We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with increadible Love for Details!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A colorful artsy hotel close to kao sun road. Nice rooms. Good food (lovely breakfast with good coffee) and super roof top. Opportunity to wash and dry clothes. Massages by professionals. Public Transport is a bit far away besides busses. Smoking Free zone also on the terrace. Price value is really good! Booking in advance recommended. The staff is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enilorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear "Enilorc"

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Nice to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. We are not close to the sky train but you can still use bus, taxi or even the river boat where the pier is only 5-10 minutes-walk.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This place is more than a hotel. We felt so at home and the staff were superb. A lovely atmosphere with lots of social space to hang out - chairs, tables, benches, raised platform with day beds and cushions, upstairs night time roof restaurant, childs play room (a fantastic find!), great area, walking distance to the river, great massages, lovely quirky rooms, tasty quick food, lovely breakfast, mini bakery, fresh fruit on sale... I mean I seriously don't have a bad word to say. Stay here! We stayed in the family room which was two separate rooms; double bed in one room and single bed and a huge day bed in the other. Little balcony too. Suited are needs perfectly. For those who are not mobile - no lifts so expect to walk up the stairs (or ask for first floor room). Very family friendly , lots of families with kids so my two year old always had some kids to play with plus the staff were super lovely with him.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room if you don't want to walk up the stairs, or ask for a top floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear "Carly K",

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : ) We also happy to know that you had a good stay here.
Really hope to see you and your family again next time if you come back to Bangkok.

Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Phranakorn Nornlen is not just a place to stay. It is an experience in it self, beautiful, cosy and very inspiring. I stayed there with my husband and 3 kids december 13 and again january 14. I am in love with this place and it's motto "have a slow life". A perfect "home away from home", especially for families with children, but I would also stay here as a couple or a single traveler. The service and staff are world class - so nice and helpful!! The place is very clean and everywhere you look the decor and interior is creative and beautiful. We loved the CD player in the rooms with music that fits the place. We also loved the rooftop terrace, the playroom, the wallpaintings - well just everything about the place. A little tiny thing to improve is the breakfast. The "Thai-version" was good, but for the kids the "continental version" with eggs and pancakes was boring after day number 2. We would have liked options with fruit, yoghurt and vegetables. Lunch and dinner was good though. We liked the area too. There are not many tourists and you get to see "everyday life in Bangkok". A walk to the standing Buddha, the food marked and the Tewet pier is nice and a must. Ask in the reception and they can draw a little map :-) All in all: Don't hesitate to stay here!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear "Nanna M" ,

Thank you so much for your nice review : ) It is great to hear that you and your family happy to stay with us. Like you said this place is not only for a family with kids but also suit for any traveler. If you like our concept and style, you will not disappointed to stay here.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What a find ! We loved staying here ,in fact we are going back in march ! it is a little oasis off the beaten track down a side street and as you enter the gates you are transported to a bygone era ! The public space is so airy and light,charming and relaxing with quirky shop fronts from long ago,gentle music wafting around and charming,smiley girls and boys to aid you in anyway.The decor is fantastic ,hand painted murals on every wall,so creative ! The room was perfectly adequate ,we were on the first floor so able to get wifi in our room. The view from the roof terrace was lovely facing a stunning standing buddha of 45 metres !
Breakfasts were very quirky , but eggs are available too and lovely fresh juices.We also had lunch and dinner there.It is a little way from the action but easy to reach the river ferry stop and taxis,tuk-tuks etc.We both had an outstanding massage too ,really good ! We are very much looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear "Gabalotte",

Thank you so much for you nice review : )
Great to know that you like our place, we would like guests stay here with the feeling of home. What's the home should have? Relaxing place, good food, useful facilities and the most importance is the member. Our staff here always willing to assist you as much as they can. So please feel free to be our friends ^ ^

Looking forward to see you again next month.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved the decor and murals.
Friendly staff, closeness to the flower market and the river boats to get to the reclining Buddha.
Family friendly and fantastic. The public space is charming. only Stairs no lift to the 2nd and 3 rd floors. Restaurant on top floor with great views. Basic menu using the organically grown veg garden on the roof. They have their own bakery and make cosmetic products, have a massage parlour and kids play areas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumyum2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear "yumyum2012",

Thank you very much for your nice review : ) We are happy to know that you had a good stay with us. We would like guests be here with the pleasant stay and leave with the good memories.

Hope to see you again next time if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This guest house cum hotel had all the things one would like to see in a hotel. The hotel was full with latest and well maintained furniture. The items were chosen in a very accurate manner and I must say that the hotel was something that made my visit perfect. The best thing I liked in the hotel is the system followed to entertain clients. We were not pushed to restrict our stay and even we were given some discount on rentals. The hotel is a perfect place to have good warm nights and make the most out of your trip. We had a recreational trip to celebrate the good exam result of my son. He really deserved a gift from me after performing in such a brilliant manner and passed the exams in flying colors. What better gift would be than having a trip in Thailand?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear "Lucille M",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Congratulations to your son for the good exam result, I hope this is a good experience for him to come to Thailand.

Hope to welcome you back again.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at phranakorn nornlen during our first two nights in Thailand. Although it is a little expensive here if you are on a budget, it is worth the splurge! The rooms were small but cute with unique artwork in each one and the complimentary breakfasts were amazing! The highlight of this hotel for us was the lobby. It is a very beautiful and relaxing area which can be hard to find in the heart of Bangkok! The only downfalls for us was that the wifi did not reach our rooms, and it is a little far away from the main attractions in bangkok, such as khao San road and the old city if you are walking. It is very easy to get a cab to these locations though. If you are concerned about the wifi, it may be a good idea to stay in floor 1 or 2 if possible, we were on the third floor. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 403travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear "403travellers",

Thank you so much for your nice review. :)
The relaxing area at the lobby we call "SALA" , the sala could be found in the Thai local house which have enough space. They use sala for gather the family member in order to join, to eat, to spend their time together. The open area make the wind flow through so it cooling the weather.
Sorry for the inconvenience with the internet wifi, we found out that the signal could disturb the brain while you are sleeping so the main connection are at the lobby and the rooftop cafe.

We hope to welcome you back to PN again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,555 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
1,489 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing