We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Ranked #771 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family on 28/06/13-30/06/13 in the so called presidential suite. The room was okay, there were no cockroaches (as I had read in previous reviews), but the lady at the reception was more rude than I had read in the previous reviews. It seems she has been thoroughly trained by the management for heated arguments with the guests. On the day of checkout, the house maid brought 4 wet towels (recently used by us in the shower) and a small hand wash towel which had a small tea stain on it. The receptionist shouted at me that we have made all their towels dirty, and she charged me 300 baht for dry cleaning of all the towels. She even refused to give me the receipt.
Secondly we had used six tea pouches ( 20 baht ) for making tea, but she insisted we had used about ten, she wanted to charge for them, but after a short argument she decided to charge for eight pouches.
So if you go there do not use their towels and tea bags.

Room Tip: Rooms are away (quieter) from the bustling crowds about half kilometer away. Tuk tuk service is prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnilkumarGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    135
    104
    82
    81
See reviews for
22
64
174
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This place is the pits-nothing works and the staff don't give a gosh darn! My safe deposit box apparently has been broken for a long time. Pubic hair in the sink (not mine!), air conditioning barely works and they charge extra for more pillows!!!! The Manager says he is sorry but Upper management allow him no discretion. There is a "planned renovation" I suggest they just close down.I told them I would check out early and they just shrug their shoulders-guess they are used to people checking out early. Do not stay here under any circumstances-try the Sawadee Inn on Soi8 which is where I ended up staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndyTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I'm not one to be fussy with hotels or rooms, BUT this place was foul. Cockroaches and dead insects, also disgustingly unclean. The building is falling apart! Light were falling out and flickering. Even we asked for a NON-SMOKING room, and it stank like cigarettes. You could see the stains from tobacco smoke on the roof.
After asking for a refund, we were refused only offered another room. With the benefit of the doubt, we accepted to give a look at another room, so after bell boy struggled to get into the room, only too find exactly the same on a different floor.
We left with out our money we had paid!

Upon arriving down the road at another hotel, explaining what we had just experienced they said they know so many people have been there with same issue's.

SO, DO NOT STAY HERE!

I only wish I had taken photos to put up! The photos on any website etc. must have been from the 70's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Booked this Hotel for our last night in Asia. Through out our Holiday, we found some great hotels, which were clean, tidy and very welcoming, some at such a high standard we couldn't believe what a bargain we had got. We found The Royal Asia Lodge, as we did with all our previous Hotels we booked on a reportable website. Looking at the pictures, it seemed fine for the money, and was in the same price bracket to the rest of the Hotels we used on this trip.
4 in our group, we booked two double rooms. On arrival, my first thoughts were that this building needed up dating. Very dull, run down and tired looking. Looking as if it had not had a lick of paint since the 80,s. At the reception I was asked if I wanted a smoking or non smoking room. I asked for NON smoking! Once I arrived at my room, there had been a problem with the electronic key, due to what appeared to be a faulty handle caused by, what looked like a forced entry. Once inside, the smell of stale smoke cigarette smoke hit me. My friends NON SMOKING room was the same. The room itself felt un welcoming and was like a room out of the film scar face. Dirty, dull, grimy ! Kettle and cups were not at all clean, so I washed everything before chancing a cuppa, to only fine you had to pay 20 Baht for a sachet of coffee,milk and sugar.
The TV provided had four channels, all Asian, but the picture was not watchable and out of tune.
We decided to go out to the Market and have some food, before resting up in preparation for our early morning flight. On our return, I opened my door to be welcomed by what was a farm of Cockroaches !!! They were everywhere. On the walls, floors,in the Bathroom on the dresser and table, but worst of all, actually in the bed itself. I pulled backed the sheets to find them under the covers and buried within each fold or crease between the bed and mattress. Looking closer, you could see the Cockroach droppings on the bed. My friends room was the same.
Feeling un easy by all this I went to ask if we could change rooms, by at first was a well spoken English Asian guy. But when I mention the word Cockroach, his English became poor with the remarks. " I dont understand "
In the end we had to just try and get a few hours sleep, with me on top of the bed and my partner sat in the chair.
With our Taxi pre booked, we checked out, I mentioned that we had all had a sleepless night due to the above to the Receptionist, where he too played dumb and said he didn't understand, and then had the cheek to charge me 20 Baht for the coffee !!
Dont let your trip be dampened by staying at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Dont pay any money until you take a look at your room. The photos are not always up dated or even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kirbs5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

the hotel is located 20mins walked fron nana bts. Smelly room, dusty, we even saw numbers of tiny cockroach on table and toilet. The most haunted things was bathroom light went off while taking shower. We asked receiptionist they have no idea. We requested to change room. Few rooms we viewed, found cockroach in bathroom and dusty at the air-con. We booked for two nights but checked out early on next day. I can said this is the worst stayed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The worst hotel I've ever been to! We traveled as a group (12 people) and not a single safety box was working so we left some money in our luggage. Housekeeping must have not known that we are together and stole from 100 to 400$ from each room. The money was hidden in suitcases and between clothes so she probably looked through our stuff. When we reported it to the hotel reception they told us they are not responsible and don't care about it. When we asked for police number and police station address they gave us false information, fake number and non-existing address. We went to Thai police and travel police but we never got our money back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AgataNka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokMike, General Manager at Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear valued guest,

This review didn’t reflect our services and is unfair for us.

Thank you for staying at the Royal Asia Lodge. Also thanks for the review; it would have been great if there was a little bit of appreciation for our assistance. Your group occupied 3 presidential suites, where there are 2 safety boxes in each room for guest uses for keeping valuable things. Unfortunately you haven’t uses any of those complementary facilities.

Last 15 years the same maid has been consistently making up our Presidential Suite rooms and there are no complaint reported against her. Moreover as soon as we got your complaint, we called that room Attendant and investigated this incident, and we haven’t found anything suspicious. For further investigation we suggested you to report to the police station and accordingly provided you address and contact number. There is no meaning giving you false information in this information & technology age.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

I booked this Hotel through Travel Agent including Breakfast, but NO BREAKFAST Services when I checked in , wow!!!!!

Reception said simply, SORRY Dining Room are now under construction, thsu refunding fee for
Breakfast, 60 BHT per day dueirng my stay there, 25 Apr., check-in and 4 May out, total 540 BHT
, but hiow can I take Breakfast outside Hotel by 60 BHT ????????
This is my worst happening when I stay many Hotels with firm booking, and I will never book this holtel in a future,even I visit Bangkok, definitely!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKIRA29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#278 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#359 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#321 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#480 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Property: Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Address: 91, Soi 8 off Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #771 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the thick of the action near to Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok’s bustling hive of activity, this property is about a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS Skytrain station, which provides easy access to popular areas such as Central World, MBK Shopping Center and more, or 1 minute to the station by the hotel’s free shuttle service. Royal Asia Lodge offers 99 comfortable rooms equipped with standard amenities; satellite TV, air conditioning and IDD phone. Other facilities, includes a lobby lounge bar, restaurant, swimming pool, massage service, laundry/dry cleaning services and business center services with E-mail & Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing