We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet, cozy refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and willing. There was easy, free internet access. Breakfast was delicious, different every day (3 days). The room was charming, the AC and ceiling fan both worked great. The neighborhood had lots of local atmosphere, definitely not touristy. The boat lines were a 10 minute walk away, past the flower market, easy to get everywhere I wanted to. The hotel isn't on a main street, so it was very quiet and peaceful.

Though the reception staff were very willing, they didn't seem to have a lot of "tourist" information. You need to get that somewhere else. Do climb the 3 flights of stairs to visit the organic roof garden. If you don't want to climb a lot of stairs, try to get a room on a lower floor. My only other issue is that the rooms aren't secure (for leaving valuables - computer, camera, etc.). My room had a balcony, the window to it didn't lock at all, and the door was pretty flimsy and the maintenance staff left it unlocked. On the other hand, nothing was taken.

I hope to return to Thailand in a year or two, and this is definitely where I will spend my time in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pitzikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

It is very clear to me, upon arriving, this place was designed and built with great attentiveness and with heart. I really enjoyed staying here.

The room was really charming, and looked better than it did in the online photos. I found the room to be very clean and incredibly comfortable, even though the amenities are basic. The air conditioning is great after a hot afternoon in the city. The free wire-less highspeed internet was great. The downstairs lounge area is like a sanctuary and it is hard not to relax when you are there.

The staff were great, professional, attentive, and friendly. They also make yummy herbal tea for you for free - this is so rare in Bangkok where everyone wants to fleece the tourist! The breakfasts that come with the stay are really delicious. They also told us how much we should expect to pay for taxis so we would not be ripped off.

The location isn't great, but taxis are really cheap in Bangkok so this wasn't a problem. However, there is a market nearby, and it was easy to sample the local food.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Yes, this is very nice and atmospheric place. It is quite and calm. Good breakfast.

Minuses: A lot of mosquitoes in the evening and no tv in the room

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Евгений А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed here 3 nights while in Bangkok. The room was unique with great attention to the detail of the decorations. It was clean and the AC worked well. I never saw any mosquitoes in our room. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom, but the hot shower was nice. The hotel had free computers for internet access and wireless for those with a laptop. The breakfasts were very tasty and healthy, albeit a little strange – things like broccoli soup and bruchetta. The best part about this hotel was the exceptional service. Everyone who worked there was extremely friendly, most spoke excellent English, and were always willing to help us with our sightseeing plans. The hotel is within short walking distance to the boat dock where you catch the boats that take you into the part of the city with most of the tourist sites. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASM618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Bangkok is a busy, polluted, and crowded city, but it's easy to forget that when you stay at Phranakorn Nornlen. Here you really do live "the slow life"! The setting is very calm and peaceful. There is a central area with many plants, a small stream, and a little bridge. Around this there is the main hotel area with guest rooms, a restaurant/cafe where breakfast is served every morning, and a small open house with computers and internet where you can practice yoga or get a massage.

Our room was nice and clean and had pretty paintings of birds on the walls. We loved the delicious breakfasts served every morning. Each plate of food seemed like it was prepared with much care. On the day we had to leave Bangkok we had an early flight scheduled, so the staff packed us a small meal to go. One of the best things about P-N are the staff who are SUPERB; they will really go out of their way to help out guests!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicosWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Spent three nights here when first arrived in Thailand, before heading south, and have already recommended PN to friends. If you're someone who isn't into corporate uniformity and prefers local individuality, this is definitely a place to stay. Online booking fast and friendly; hotel-booked airport pickup definitely to be recommended (especially after 24hours travelling); staff smiling, helpful and friendly; very tranquil and rest-inducing atmosphere. Previous reviews had commented that the restaurant menu was limited - management have obviously made steps to address this. We ate in the hotel in the evenings, and one of the dishes was so good we asked for the recipe! If you stay here, check out the roof garden.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamCOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Thanks to Tripadvisor reviews we booked this guesthouse for 4 nights and we really liked it. It is close to peer 15 where yu easily can take express boats wherever you want to go. The place is hidden in a non touristic area but close to the backpacker area if you want to go there.
Food is excellent and massage is highly recommended after a city trip :-).
For all who are not looking for a standardised 5 star hotel but looking for something more individual and thai style this is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123koeln321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,555 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
1,493 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £55 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing