We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A small paradise in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A small paradise in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is one of the most original hotels I’ve ever been in. Had a wonderful time serving my dinners on the terrace every night, that’s something you don’t want to miss. The rooms are simple but very clean and their unique design will make you feel great. Also the staff raised above my expectations and with their attentive and efficient attitude are succeeding in making this place worth staying it. The place is also ideal to visit Bangkok since it’s just 10 minutes of walking from Pier Thewet. Also I did appreciated the laundry coin operated service and the kitchen with cooking classes. I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnTLongT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, it is really helpful for us to improve and keep working.
We are located in the old Bangkok area and the Chaophraya river was the main transportation before. So taking the ferry boat down to the Grand Palace, wat Phrakaew and wat Pho is very easy. The price is cheap and you can see the good view along the river.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,698
    449
    57
    17
    3
See reviews for
634
952
202
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Once you step through the wooden doors of this quaint little guesthouse you just know you are staying somewhere special. From the vintage displays, to the open plan relaxation area and upstairs to the roof top bar and eating area, this place is really special. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful without ever being intrusive. The breakfast option is different each day but there are always regular options if you don't feel like being adventurous. I can honestly say every meal we had was very good. From freshly baked bread and homemade jam in the morning to a selection of authentic Thai meals at night, while sitting on the rooftop with a cold beverage, the food, the service and the whole atmosphere was great. The smoothies are exceptionally good, especially on a hot afternoon sitting beside the garden waterfall. Very refreshing. The rooms are air conditioned which provides a welcome break from the heat. We found the bed comfy but some might consider it a bit hard. Depends on what your used too really. We didn't hear any street noise but we sometimes heard other guests children. As this is a child friendly establishment you have to expect some 'kid noise' every now and then. They have one washing machine and a dryer if you need to use it, for a very small fee. We had pre-arranged our tours but the staff will gladly help you plan your day if you want and they write the directions in Thai to give to the taxi drivers. So, if you are looking for somewhere different to stay which is very Eco friendly (they supply all their homemade shampoo, bath gel and insect repellant which really works and smells great) then look no further than this fabulous little guesthouse. It's clean, comfortable and very, very cosy! Thank you to all the team at PN for a very memorable stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Their are no lifts just steps so that may be a consideration for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyn123896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback, we are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us : )
We consider every details from the breakfast to the products we used. We would like you to get all the good things and also less bother the environment. Our staff also try to help you holiday as easier as they can so please feel free to ask them^ ^

Hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Everything about our stay at PN was great. The staff helped us with directions around town. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, good wi-fi connection everywhere, and the breakfasts were super. One staff member even made us breakfast sandwiches to go on the morning of our flight! The hotel is just a few blocks from Khaosan Rd and the pier for easy access to boat taxi. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you time writing us the review : )
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, guest who have the early flight and miss the breakfast we will provide with the sandwich pack and fresh juice so you can start the good day.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a charming, family run hotel with kind, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, lunch and smoothies in the restaurant, well situated in Bangkok at a great price. It a peaceful oasis. Their website provides links to great food/walking tours which we really enjoyed. The staff can book an excellent Thai masseuse who gives fantastic massages in the hotel's massage room. A great experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsfar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you nice review. We are really happy to know that you had a good stay here.
Thailand has many difference food and they are not expensive, so joining the food tour is another interested program which you could experience our culture.

Hope to see you again next time in Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was hands down the cutest place we have ever stayed in any of our worldly travels! I have absolutely nothing negative to say about our stay here. The food was amazing (and the view from the rooftop patio... WOW!) Our room was incredible and the décor of the place alone is what will make us pass PN on as a recommendation to others! I rated sleep quality as average as you can hear others moving through the hotel and noise from the city but other than that it was great. I really appreciated the air conditioning in the room to get a break from the Bangkok heat! I would absolutely recommend this to everyone, we were impressed at how family friendly it was, and we would definitely go back if we ever return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review . Great to hear that you enjoy your stayed.
The rooftop patio was just finished recently and nice that you have been there.It is really good view, quite and also we serve dinner and cocktail up there.

Hope to see you here again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just love every single detail. It's so considered! And ALL the staff members were very lovely and helpful people. We had an excellent and relaxing stay there. Food was great, the room was fun and confortable and the price very affordable. I would definetly come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmorosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and your stay : )
We hope to welcome you back here again next time.

Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Other than being very tricky to find, because the entrance to the hotel is down a one way alley, the hotel was a wonderful place to stay in Bangkok. The food was delicious, the rooms are charming and the staff were sweet and helpful. Plus it is within easy walking distance to the river stop #5 Thewet which you can ride for about .25 each way to get down river to other attractions.

I loved this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckydenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review ^ ^
We are happy to know that you enjoy your stay here. You right, travelling by boat is very easy and convenient, good view, no traffic and fast.

We hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 844 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 844 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 844 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing