We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Ranked #775 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I fiirst stayed here in the queen suites in 2002 and they were nice,now they are falling apart.Stayed 4 nights this time and it was dreadful the door lock was broken couldn't get back into the room had to keep going to reception it was repaired the night before we left only because the maid couldn't get in to clean.The bathroom was dirty water dripping from through the ceiling from the room above light fittings full of debris,balcony doors would not lock and air con broken and noisy.Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanm1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    135
    105
    82
    82
See reviews for
22
64
175
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here for a weekend trip in Bangkok. Nice place, friendly staff and close to most of what you would probably like to see for sites around the city. Its off a street where it is nice and quiet.

Not full of bar girls or noisy expats. Clean towels, bathroom and facilities. No gym or spa offered. Won't charge for clean towels or electricity and cleaning service is provided everyday.

I would shy away from this place if I were doing something as a couple but if traveling solo or with a close friend, not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Checked in so I could see the sights near the Na Na area. Everything looks old, doesn't smell too nice. Broken toilet seats, electrical stuff not working, the hot water boiling flask can't boil, air-conditioning totally no working, not even blowing. I don't mind the distance I have to walk in and out to the main road. But the room I got is not good, and looking at the whole, it must be the same in the other rooms else they wouldn't be opening such a room for a guest. In case anyone says I'm making it up, I have HD pics of the stained yucky looking toilet, bath and stuffy old room. Only thing good is the quiet location. I have stayed in old motels with old furniture and pictures so I'm used to old stuff. But the moment old stuff smells, you have no air-conditioning especially when it's advertised as such, and taking a dump, a bath or shower feels yucky. It's not for me. A new dormitory would have been more pleasant. I really hope the owners would stay in their own broken hotel rooms and rate their experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickFusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was my second stay here.
Located 700-800 mtrs inside the lane connected to NANA BTS station.
Free Tuk Tuk from hotel takes you to the end of the lane (BTS station).
If you are lucky and a tuk tuk has come to drop someone, you can hop on for a ride back to the hotel. However I preferred walking to waiting.
Location is nice. BTS connects you to the whole of Bangkok.
Indian and Veggie restaurants right on the crossing.
Lots of Subways, McDonalds, Pizza places to the left and right. You wont go hungry in this area.
Those who like night life, its just a lane away from Nana plaza.
Those who donot like the night life, though this is close to Nana Plaza, it still enjoys its own privacy.
Overall hotel is not great but the price is great. I got a room for 1400 INR. Would have to pay 3500-4000 INR if it was any other hotel a little closer to the main road.
I stayed at Four Seasons Sheraton too during this trip, which is right across the main road crossing. Costed INR 6000 on a company contract. Rack rate was 12000 INR. Stayed here for 3 nights.
Since I had to pay from my pocket for the next 3 nights, chose the Royal Asia Lodge.
As long as you know that you will get what you pay for, you will not be greatly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat, India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was solo traveller and was staying at standard room ! The room is quite big with all room ameneties like hot & cold shower,tea/coffee maker,mini bar etc ! The aircon is also in upto date condition ! My check in and check out was quick and hardly taken about five minutes ! The great part of this hotel/lodge is it is situated off sukhumvit road opp Nana BTS in quiet surrondings and 24 hrs tuk tuk services are available for dropping and picking up from the Sukhumvit road ! Moreover,it is a guest friendly hotel ! I really enjoyed my stay & will visit again in nearer future !

Room Tip: This lodge is very near to sukhumvit road, soi 9 walking distance to famous Ambassador hotel and Mia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipeshkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed here some months ago, hotel is decent, rooms are okay, but you can get better options for the same price. Location is good, near to Nana Plaza, hotel is quite inside the main road, but they provide tuktuk service.

They cancelled the breakfast both days I stayed there, but when I checked out, they refunded me, though would have preferred proper planning from them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here once again for 10 days in late June 2013, thanks to a $24+ deal on hotels.com. Reading some of the other reviews makes me wonder if the reviewers have really stayed at some real dives. I have...a room with a sewer-gas problem in Isaan, a heavily mosquito-infested one in Malaysia, one where the air-con froze over and ants found the food in Pattaya, one with mice occasionally running across the floor in Yap...I could go on. I don't think this one belongs in that category.

It's a bit tired, what with some of the furnishing dating back from opening 20+ years ago and things like towels kept in circulation for a long time. Most rooms don't have carpets, though, and keeping the tile-floor rooms with the walk-in showers clean is generally straightforward.

The big 3 things you need to work are the air-con/thermostat, room safe and water heater for the shower. This time I was 2.5-for-3, with the air-con a bit weak and just barely able to lower the temperature to where I wouldn't sweat after being on for 40+ minutes, when if it operated according to spec the room should be like a meat locker. But the so-so performance saved me a case of air-con-throat the next morning, which is what you get if the air-con does work but the thermostat doesn't (another potential hazard). If I change rooms early on in a stay, it's usually because of being unhappy with the air-con, but thankfully that wasn't the case this time.

Maybe I'm just lucky, but across multiple stays the only bug problem I've seen is a few mosquitoes at the very height of the season, and that didn't happen this time. Am sure they spray on a regular basis like other hotels.

As for other features, the TV selection is skimpy but reflects a situation you see a lot in Thailand, i.e. price resistance to expensive cable channels (don't expect to see Premier League games unless on replay or with Thai TV carrying). The minibar is only a few items, leaving lots of extra frig room. At its best this place is a 2-star hotel, whereas others in the price range don't try to be that.

Smells can sometimes be not quite right because of a previous guest or, in some cases, trying to sleep too many to a room in cases of some families. But the housekeeping staff does try hard and usually gets results that are better than you would expect at, say, a $35 motel in the U.S. The visitor mix for the place has changed somewhat over the years, especially after it became bookable on international travel sites as one of the lowest-cost midrange options in a central location in Bangkok (Location is still a major plus). That brought in many more price-sensitive people from all over the world and caused the share of western males as a percentage of total guests to drop.

Inevitably it'll be renoved soon and rates will go up to match or surpass others on the street. In the meantime it's a flawed proposition but also priced like one. I've found that if you can be calm in reporting something (don't lose face) and keep a sense of proportionality you'll get something that works out even if not at the outset. I'll usually switch rooms over the air-con but give them a chance to fix the safe or water heater, for example.

If you still need a comparison to try to retore perspective, just try the Miami Hotel on soi 13.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#282 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#350 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Sukhumvit
Studio Sukhumvit 18 by iCheck inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#318 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#482 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok

Property: Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Address: 91, Soi 8 off Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #775 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the thick of the action near to Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok’s bustling hive of activity, this property is about a 5 minute walk to Nana BTS Skytrain station, which provides easy access to popular areas such as Central World, MBK Shopping Center and more, or 1 minute to the station by the hotel’s free shuttle service. Royal Asia Lodge offers 99 comfortable rooms equipped with standard amenities; satellite TV, air conditioning and IDD phone. Other facilities, includes a lobby lounge bar, restaurant, swimming pool, massage service, laundry/dry cleaning services and business center services with E-mail & Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Hotel Bangkok
Royal Asia Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing