We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small piece of the world in the heart of Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Etampes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A small piece of the world in the heart of Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Far from the hustle and bustle, yet so close to everything, we enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this hotel. The staff is always helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast bar each day different is a pure delight. The decor of the whole hotel is a step back in time very pleasant, designed with taste and originality (special mention to the CD player.) Place to visit without moderation where we go back.

Room Tip: Room 301 is a pure delight, where they reached a certain serenity ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Xavier R
Glad to hear from you and thank you for sharing you experience with us and we are so happy to know that you like our style and hope you will visit and stay with us again


have a slow life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    453
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
654
957
209
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in Bangkok and at Phra-nakorn Norn-Len hotel. The place is beautiful - it's so unique - great murals everywhere, quirky items everywhere - it creates a really fun and relaxing environment. There is a lovely restaurant area, a nice chill-out area (when I sat here in the evening, they brought over fans for me so I'd be comfortable) - there are mosquitoes around but they provide natural repellent in the lobby. There is also a lovely gift shop where I bought some gifts to take home.

We had a lovely welcome when we arrived - everyone who is arriving on the day is welcomed on the chalk board - and we received a free meal and drink in the restaurant - which was lovely. The breakfasts were also fun and unique - vegetarian, and very inventive and different. You can choose to have the full set that they are providing that day, or also add eggs or pancakes, and then there is toast with a lot of different jams and honey, and a fresh fruit juice of the day.

The room was a decent size with some space to keep your things. The bathroom is a wet room which was fine! The water pressure was good and good temperature. They provide you with bottled water as well as a little cd player with a cd with fun quirky music, which was fun to relax to in the afternoons or fall asleep to. During our stay, there was a festival going on at the temple nearby so it was quite loud, but they warned us a week or so before our stay by email and then during the stay, provided ear plugs and a sleep mask, if we wanted to use them. It was just part of staying in the middle of a big city with things always going on! The free wifi was good and room is just so nicely decorated - very unique.

The hotel is located in the older part of a Bangkok. The closest transport was the river boat - which we used a few times and it also leaves from Thewet Pier - where it's fun to watch the fish go nuts as bread is thrown in the water. It's very easy to get to The Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and Riverside area on the boat. Taxis might have a bit of trouble finding the place, but be sure to ask at the reception desk for a card with their address written out in Thai. We took taxis a few times and they always got at least nearby to the place :) There is a 7-Eleven at the end of the street, so you can stock up on any cold waters or snacks. There is also a lot of street food nearby. It's a pretty short walk to the Khao San Road area and there is a great vegetarian restaurant called May Kaidee's just down the road - highly recommended.

This is a very unique and fun place to stay in Bangkok - it's a bit harder to get to the main shopping areas, Sukhumvit area, etc but we didn't mind as we were only there for a few days and also, it was a little bit hard for traffic as the protests were still going on a bit nearby so some roads were blocked. But besides taking a taxi by the protest area one day, you wouldn't know anything was going in!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londongeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear "londongeejay",

Thank you so much for taking the time write us the nice review : )
You feedback is really useful both for us and for other guests who are planing to come here.
We are in the old Bangkok area which many historical places are located. Easy to use the river boat, taxi, tuktuk or even a bus. The main shopping area like siam square and sukhumvit is not too far to get there. If you don't like to stay in the busy area but would like to visit, our place is perfect.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Phra-Nakorn Norn-Len is an oasis of serenity. The entire team is very kind and always available when you need information. Breakfast is delicious as well as their lunch and diner. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable. We have stayed 9 days and definitely enjoyed our stay Phra-Nakorn very much.
The only thing that disappointed us was the recommendations for the trips around Bangkok. The guides/ drives we had were very unprofessional

Room Tip: Ask for the one with a balcony and view on the temple with the standing Buddha
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear "Cristina V",

Thank you so much for your nice review : )
Great that you had a good time with us. The team feel that we are the same family, so you could feel that they are willing to help and make you feel comfortable.
Sorry to hear that you disappointed with the guide and driver, I am not sure which guide you face with as we don't have our guide ?

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I just visited Bangkok for the first time and stayed at the Phra-Nakorn Norn-Len Hotel. Bangkok is vivacious, fast-paced and overwhelming at times and this place was truly a sanctuary. After a long day navigating Bangkok, walking into their beautiful courtyard and being welcomed by their incredibly friendly staff was much needed and appreciated. We will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Bangkok!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear "TravelDelilah",

Thank you so much for your feedback : )
Our place is like a home, even difference culture but you could feel relax and welcoming here.

Hope to see you again next time if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had such a pleasant stay at the Phra-Nakorn Norn Len Hotel! The decor, vibes, and atmosphere was everything we were searching for and more! It was amazing to find some place so tranquil and calm among Bangkok's busy roads and it was so close to downtown!

Even though we arrived after midnight the two staff members still gave us a tour and showed us to our room :) they even showed us how to change the cd's in our room if we wanted to.

The staff did an exceptional job and even let us store our luggage at the hotel even though we had already checked out. They watched our luggage as we toured the city throughout the day.

They had some minor internet issues on the day we arrived, but allowed us to use their personal computers so that we could write an email to our family to let them know we made it ok :)

Last but not least, the room was the most adorable and quaint room I have ever seen! :) it was beautifully decorated :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicadlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear "Maureen",

Thank you so much for your nice feedback : )

We are glad to know that you had a good time with us.
We understand what guests want so we provide the services that would be necessary. Some guests arrive very early before the check in time, so we have a storage room to keep the luggage and a living room if you need to take a rest. Also if you have the late flight back home, we also have a shower room to refresh after long day before take the flight.

We hope to welcome you back here again next time.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Family-friendly small eco-hotel with kind and competent staff. Spectacular decorated walls and rooms, 'homemade' theatrical furniture, small exchange-library and no loudspeaker-musac.
Unfortunately we stayed at the time of the temple-festival nearby, so there were very noisy (loudspeaker prayers) during the evening / nights. Not to blame the hotel - just saying.
Decent restaurant on the top floor, souvenir shop and indoor massage.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klauseggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear "klauseggert",

Thank you so much for your feedback : )
Sorry to hear that you was disturbed by the sound of the fair, the temple fair happen once a year which really hard to see in Bangkok nowadays.

We hope to see you again next time : )
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

we enjoyed the warm and kindly atmosphere at this wonderful place in the middle of Bangkok.
Its a little paradise for children with space to play around and good place to relax in this lively city and enjoy the very good food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear "Susanne V",

Thank you so much for you review : ) Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are welcome all type of guests not only family with kids but also single traveler that you could find new friends here, couple etc. Kids also enjoy here as they can also get new friends even they speak difference languages.

Hope to see you again in the future if you come back to Bangkok.
Have a slow life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing