We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, but not luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but not luxury”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We arrived in Bangkok hoping for a retreat away from the city, and a place to relax, and this certainly is that. We also hoped for plush sheets, solid walls and a thick mattress and an opportunity for romance, and that was not found here. The staff was very sweet, and the food was great, the place feels like living art, but if you want a good night's sleep where it is quiet and where the beds are cozy, look elsewhere. The green/eco atmosphere of the place was really neat- I just wished that we could have relaxed a bit more in our rooms.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gratefulfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, Pn family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Sawasdee ka Gratefulfortravel ^_^
Thank you for your review. Unlucky to know that you didn't have a perfect sleep while staying with us. During the time you were with us may be it's our renovation work that create lots of noise. Yes we do thinking of solid wall that can keep the noise from each room. But after thinking about renovation we decided to keep the original beautiful wall paint that full of history since 40 years ago with us so this topic have to be set aside. However, we will consider your review and will make a note for us and guest to respect the peaceful atmosphere.
Having a slow life ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,754
    459
    60
    17
    3
See reviews for
665
971
214
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Phranakorn back in April. It was wonderful. The staff really makes the experience so pleasant and the food is delicious. It felt very authentic and they don't pretend to be anything they are not.

As an American, the beds were extremely firm (traditional Thai) but besides that, I was 100% comfortable as a traveler out of my element.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an authentic Thai experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoelleeWellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Sawasdee ka JoelleeWellee ^_^
Hope you are doing well. Glad to know that you like our place and our firm mattress ^_^ It's not easy to make guest understand why we select this kind of mattress. This is the way original Thais way of living. Normally in the old days we lying on the floor without mattress! It's good for our back health and we wish to deliver this massage for our guest too ^_^ Thank you for your kind review ka
Having a slow life ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My wife and I spent several nights at this hotel last year for our honeymoon. We used it as our "base" for our trip around Thailand. This is the best place to stay in Bangkok. The area is authentic and puts you right in the middle of Thai culture. The food is awesome and they have a full service expresso bar. Breakfast each day was amazing. I really can't say enough good things about this place.

Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpapau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PN-family, PN family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Bpapau ^_^
Hope you're doing well. It seem so long that you have staying with us, by the way thank you for your review. Yes, Bangkok is the best place for being a base of your trip in Thailand, Now our place having a new coin washing machine and dryer machine for guest to do their own washing. Which cost 40THB per 10 Kg. for washing and 60 THB for 30 mins dryer. Also free luggage storage till your next return to us. Hope this will be great for your trip next time you visit us too.
Having a slow life ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We checked into Phranakorn-Nornlen after a stressful time trying to get home during the European volcano crisis. It was one of those lucky finds. After travelling up form Hua Hin and discovering we couldn't get a flight we were left feeling helpless at the airport. The girl at the travel desk gave us a booklet listing hundreds of hotels - with no travel books to hand we felt clueless. First response was to go for the safe 5-star number - but as soon as I saw the website for this hotel. I knew we had to stay there. And my instinct was right. Tucked away in a charming corner of Bangkok is a wonderful authentic oasis of calm. Every detail is chosen with love and care for those that stay there.. Apple Macs nestle alongside homely cushions and wonderful vintage finds (a designers heaven) The staff are superlative - nothing is too much trouble. Food is wonderful And as for the ginger tea. You won't find a better cup. The roof terrace over looking the Golden Buddah was our favourite spot to enjoy a sundowner...Just thinking about Phranakorn_Norlen makes me smile. My big regret is that we left so early in the morning I didn't get a chance to leave a big, big thank you to all the lovely staff. Miss you all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldPNBangkok, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Dear Guests, thank you very very much for your comment...it represents all of your feelings which really make us sooo happy! It's also great to know that you arrived home safe and well. How was the trip in Hua Hin? We hope you enjoyed that..please be our friend in Facebook if you have account :) Stay in touch!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Our experience was a good one! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the staff were really friendly and helpful towards us. For a cheap rate, we got more than we expected. The hotel is clean, equipped with all the right equipment, i.e. fridge, water, tea and coffee, dyer and safe. There was also free internet. Highly recommended for a quiet and peaceful sleep after a long night of partying.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldPNBangkok, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Dear Guests, thank you a lot for your comment...we're happy to know you enjoyed staying here. You had a funny party and long sleep, we just wonder if you had time for breakfast?? lol Please revisit us once you get chance to travel here again! Have a good day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel every time of our trip to Bangkok.This hotel make me feel like I stay at home. The PN staff were extremely good with my son.We loved every minutes there.Highly recommended for family with children.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangnoiPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldPNBangkok, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2010
Good Day! Thank you very much for your comment, we miss Changnoi and his family soooo much. We hope you guys enjoyed the trip in the south of Thailand and also enjoy the weather in Perth now =) Please revisit us again when you back Thailand, wish you all the best from PN!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I stayed at Phranakorn Nornlen on either side of a two-month trip around SE Asia. I chose it as a place to recover from and prepare for 30 hours traveling to and from the US East Coast, and it served it perfectly. The hotel is an oasis of calm, with its lush, leafy courtyard, phenomenal staff, super thai massages, and world-class smoothies (seriously, don't miss out on these). The environment is so chill that its easy to just while away the day, without even wanting to enter the mayhem of Bangkok!

It's not right in the center of town, but that's a good thing - who wants to be in the center of town anyway? With tuktuks and taxis all over, it's better to be in the cool and comfortable place.

Only downsides: beds are a bit hard (but hey, it's Asia) and rooms are simple, but it's fine. Absolutely the best hotel I found around my SE Asian travels, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonaldPNBangkok, PN Family at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Thank you very much for spending time for this review, we're so happy to know you love our smoothies! We hope next time you can revisit us in a different season, you then can try other Thai fruits as we have the smoothies menu seperated by seasonal. We wish you have a goos health and wealth...please stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
552 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
607 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 858 in Bangkok
1,232 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Property: Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing