We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel in the heart of Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #6 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I would massively recommend this hotel. The pre-trip organisation with the hotel manager was excellent, he responded to all of my emails promptly - online payment was easy - I also booked an airport taxi which again was so straight forward plus they sorted out overnight train tickets down to the south for me. The hotel itself is incredibly laid back, clean, really nice young welcoming staff, lovely rooms. All just so easy. We travelled with our 2 young children and it was perfect for them too - good food and a swing in the courtyard they wouldn't get off. So all in all - great value and I would stay here again and recommend it to people.

Room Tip: Ask the advice of the hotel. Very cool place so I imagine all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMcGeoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear " SMcGeoch"

Thank you so much for your review
We are so glad to hear that you like everything that we organized and provided for you

Hopefully you will back to stay with us again
Have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a terrific hotel! Staff is excellent, food is awesome and community areas are second to none. There is a lobby/lounge area with loungers and tables and good wifi which is so inviting, you never want to leave :) The location is convenient to the water taxi so you can explore the entire city easily. This hotel is a terrific value and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear. " misopiso88"
Thank you so much for your kind review , it's meant for us and hope you will back to our hotel again

Have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Cool little hotel, close to a ferry port in Bangkok.

Nice staff, brilliant breakfast and an oasis of calm in the madness that is Bangkok.

If you want to see/be involved in the traveller action of Bangkok but don't want to stay on the Khaosan Road then this hotel is perfect. Get a taxi to the party areas as it is quite a walk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear " NW"
Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to hear that you like our place
We hope you will back to our hotel again

Have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is the best kind of place. Funky, creative, clean, comfortable. A good place to relax and write about my trip. The food is tasty and it feels good to eat it. Slept soundly, a fish mural swirled overhead. One day, I went for a Thai massage in a quiet room off the courtyard. Yow, those are deep. Ginger tea to drink afterward. This is the place to go. I loved the neighborhood, plus the water taxi is close and it’s the most worthwhile, fun public transit ride around. This is where I will always book in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear " Olivia E "
Thank you so much for your comment and we are happy to know that you like our hotel and everything that we provided , hope to see you back to our hotel again


Have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. This a quirky, creative hotel! Great place to relax after a day out around the city. Food and rooms are good, and the staff are really on top of their game. Would highly recommend this place as it is also really good value and has a rooftop terrace with panoramic views of the city.

Room Tip: Not sure of our room number, but when we opened the balcony door we had a great view of a nearby tem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Ryan W
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel , and we are so appreciate that you feel happy to stay with us , hopefully to meet you again

Have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Far from the hustle and bustle, yet so close to everything, we enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this hotel. The staff is always helpful and pleasant, and the breakfast bar each day different is a pure delight. The decor of the whole hotel is a step back in time very pleasant, designed with taste and originality (special mention to the CD player.) Place to visit without moderation where we go back.

Room Tip: Room 301 is a pure delight, where they reached a certain serenity ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Xavier R
Glad to hear from you and thank you for sharing you experience with us and we are so happy to know that you like our style and hope you will visit and stay with us again


have a slow life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in Bangkok and at Phra-nakorn Norn-Len hotel. The place is beautiful - it's so unique - great murals everywhere, quirky items everywhere - it creates a really fun and relaxing environment. There is a lovely restaurant area, a nice chill-out area (when I sat here in the evening, they brought over fans for me so I'd be comfortable) - there are mosquitoes around but they provide natural repellent in the lobby. There is also a lovely gift shop where I bought some gifts to take home.

We had a lovely welcome when we arrived - everyone who is arriving on the day is welcomed on the chalk board - and we received a free meal and drink in the restaurant - which was lovely. The breakfasts were also fun and unique - vegetarian, and very inventive and different. You can choose to have the full set that they are providing that day, or also add eggs or pancakes, and then there is toast with a lot of different jams and honey, and a fresh fruit juice of the day.

The room was a decent size with some space to keep your things. The bathroom is a wet room which was fine! The water pressure was good and good temperature. They provide you with bottled water as well as a little cd player with a cd with fun quirky music, which was fun to relax to in the afternoons or fall asleep to. During our stay, there was a festival going on at the temple nearby so it was quite loud, but they warned us a week or so before our stay by email and then during the stay, provided ear plugs and a sleep mask, if we wanted to use them. It was just part of staying in the middle of a big city with things always going on! The free wifi was good and room is just so nicely decorated - very unique.

The hotel is located in the older part of a Bangkok. The closest transport was the river boat - which we used a few times and it also leaves from Thewet Pier - where it's fun to watch the fish go nuts as bread is thrown in the water. It's very easy to get to The Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and Riverside area on the boat. Taxis might have a bit of trouble finding the place, but be sure to ask at the reception desk for a card with their address written out in Thai. We took taxis a few times and they always got at least nearby to the place :) There is a 7-Eleven at the end of the street, so you can stock up on any cold waters or snacks. There is also a lot of street food nearby. It's a pretty short walk to the Khao San Road area and there is a great vegetarian restaurant called May Kaidee's just down the road - highly recommended.

This is a very unique and fun place to stay in Bangkok - it's a bit harder to get to the main shopping areas, Sukhumvit area, etc but we didn't mind as we were only there for a few days and also, it was a little bit hard for traffic as the protests were still going on a bit nearby so some roads were blocked. But besides taking a taxi by the protest area one day, you wouldn't know anything was going in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londongeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear "londongeejay",

Thank you so much for taking the time write us the nice review : )
You feedback is really useful both for us and for other guests who are planing to come here.
We are in the old Bangkok area which many historical places are located. Easy to use the river boat, taxi, tuktuk or even a bus. The main shopping area like siam square and sukhumvit is not too far to get there. If you don't like to stay in the busy area but would like to visit, our place is perfect.

Hope to see you again next time.
Have a slow life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 885 in Bangkok
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 885 in Bangkok
1,525 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 885 in Bangkok
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing