We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Ranked #775 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over all good”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Nice 3 star hotel in center of touris area. Rooms a little old but nice. Clean. Fast and free internet in room. Electric pot. Friendly staff. Nice and clean little pool on the rooftop. Not many and very old sun beds. Ok breakfast buffet. A bit far from Sukhumvit Road, but excellent free tuk tuk service from/to hotel. Good value for money. I’ll stay here again.

Room Tip: Good location for shopping and night entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisePaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    136
    106
    83
    82
See reviews for
22
65
175
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you are looking for a budget place to stay - maybe more suitable for blokes who aren't bothered about the furnishings being old, the bathroom having a friendly cockroach that we had to dispose of; then this will be fine. We only booked here for one night having stayed on in Bangkok for an extra day after our original booking at the Best Western which was a bit more our style. This was probably very smart in the 1970's - last time it was decorated I think by the fashion! The dining room had plate glass topped tables that had been broken and the damaged edges were taped with brown parcel tape to stop you cutting yourself! Having said all this it was clean just tatty and the breakfast was OK. However I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuildfordTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have watched this hotel go down hill for many years.It was once my favorite hotel so I need a room for 1 night so I book for old time sake.I arrive at night and get a non smoking room that had an ash tray in it and smelled like a chain smoker had been in there. The room air conditioner sound like a jet engine. TheTv didnt work very well and when I ask for a wake up call I discover that the phone wasnt working.The very very poor breakfast was good reason to go out and eat breakfast.Someone took a picture of the pool and posted it on the photos on the web page above.other than that its what it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seamillfarmcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranchi, Jharkhand, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Do not be fooled by the photographs of the hotel in the net. The upkeep is very poor. The courtesey is poor except the housekeeping staff. The lights in the room goes on and off again and again. The complementary breakfast is lousy. Very , very poor. Do not stay in this hotel at all!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shanker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Swimmingpool is important for me. Royal Asia Lodge has one but it is dirty and it seems not been maintained. I think no guest has used the pool area for some time. I was disappointed.

I found one cockroach on the wall. Many small insects in the bathroom.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Roskarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Very bad customer service with a racist manger in the front desk!!!! The hotel is breaking apart with no repairs. I was baffled when the manager asked us to use a broken bed as he implied he has no choice!! I would avoid this hotel at all cost... It's a hotel which is not fit for operation!!!
Moreover the manager argued with us saying that we can take him to high court for this if we want to but he can't give his guest proper accommodation…I would simply say never choose this hotel for accommodation!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anjilsthapit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I read a lot of criticism of Royal Asia Lodge Hotel so I was a bit hesitant to book there. In the end, these fears were largely unfounded and I was satisfied with my stay. It's a very cheap place so you can't expect things to be like a 5 star anyway!

What I liked the most was the great location near Thanon Sukhumvit, a very lively thoroughfare with restaurants, MRT and BTS stations and a huge commercial centre (Terminal 21). The area is filled with places for shopping and eating and you can catch a Skytrain or MRT within 10-15 minutes of walking. The hotel also provides a tuk-tuk service to the main road (though that kind of service seems to be provided by all other hotels in the same street). In addition, the hotel is found near a busy area but is still able to provide a quiet environment for sleeping at night.

My room was large, larger than I expected, with a big bed too. The TV is old but OK and I was able to watch the sports programmes I enjoy. There was enough room for my suitcase, clothes and laptop and a safe, and still room remained to walk around. I'm pointing this out because I've stayed in more expensive hotels in Singapore where you get a much smaller room in spite of paying more and moving around inside the room becomes a problem. Everyday the room got cleaned up to my satisfaction and I was offered 2 water bottles, even on days when I didn't use the ones I had been offered the day before.

Breakfast was OK though a wider choice of fruits and beverages would have been welcome. I don't enjoy coffee or tea in the morning and missed my usual hot chocolate. Otherwise, more than acceptable.

The reception staff were very helpful, even though some of them struggled with English. I had no trouble negotiating a late check-out, which was very helpful as my flight was at 2 a.m. I could thus stay in the hotel longer.

The Wi-Fi internet was a huge plus, fast and reliable. Now I come from a country that pretends to be tech-savvy but offers some of the slowest Internet around the world, so the wi-fi available at Royal Asia Lodge Hotel was more than welcome!

The one thing I most disliked about my stay was a problem with the shower. When I took my first shower I noted with surprise that I wasn't getting hot water, only cold. I contacted reception and they duly sent someone to repair the shower. I got the warm water I wanted for 2 days... before the situation became the same as before. Only cold water. Again I contacted the reception, they promised to send someone but this time no one came. I didn't bother insisting, therefore I took cold water showers for the remainder of my stay (5-6 nights). Because of the heat in Bangkok, it wasn't too uncomfortable but still that's a regrettable service failure from the hotel.

The toilet's flushing system seems a bit old and in need of maintenance too. Occasionally I received the company of some insects... not cockroaches, smaller ones. I wasn't bothered as they were few of them and they were not threatening, but that kind of thing could deter other guests.

For the budget I had, Royal Asia Lodge was a perfect fit. Maybe if I go back to Bangkok on a higher budget, I wouldn't stay there. But if I had to go back with a similar budget, I have little doubt that I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrAppadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#285 of 862 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#342 of 862 in Bangkok
132 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#722 of 862 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Suksawad Hotel
Suksawad Hotel
#582 of 862 in Bangkok
25 reviews
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#596 of 862 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#365 of 862 in Bangkok
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Property: Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Address: 91, Soi 8 off Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #775 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the thick of the action near to Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok’s bustling hive of activity, this property is about a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS Skytrain station, which provides easy access to popular areas such as Central World, MBK Shopping Center and more, or 1 minute to the station by the hotel’s free shuttle service. Royal Asia Lodge offers 99 comfortable rooms equipped with standard amenities; satellite TV, air conditioning and IDD phone. Other facilities, includes a lobby lounge bar, restaurant, swimming pool, massage service, laundry/dry cleaning services and business center services with E-mail & Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing