We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It lives up to its reviews, and then some.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It lives up to its reviews, and then some.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

I thought there was no way that this hotel could possibly live up to its rating, and we certainly put them to the test. We asked for a massively early check-in; I sent my breakfast back; I needed a rush put on my meal; we needed cabs, directions, maps, taxis, more water, late-night assistance, pretty much everything you can imagine from a demanding customer, and yet..... absolutely everything we asked for was provided with a smile. It was truly amazing service.

Now that you have heard me gush about that, let me assure you that the hotel is paradise. You will NOT want to leave. The rooms are so beautiful and if you want to watch the sunset (if you can see through Bangkok's haze) you can do it from their rooftop organic garden. They bring tea every evening and serve really great breakfasts (though vegans beware!) and food. Their garden area is so beautiful.

If you do decide to go out, though, it's walking distance from a lot of the sights (like scuzzy Khao San Road, lots of the other markets, and beautiful Grand palace) and easy to get a taxi from the main road just down the lane. We walked to the little strip of bars on Samsen, took a veg. cooking class at May Kaidee's, bought all the cheap skirts and t-shirts we could ever dream of, and basically never had to leave the area .... we kept stopping in at the hotel throughout the day to refresh ourselves because it was so beautiful and relaxing.

They also have little printed maps for tuk-tuk drivers printed in Thai so that they can find the hotel again afterwards.

The only complaint I can possibly think of is that if you weren't really close with the people you were staying with, it might be uncomfortable to share a room, since the double beds are all pushed right together.

I am a skeptic, I truly am, but Phranakorn Nornlen lives up to its hype. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, hip, beautiful, amazing service. I can't fit it all in this space!
  • Disliked — Slow internet on their crappy old computers, and the two double beds right together.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackBeanSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    453
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
651
957
209
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

On the basis of recommendations from TripAdvisor we (two 55+ professional parents and 5 children/ stepchildren plus partners (aged 24++) spent some nights at this lovely, lovely hotel. This was a gorgeous hotel, with very lovely and patient staff. We wouldn't bother with a "Western" business hotel again in Bangkok. Unlike other reviewers we didn't think the location was a disadvantage. Indeed, we felt we were away from the normal tourist places and that was a good thing. Taxi drivers from the airport could not initially find the hotel, but with different ingenuities did eventually reach their destination. Taxi fare from airport at night ranged 300-500 baht. The hotel is close to the ubiquitous 7-11, which proved to be a very satisfactory supplier of crisps and beer for when the hotel's kitchen closed. There is a story there, but the hotel staff were very accommodating when the seven of us had a our own (very quiet) get together.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

This boutique hotel is an oasis in a big, dirty and noisy city that is Bangkok. It's a little hard to find and a little out of the main area but very different and not an expected find.

Here are the facts:
*Location: A little out of the main areas. 15 minute walk to Khao San Road, 10 minute walk to the ferry which will get you to the palace/Chinatown. Get a map from reception to give to taxi drivers as they often have trouble finding it.
*Room: Tastefully decorated and basic with A/C and fan, firm bed, balcony, CD player and wetroom ensuite bathroom.
*Breakfast: This was one of the biggest treats of our stay here. Each morning there is a different organic breakfast served with a fruit juice concotion, tea or coffee. Delicious!
*Noise Factor: I was woken up quite early each morning by cleaners pulling the table and chairs around in the foyer. Other than that a very peaceful stay.
*Internet: There are 4 old and slow but working computers with free internet access for guests
*Staff: Perfectly lovely. Always a smile on their face.

Bonus: You get 2 bottles of free water in the room everyday but they welcome you to ask for more water when you go out for the day. Complimentary Tea is also served to your room every evening.

Want More?: Would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room to keep the water cold.

Tip: Watch out for the massage ladies if you're not used to the Thai way. They give a very strong massage and I was left sore for a few days!

  • Liked — The hotel foyer/garden area, breakfast
  • Disliked — A bit far from the main area
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank schmellim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

This hotel is THE most amazing accommodation that I have ever stayed in. The staff are delightful - helpful, happy and sweet. The style of the hotel is completely and utterly breath taking. For me it really felt like a home away from home - but with enchantment! The food - some of the most amazing food we had on our whole trip of Thailand! i cannot recommend this hotel enough!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — The staff, good and style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pilsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

This hotel is fantastic as many TripAdvisor reviewers have already said. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The hotel provide bottled water and evening tea and has a great atmosphere. The rooftop has an organic vegetable garden and a view of the Standing Buddha at a nearby Wat.

I was a bit suprised that the hotel only had a wet bathroom as hotels of similar price in other parts of the country had divided showers. It's really not a big issue and this is still quite a deal for Bangkok.

I put relatively peaceful in the title of this post because the hotel is a nice oasis in the middle of Bangkok. However, don't plan on sleeping in as the school across the street (soi) starts in with music at about 7 or 7:30am. It is not uncommon to encounter noise at this hour in Thailand but it suprised us on our first mornings in the country.

The hotel is in a neighborhood and as such taxi drivers did have a bit of trouble finding it. Our driver still had to call the hotel even with the map from the hotel. Be sure to have both the map and the phone number handy.

  • Disliked — Morning noise from nearby school
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GreenieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

The hotel's description on this website is very accurate, yet still leaves room for a few pleasant surprises.

I've added some photos which speak volumes about the attractively decorated rooms. The beds are firm but comfortable; the linens are clean and well presented. Bottled water was supplied and we were even blessed with evening tea waiting in our room after we returned from the night markets.

We found the food to be excellent. The service speed may be modest, but it's worth the wait. Fresh juice, fresh fruit and great coffee was served every morning. The entrees included banana crepes, a "breakfast pizza" and more.

The staff were outstanding. They handled our airport transfer service so we arrived without a hitch. Everyone you meet at the hotel will greet you with a smile and a positive attitude. They can offer good travel tips and teach you a few words of Thai as well. When we left, they placed our receipt in a sincere thank you card with a photo.

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but not so far. Take taxi cards with you to ensure an easy return voyage.

I guess if we're looking to offer the most balanced review we should point out that there were a few young children staying at the hotel, but they were fine. If anything, they spoke to the relaxed nature of the hotel environment and contributed some joyful noises to the environment.

When we return to Bangkok we will definitely stay at the Phranakorn Nornlen again!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and eclectic artsy atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Some minor noise issues from time to time. Very minor.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LavenderFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

As many have indicated, the hotel is wonderful. The location is excellent, close walking to the river to catch the boats; near the flower market, etc. While we were only here one night due to delayed arrival, the hotel did not charge us for our missed first night nor our first scheduled pickup (although we did send an e-mail as soon as we knew we would need to unexpectedly overnight in Tokoyo) from the airport. Having received our new arrival information via e-mail, a driver was waiting for us at the Bangkok airport - well worth the 950 baht (2 adults; 2 12 year olds and 4 small suitcases).

The breakfast was great - juice, pancakes, eggs, salad, enjoyed by our entire family. We did not have other meals here but did see other guests having dinner.

The only down side was the room size for our group of 4. The room had two double beds, which left little walking space. I would recommend two rooms for folks traveling in similar circumstances.

Our boys each had a 1/2 hour massage (150 baht each) which they loved and was a nice way to start our vacation in Thailand. We also liked visiting the rooftop garden.

We highly recommend the PK.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — small room for 4 people
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing