We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nice and clean room, unfortunately at 3rd floor and no lift. We found the bathroom too Spartan for our taste.Very good breakfast in the entry garden hall. Beautiful view from the terrace on the roof. No TV but access to internet in the hall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear "Bogdan S",

Thank you so much for your review : )
We just a small hotel which concern the environment, we have no elevator, no television and no refrigerator in the room, Not only for the the energy but also for the environment. However we have a share refrigerator for you to use each floor, the computer with free WiFi access.
Sometime just lay down at the "Sa-la" (the lobby terrace) and listen to the birds song is could be a good day.

We hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    459
    60
    17
    3
See reviews for
665
971
214
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This beautiful, eclectic, tucked-away hotel is a true gem in the midst of a bustling city. Clean, comfortable rooms with charm and room to move; the best friendly, helpful, warm staff; quiet oasis of a courtyard with reclining lounges, many tables to write at and a true attention to travelers' needs - filtered water and tea available at all times, bug repellent, luggage storage, wi-fi. The food is delicious. The Thai massage was the best massage I have ever had. A bonus is the rooftop restaurant - al fresco, overlooking an illuminated golden Buddha and a modern lovely bridge spanning the Chao Phyra River. Tuk-tuks, buses and taxis available a few meters away; water taxi is a short walk. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear "Debra R",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
All facilities and services we provided are for travelers need, washing machine, cafe. computer Internet WiFi etc. We just would like you to feel like home and comfortable. Also the area has many things you need, food corner, 7-11 shop, bank, river boat station, flower market etc. Almost every guest love our traditional Thai massage you know that ^ ^ it really make you feel relax after your long day.

Hope to see you again if you have a chance to come back to Bangkok next time.
Have a slow life...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here our first night in Thailand before moving to hua hin the next day. We absolutely loved this hotel. The decor was superb, very retro and very creative. Everywhere you went in the hotel there was something new to see. Loved the old TV sets and singer sewing machines doted about. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. There was comfy cushions and lounging areas in the reception area which was perfect for just lazing around while waiting for our transport to arrive. I can't really comment on the location as we didn't venture out of the hotel. The hotel also had a roof terrace where food was served in the evening. We ate here when we arrived and the food was nice but I would say there could be more vegetarian options. It was very nice relaxing in the bangkok heat with an ice cold bottle of Chang. We would def return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear "Lisa T",

Thank you so much for taking your time write us the review :)
Great to hear that you had a good time staying with us. The design is like home but it could not be home if don't have family members which is our staff and especially our guests like you. Even outside is busy but we hope you to come back and have a relaxing time together here.

Hope to welcome you back again.
Have a slow life.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riscle, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If we had a young family this place would have been a great place to stay, but we were travelling as a couple and didn't get a lot of sleep because of children and also the light from the hall coming through the window over the bedroom door. The rooms were really nicely decorated, lovely and clean and very creative, as was the whole place, the staff are very friendly and very helpful, it was a very good idea to have the mosquito spray and drinking water at the entrance. I would certainly have loved to have stayed here when my children were young, on our return journey through Bangkok, we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear "philippajohn",

Thank you so much for your feedback :)
Some period there are families with kids come stay at the same time but some period is not their time so you may ask the reservation for their suggestion. Most of the time their parents always take care of their own children and don't let them disturb other guests.
We not only have guests with the family but we also welcome couples and single guests as well.
Sorry for the inconvenience but still hope to see you next time.

Have a slow life....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Travelling with 3young children is sometimes difficult but not in this place.
Children have space to play, and not disturbing other guest, every meal are wonderfull. And the secret garden with rabbits really enjoy them.
All of us had wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear "5Nono",

Thank you so much for you review :)
Great to know that you like our place and the kids had a good time here.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I loved our stay at PN, top notch service, great ambiance, family friendly, breakfast was superb - the overall relaxing atmosphere - made us stay at the hotel and just hang out, enjoying the slow life.
This place has really good service, attentative staff and the decor is so amazing that it can keep you there for days....I love the attention to detail and service, ie. breakfast service - little houses with your room number, laundry with pre-measured detergent, tea is brought to your room, ready to go breakfast for a super eary sightseeing...All these small thougt-full-ness (?) made my stay in the busy Bangkok so more incredibly blissfull and realxing and enjoying the slow life....
I want to come back just to stay to enjoy, recharge and be in a beautiful place....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear "kokoozie",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Nowadays many people are so busy and hurry to do many things is a day, even on the holiday. We would like you to feel relax here as much as we can. During the day you may have your plan to visit many places , so let's start the day here with the healthy breakfast and useful tips from staff and after your day just back here like you come back home. Have you try our Thai massage ? It's really make you feel good after a long day. If too much to do outside, just stay here and chill out at the "Sa-la" where you can sit or lay down and listen to the bird or the squirrel on the tree.

Hope to welcome you back again next time.
Have a slow life....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We started our journey here, it's a lovely relaxing place and we had a lovely meal at the restaurant as well. Always impressed by the breakfast, room was quite nice the mattress a little hard.
It's a bit far out of town and not near sky train although close to river ferry if you can find it ok! Being outside the town slightly does make it the chilled out place it is. Staff were nice enough but not the most friendly we've come across!
Would recommend, although I personally wasn't a fan of Bangkok
itself!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chantssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear "Chantssss",

Thank you so much for taking the time write us the review :)
We are in the old Bangkok area which many historical places located such as the grand palace and many temples. The area is interesting by the local living but still have the tourist area like Khaosarn road. To go to the shopping area like siam square you could take a taxi or a bus there.

Hope to see you again.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
552 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
607 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
1,232 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing