We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and refreshing oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and refreshing oasis”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Loved the room, the firm mattress was a delight. Plants everywhere, a tinkling fountain and caring, helpful staff. Clean rooms, and the option of not using aircon, plus lovely home made complementary shower/bath goodies and a cute shop with well chosen thai handicrafts were super nice touches.The breakfasts were great, quirky in a good way and totally delicious. Apparently the 'garden' which attracted us to the hotel was covered over last year and is now an airy wooden sala with a resting/lounging area, so that's not quite what we signed up for, but the hotel still felt like a leafy and peaceful retreat from the busy streets outside. It seems to be popular with families with small children, which is not a bad thing but we did wish there was a teeny bit more quiet in the afternoons when we wanted to nap - we happened to be around while some noisy kids also needed their playtime. Mostly the hotel feels natural, down to earth and very everyday Thai, as in not an aircon cube with tired spa touches which could be anywhere in the world. It's a lovely place to stay on the river side of the city, with plenty of street eats around and a 10 minute walk to the Tewet river boat pier along a street lined with gardening supplies, orchids and potplants. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Might try rooms higher up (we were on 1st floor) to reduce noise from children playing on deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanja_london0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) Nice to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.
Before we have lots of trees so there are many mosquitoes so we decide to reduce the garden space and built the terrace for guests to relax and lay down. However we still keep green spaces everywhere so you can feel the fresh air.

Hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,776
    463
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
677
979
220
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Wonderful experience to live in PN, people are very warm and kind here. Only we need to face the protest period in Bangkok, and the tranportation near by PN was not so good. But overall, I am my family feel very comfitable to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altman_Tsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback : )
We are sorry for the inconvenience during your stay, the protest is out of our control but now the situation is better. Even some road was blocked but the taxi driver still can go another way, also we are close to the "thewet" pier which is only 5-10 minutes-walk and the river boat stop to many interesting places such as the grand palace, wat pho, wat arun etc.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

How special this place is! On every level it communicates positive ethics and values, from the organic, locally sourced food, the environmentally sound practices and the quality of the services. The staff clearly enjoy their jobs and take pride in what they present - a charming, relaxed, welcoming, innovative and complete place of rejuvenation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - some have better views of Wat In than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulaw6qci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : )
We just would like to give you all the best we could do, all staff are willing to help and yes they love their job. It is not just a job but it a kind of life, we learn here from work and from guests.

Hope to welcome you back here again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very cozy and cute, the vibe is really welcoming, like you are staying at a friend's house. Every staff member we interacted with was helpful and genuinely friendly. The rooms may not be modern but they are very well kept and clean. My only complaint is that the mattress was very firm and not very comfortable, though my wife liked it. Airport transfer was well worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you feedback : )
Good to know that you had a good stay with us. The staff always willing even some of them could not speak English well (not the receptionists of course) they are trying to help as a friend.
For the bed, we just changed to the softer but maybe not very soft like other place, the too soft mattress will hurt your back and not good for your health : )

Hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Everyone and I mean everyone was very friendly. The place is very clean and welcoming, impeccable accommodation I may say. I really liked the arrangements and furniture and I was amazed by their attention to details. The hotel is close to the historic district making extremely accessible every point of interest. I find it to be a beautiful place, very special full of peace, perfumes and smiles. All in all, a very quiet, well maintained, clean place and above all relaxing atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for you nice feedback : )
Everybody here are friendly because we feel that guests not just guests but we are the family members, even guests themselves feel that everyone are friends. They can talk even they just met, children and play even they speak difference, this is amazing : )

Hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in Phranakorn in November 2013 for 4 days, the hotel is wonderful, so quiet and peaceful, while in the center of Bangkok. THe food is great, the rooms are very clean, the staff is very nice and the food, breakfast and restaurant are amazing. In 10-15 min by foot you are at the Chao Praya river and you can take the boat that will bring you to the main touristic places. In 15 min you can see KAo San Road (if you like this). ANd the price is really good. Amazing view on standing Buddha on the top floor, where you can have a beer and your meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain_RCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : )
We are glad to know that you like our place, we are located not too far from the Khaosarn road ( the backpacker area) but far enough from the busy over there. Also you could take a river boat from the Thewet pier which is only 5-10 minutes-walk and there are many stops to the main attraction such as the grand palace, wat pho and wat arun.

We hope to see you again if you come back to Bangkok, it is always nice to welcome an old friend.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

If you're looking for a unique retreat from the bustle of Bangkok this is the place for you.

We stayed at Phra-Nakorn Norn-Len for three nights in June. The room was beautiful and the whole hotel was like a children's book come to life.

When we arrived we were given a gift of handmade toiletries which smell amazing!

The breakfast was excellent with good choice and delicious fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice.

Phra-Nakorn Norn-Len thoroughly deserves all the great reviews it has and if we return to Bangkok it will definitely be our number one choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and feedback : )
We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us, we cannot tell how we are but we always try to provide services and feeling of "home" to our guests and that make you feel it yourselves. When you happy, we are happy too.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 867 in Bangkok
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 867 in Bangkok
1,512 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 867 in Bangkok
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing