their guests are disappointed when they discover these amenities are not available. This, along with the location, are the only reasons I would not suggest this hotel to ALL travelers to Bangkok, even those used to the advantages of a five star hotel (i.e. me). One last suggestion- if you're looking for an all night party or a room to exploit the ubiquitous sex trade... again, this hotel is not for you (a detail the reservation process will make clear regardless). Although I will admit that a swimming pool would have been nice (mainly because it was so hot during our visit), I would still prefer this hotel over any other in Bangkok, no matter how many butlers, swimming pools, or stars it comes with. I appreciate originality, and this hotel epitomizes it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank charlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Great stay. Great People. Great Service. It was a real treat to stay here - we really enjoyed it. We felt very well looked after and not just another number. Everything was exactly as described including Airport pickup, The breakfasts were also great. We will definitely recommend to others. Cheers :o)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank assid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Staying at Phranakorn-Nornlern is like staying with family, only BETTER!!! The staff is phenomenal!!! They go out of the way to make you feel at home and are ALWAYS there to answer questions! We left Bangkok to visit the coast and the day of our departure, the hotel stuff packed us a breakfast for our trip!! How many hotels would do that??

Try to bael fruit tea - you will be hooked!!!

This hotel is a GREAT escape from the craziness of your life. A tranquil retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bubbie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in Bangkok. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They are willing to help you with anything ranging from restaurant recommandations to arranging transportation.

The hotel is hidden in a small street in a friendly neighbourhood. Once you enter the door of the hotel, you will forget you are in Bangkok. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms are unique. It makes you feel very comfortable. The room we had was not too small. There was enough space for all the luggages. The bed was firm and comfortable. The CD player adds a lot of pleasure to our stay. And the evening tea made you feel relaxed after a whole day out in the city. Another highlight was the breakfast ! It is true that every morning was a surprise and it never let us down ! We are actually missing it ...

Even though the hotel is not situated in the center of the city, you could get there easily with a taxi. And there is a ferry pier just 10 minutes walk away which can take you to the major tourist sights.

We highly recommand it to anyone who is looking for something different from the major hotel chain.

We will definitely stay here again next time !

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

Coming "home" through the doors at the end of each of the 5 days I stayed at the Phranakorn-Nornlen was like stepping into a very peaceful haven. The atmosphere that's been created here is superb and I felt as though I had slowed down.
The breakfast is included in the price. You are served whatever the cook decides to prepare for that day and although it wasn't food I would usually eat in the morning - it was DIVINE. It's served at tables in a leafy courtyard with relaxing music playing in the background.
The beds are big (and hard) but having said that, I slept superbly well.
The hotel is a little away from the central Bangkok. However, I didn't find that a problem once I'd mastered (not difficult) the local river boats. It cost 15 baht to Central pier and took about 30 minutes but I thoroughly enjoyed each trip on them.
The staff are fantastic too although a little challenged at time with English.
This hotel is a joy to stay in and top class hotels could learn a lot about how to take care of guests. I'll be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank coffeeaddictAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 883 in Bangkok
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 883 in Bangkok
1,524 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 883 in Bangkok
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £41 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing