We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relax day in the middle of Metropolitant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I and my sweetheart went over there during the short weekend only two days. She got the voucher as the gift of her birth day. We stay overnight and found that this place very nice to stay for rest and relax during the long weekend. The room is very beautiful furnished with a Vintage style and ancient Thai cultures. My couple loves to lie on the place she calls big balcony with a soft cushion during the day. I can truly say that this place is suitable to stay for R&R in the time you don't want to go out far from Bangkok during the silent long weekend who most people rush out to the country.
Wa-ta

Room Tip: The night time bar is very nice and so much romantic feeling especially with the special one.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank เจ้าชายแมลงปอ ส
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Front Office Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear '' เจ้าชายแมลงปอ ส "

Thank you so much for your comment :)

we hope you had a happy weekend and tuck away from a busy city , refresh yourself before back to work and busy lifestyle , we hope you gonna visit us in the future soon

Have a slow life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,347)
There are newer reviews for Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is not your average place to stay. We visited with our toddler, and were located on the third floor which was handy to the restaurant. Starting with the restaurant on the rooftop, we ate there twice and were very impressed. Fantastic views for some sundowners of a local Wat with a large standing buddha and the Rama suspension bridge, and the little one was able to totter around and look at the garden and rabbits. The menu is short but of high quality - highly recommend the mu yang, pad kra pao and kai jaew.

The staff at the hotel are lovely, very helpful and accomodating (e.g. writing out destinations and directions to return to the hotel in Thai for our taxi driver so we never got lost), especially the breakfast/cafe crew. The set menu breakfasts changed daily and were eccentric - sweet red rice with tempura veges for example - nice change. Our room was spacious, but it would have been good to have a more sufficient divider between the "master bedroom" area and where our daughter slept - it was simply a see through curtain. The room itself was very quirky, colourfully decorated and painted and was a hit with our daughter. We had neighbours with a new born, and we could hear quite a lot of noise, but come on, it's Bangkok - there's plenty of noise everywhere (e.g. the school adjacent to the hotel). Our air-con units were quite noisy also, but despite this all of is slept very well. Comfy, firm beds. Good shower facilities. Would be nice to have a mini-fridge in the room. Wifi access in the rooms, and at no charge.

The products the hotel make are superb - mosquito repellent, the complimentary gift bag, and the washing detergent were great. Finally, the location is a hop down to a main street for taxis (which are cheap and safe, but it pays to get someone at the hotel to provide you with directions in Thai for the driver), a 7-11 and street food. Particularly good mu ping avaiable from outside the 7-11. Just on the point of transport, we thought the location was great - while it is not on the BTS lines, there are an abundance of ways to cheaply transport yourself around Bangkok so we had no issues whatsoever.

Appeared to be lots of good opportunities for local eats. Wish we'd had a bit more time to explore. Apparently there is a Chiang Mai khao soi restaurant around the corner, but we didn't find this and instead I stopped by a local restaurant which was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very very much. The staff is just amazing, so friendly and the longer you stay the nicer it is.
This hotel is like a little heaven, a escape from the busy outside world of bangkok city. It has a very calm relaxing and kind vibe. The rooms are amazingly decorated. in detail taken care of.
The whole place looks lovely and zen.

Also the cooking class we took was very nice! you go to a local market and buy all sorts of fresh ingredients, after which you learn how to make a lovely thai meal.

We stayed there for one night and then after 3 weeks came back to spend 2 nights. It felt like coming home.

We will definitely come back.

Kind regards

Easy May Waker + friends

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Easy May W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay at Phranakorn-Nornlen! I honestly cannot say enough about this darling place. I stayed here at the start of my 2 month SE Asia backpacking trip, and it was my favorite, hands down! The staff is so friendly and goes above and beyond for their guests - from honest recommendations to cleanliness - it's the best. Upon my arrival, I was given tea and a gift of homemade soaps and bug spray. I had the most incredible 1 hour thai massage, and took a complimentary flower bouquet making class, whereafter the staff took us to a traditional Buddhist ceremony for the start of Khao Phansana (Buddhist 'lent') at a nearby temple. Such a unique and authentic experience. The free breakfasts are very delicious, large and all organic. And the complimentary watermelon juice is incredible. I had room #301 I believe, and it was very clean and cozy with a balcony view of the Big Buddha. I really just cannot put into words how amazing this little gem is - an oasis in the crazy city of Bangkok. The atmosphere is so peaceful and friendly, I never wanted to leave.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Lovely Quaint Quirky hotel in Bangkok, words cannot express the surprised in store with this Hotel.... Lovely arty decor, lovely touches in the room, , my highlight was the C.D. Player with all the 50's style music, very calming and well fitting into the Ambience of the Hotel...

Breakfast 5 star, total vegetarian, 100 percent pineapple,juice, no sugar no syrup just pure pineapple juice, Ginger tea was so so refreshing... Cannot say enough, but please visit, Staff lovely and friendly.. Would definetly recommend this hotel....

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertalansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our two children (6 & 9) in July 2014.This hotel is extraordinary! It truely is an oasis away from the hussle and bussle of the Bangkok streets. Its not like anywhere we have stayed before with the hand made decor, beautiful murals on every wall and moke street scenes downstairs. It was fascinating - the kids loved constantly discovering new things!
The staff were respectfully helpful and the breakfasts were amazing. My husband looked forward to "Breakfast of the day" each morning!
We stayed in a family room which had two full bathrooms and two little balconies. Very nice.
The rooftop restaurant has an amazing view. The menu is limited but the food is lovely.
My husband and daughter attended the free thai cooking class and they absolutely loved it!
A great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A really nice relaxing hotel in Bangkok. Perfect to get away from all the noise. The massages Where really good too. We allready booked our stay for August when we're going home. Really Nice helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 879 in Bangkok
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 879 in Bangkok
1,518 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 879 in Bangkok
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £51 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing