We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to stay in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This is the best hotel in Bangkok! You'll find bigger rooms or better location but not at this price. The food is great staff are the best in my 31 countries of travel and it's near enough sites while allowing you some modicum of quiet. I won't hesitate to recommend this hotel & won't stay anywhere else in Bangkok. There's a reason it's so high in it's reviews. It's the perfect fit for the frugal savvy traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_DogOlympia_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

Well, I'm hesitant to even write a review because I want to keep this place a secret, but they deserve to be full all the time. I just hope they have room for me the next time I'm in Bangkok!

The place is absolutely gorgeous, great rooms with great bathrooms - a real plus in Thailand - and the food is excellent as well.

But what really makes this place is the staff. They really made us feel welcome and were extremely helpful when we asked for some help operating in Bangkok.

What else can you want from a place?

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the PN as well in the beginning of our 4-week-trip through Thailand as in the end. Our boys, aged 5 and 9 loved to be there. And so did we. Shortly after arrival we could experience that the PN ist not only beautiful and unique in style, but also very effective in trouble shooting. I mixed up my rucksack at Bangkok Aiport. As the wrong one was 100% same style I realized what happened when I startet to unpack the Rucksack. The Staff did an absolutely brilliant job - the managed do get my Rucksack (without Destination label!) back and bring the other one to it´s owner. I didn´t have to move an inch for that. I want to say thanks again, because ist wouldn´t have been a nice start otherwise.

Also special thanks to Noo - she´s really in our hearts, an we loved to walk around with her, getting so much interesting information, having many loughs, happy kids (as they really, really like her) and wonderful impressions!

Greetings from Vienna!
DoMiNiMo

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sawadeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

What a fantastic place. If you're after a 5 star hotel this is not the place. If you're after something personal, home like feel, relaxing place and the most friendly people you will ever come across this is the place for you. After travelling for 3 weeks (Novotel Phuket, Holiday Inn and Phi Phi Village) this was a really nice end to our holiday. The kids (3yo and 5yo) absolutely loved it (and so did we). Nice garden for the kids to play in while we could just sit back and relax. Very central to everything. When you do go there ask for Tukta to take you on a tour - She is the most lovely lady that will show you around Bangkok (part of the service!) We gave her a 100baht tip and she wouldnt accept it - She wanted the tip to go to the hotel - That shows you how honets these people are... I cannot say enough about this absolutely awsome place. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgep29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2009

Thank you georgep29 for your review,

Our walking tour is the way we get to know our guest more. We glad you enjoyed.

Keep smiling and slow life :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Having chosen to stay at the PN from reading other trip advisor reviews I was certainly not disappointed. We had arranged an airport transfer with them and our driver waited to collect us from Bangkok airport even though we were an hour and a half later than planned and couldn't have been nicer - buying us bottles of water -v welcome after our long journey and endless queues through passport control! I have never encountered such friendly and helpful staff who made our stay a pleasure and could not do enough for us. They gave us advice both on Bangkok and helped us arrange our onward travels in Thailand and hotel bookings. The courtyard and rooftop terrace are both beautiful and in such contrast to the (enjoyable!) madness of Bangkok. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable, with aircon and charming with their individual hand painted walls - no they don't have all the additional amenities of a 4 star hotel but thats not what its about. Free wifi, free use of iMacs, lovely breakfasts ..... I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moggieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2009

Dear moggieboy,

Thankyou for your review, we glad that you had a happy stay with us. We trying our best to make our guest happy.

Keep slow life and smiling :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Stayed here with my wife for two nights after arrival in Bangkok. The hotel is about 20 min. walk to Khao San Road.
The whole concept of the hotel -a quiet relaxed getaway from hectic Bangkok- is done very well and you will find this throughout the whole hotel.
Rooms are basic, but spacious and clean (as was the whole hotel). Mattress in our room was quite hard, but we sleept very well. We loved the CD player with three CD's for morning / afternoon / Nighttime.
The little courtyard / dining room is very relaxing and offers free use of computers / internet. The meals they serve here are great! Not a lot of choice, but all very tasty authentic Thai meals. All ingredients come from their roof garden.

Staff was also very friendly and helpfull. All in all a great hotel for us.
If you expect Hilton luxury, don't go here, because you will not find it at Phranakorn. If you want to relax and understand what this hotel is about, you will have a great time here!

John
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSchot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2009

Dear JohnSchot

Thank you for your review, as you said if the guest got for what we are, they stay will be more enjoy.

Keep slow life and smiling :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

very nice hotel !! Big room, very clean, big bed and staff friendliness.
Good breakfast and i appreciated transport facilities/arrangements

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasoncarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, PN Gang at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you jasoncarlson for your review.

Hope you have a nice day.

Keep on smiling :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 887 in Bangkok
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 887 in Bangkok
1,545 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 887 in Bangkok
1,440 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing