We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations bigtime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations bigtime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

If you like to stay at big, luxury resorts where the staff treats you like royalty, this is not the place. But if you like a small, charming boutique hotel with the best friendly staff treating you like a friend then this is it. The hotel is the charmiest little place we have ever stayed at, every little detail is beautiful. The breakfast was great and we tried one of their smoothies and it was honestly one of the best we ever have had! The hotel is situated in a nice area of Bangkok that feels very genuine. When we stayed at the hotel there was a festival at the nearby temple which was great! Try to order fried rice at the small little corner shop right outside the hotel! So good! All in all, we will go back to Pranakorn-Nornlen next time we come to Bangkok, no doubt!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maja80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    453
    59
    17
    3
See reviews for
654
957
209
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed here in March on the basis of the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The accommodation is not luxurious, but it is clean and comfortable, however it is the small touches that make this place really special - the tea brought to your room, the fantastic breakfasts, the cds in the rooms, the quirky peaceful surroundings and above all the really friendly and helpful staff... the location is also very good, in a tranquil setting in the midst of hectic old bangkok. It is just by the river and close to some excellent and good value restaruants - highly recommended!! We returned when we came back to Bangkok and hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s8mt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

I stayed here for 3 days and the living experience was good.
The place has got its own silence and has got very positive vibrations.
It was very relaxing and comfortable especially at the dining area.
The staff was very helpful and really made a good effort to understand the needs of their guests. They even went out of their way to serve their clients.
A large map painted in the reception office and the helpful tips from the staff were very helpful for local travel and sight seeing
The breakfast was excellent & the availability of free internet a great plus. The place is situated near to pier 15 hence boat travel is easier. A 7 -11 store ,an ATM ,a currency exchange is very close..thats an advantage. But if you get hungry and want a quick bite there aren't many decent places close by.
I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND HOTEL TRANSFER TO ANYBODY as the hotel charges dearly,a whopping 900THB. On my way back to the airport I got a taxi at a mere 380THB ( toll included).
If I visit Bangkok again I would definitely come to this great hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and willing. There was easy, free internet access. Breakfast was delicious, different every day (3 days). The room was charming, the AC and ceiling fan both worked great. The neighborhood had lots of local atmosphere, definitely not touristy. The boat lines were a 10 minute walk away, past the flower market, easy to get everywhere I wanted to. The hotel isn't on a main street, so it was very quiet and peaceful.

Though the reception staff were very willing, they didn't seem to have a lot of "tourist" information. You need to get that somewhere else. Do climb the 3 flights of stairs to visit the organic roof garden. If you don't want to climb a lot of stairs, try to get a room on a lower floor. My only other issue is that the rooms aren't secure (for leaving valuables - computer, camera, etc.). My room had a balcony, the window to it didn't lock at all, and the door was pretty flimsy and the maintenance staff left it unlocked. On the other hand, nothing was taken.

I hope to return to Thailand in a year or two, and this is definitely where I will spend my time in Bangkok!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitzikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

It is very clear to me, upon arriving, this place was designed and built with great attentiveness and with heart. I really enjoyed staying here.

The room was really charming, and looked better than it did in the online photos. I found the room to be very clean and incredibly comfortable, even though the amenities are basic. The air conditioning is great after a hot afternoon in the city. The free wire-less highspeed internet was great. The downstairs lounge area is like a sanctuary and it is hard not to relax when you are there.

The staff were great, professional, attentive, and friendly. They also make yummy herbal tea for you for free - this is so rare in Bangkok where everyone wants to fleece the tourist! The breakfasts that come with the stay are really delicious. They also told us how much we should expect to pay for taxis so we would not be ripped off.

The location isn't great, but taxis are really cheap in Bangkok so this wasn't a problem. However, there is a market nearby, and it was easy to sample the local food.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Yes, this is very nice and atmospheric place. It is quite and calm. Good breakfast.

Minuses: A lot of mosquitoes in the evening and no tv in the room

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Евгений А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed here 3 nights while in Bangkok. The room was unique with great attention to the detail of the decorations. It was clean and the AC worked well. I never saw any mosquitoes in our room. There was no shower curtain in the bathroom, but the hot shower was nice. The hotel had free computers for internet access and wireless for those with a laptop. The breakfasts were very tasty and healthy, albeit a little strange – things like broccoli soup and bruchetta. The best part about this hotel was the exceptional service. Everyone who worked there was extremely friendly, most spoke excellent English, and were always willing to help us with our sightseeing plans. The hotel is within short walking distance to the boat dock where you catch the boats that take you into the part of the city with most of the tourist sites. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASM618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#15 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing