We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a charming, family run hotel with kind, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, lunch and smoothies in the restaurant, well situated in Bangkok at a great price. It a peaceful oasis. Their website provides links to great food/walking tours which we really enjoyed. The staff can book an excellent Thai masseuse who gives fantastic massages in the hotel's massage room. A great experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsfar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you nice review. We are really happy to know that you had a good stay here.
Thailand has many difference food and they are not expensive, so joining the food tour is another interested program which you could experience our culture.

Hope to see you again next time in Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    453
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
653
957
209
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was hands down the cutest place we have ever stayed in any of our worldly travels! I have absolutely nothing negative to say about our stay here. The food was amazing (and the view from the rooftop patio... WOW!) Our room was incredible and the décor of the place alone is what will make us pass PN on as a recommendation to others! I rated sleep quality as average as you can hear others moving through the hotel and noise from the city but other than that it was great. I really appreciated the air conditioning in the room to get a break from the Bangkok heat! I would absolutely recommend this to everyone, we were impressed at how family friendly it was, and we would definitely go back if we ever return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review . Great to hear that you enjoy your stayed.
The rooftop patio was just finished recently and nice that you have been there.It is really good view, quite and also we serve dinner and cocktail up there.

Hope to see you here again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just love every single detail. It's so considered! And ALL the staff members were very lovely and helpful people. We had an excellent and relaxing stay there. Food was great, the room was fun and confortable and the price very affordable. I would definetly come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmorosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and your stay : )
We hope to welcome you back here again next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Other than being very tricky to find, because the entrance to the hotel is down a one way alley, the hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Bangkok. The food was delicious, the rooms are charming and the staff were sweet and helpful. Plus it is within easy walking distance to the river stop #5 Thewet which you can ride for about .25 each way to get down river to other attractions.

I loved this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckydenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review ^ ^
We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay here. You right, travelling by boat is very easy and convenient, good view, no traffic and fast.

We hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The accommodation is simple and basic which is part of the philosophy of the hotel - getting back to the simplicity of life. The staff were very friendly and helpful, included breakfast was delicious and left me feeling healthy. Taxi costs to most key points is about 50-60Bhat. Its the perfect hotel to stay in if you want to get back to the basics, and spend most of your time discovering Bangkok, than staying in the hotel. Basically the only place I stay at in Bangkok now :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same - they are designed to be a bit rustic, but are comfortable and sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
We are grad to hear that you had a good time with us, we hope to welcome you back here again if you have a chance to come to Bangkok next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We came back! It was just as we hoped. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the food and drinks well prepared and the roof garden with the views is just as inspiring. There is something magical about this hotel...a non-Western experience. The hotel staff helped us book a long boat Klong tour and that was great. It's also near the ferry which is the best way to get about. I think we will always stay for a few days here when we visit Bangkok. It's like no other place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseyviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for you return stay ^ ^
It is always nice to see the return guests like you, just like see old friends.
You right, the Klong tour is very nice that you could see the local life that still remain in Bangkok.

Hope to see you again and again : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We selected PN based on prior reviews and it lived up to our expectations. The airport pick-up was efficient with a clean, new car awaiting our arrival. Given the late hour it was very convenient but we found adequate and less costly alternatives for our return to the airport.
The hotel is not for everyone. It has a kitsch quality unlike any place we have been - myriad collections of memorabilia, antique household items, hammocks, open-air rest area and the appearance of an old timey arcade. It all works.
Our room was amazing - decorated in hippie-chic; with clean bathroom, cool a/c and overhead fan, a small balcony and awesome view of the Golden Buddha. Roosters woke us each morning so we felt a country enclave in the big city.
The roofdeck bar/restaurant was a great place to sit and the food very good and reasonable as were the drinks (from interesting cocktails to beer to fruit drinks). The service was a bit slapdash with drinks coming mid-meal; food out of sequence and indifferent wait staff spending much of their time chatting and texting. Free water and teas throughout the day everywhere was a nice touch.
Sam, the manager was a standout from our travels anywhere. Warm, funny, accommodating, he was a great resource - from walking to find a cab to making sure breakfast was available for our early departure - he was First Class!
I wanted to rate the PN Excellent but found a couple glitches for constructive criticism: while the cappucino was good, the breakfast was quirky: Day 1 the "set" was a sliver of salmon on hard bread, creamcheese cupcake and three tiny cubes of watermelon. Day 2 the set was small slices of grilled eggplant, ditto on mushrooms, and meatballs on toast. Not that it was bad - just odd, neither Thai nor Western. Also, the massage area was behind a glass window so it lacked privacy.
These are minor matters. The hotel is a peaceful setting, in a real neighborhood, yet easily accessible to the sites of Bankgkok

Room Tip: Face the Golden Buddha
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time write us your feed back, it is very helpful.
We always improve and try to change the breakfast menu in the various way. So your comments really help us.

Hope to welcome you back again in the future if you have a chance to visit Bangkok.
Have a slow life ^__^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing