We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't go there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welcome Sawasdee Inn
Ranked #569 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Booked this hotel via travel agency at home. It was the worst place I have ever been, too (including 4 months of budget travelling in India...): Room looks like a prison cell, dirty walls, dirty ceiling, dirty bedlinen, [--] in the toilet, window not possible to close. Room was about 6qm, "bathroom" 1qm, no light in the bathroom, unhelpful staff. Only positive thing: AC worked and was not so loud during nights (but daytime there is a construction area very close to the hotel.
Folks, be wise don't go there, for the same price you get 1000% better rooms in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Reading the other reviews on here, you probably could find better, but not for this price and this central. The hostel is in a fantastic location, staff were friendly and it was good value for money. Not the best hostel I've stayed in, rooms are pretty small and dark, but you are in the middle of Bangkok so get out and about!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting an air con room, it gets pretty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

You can easily find better than sawasdee, the location ia good, bad service from receptionist, they need to learn how to smile, and the we have to pay for the wi-fi internet connection, yep, you can find better than this one.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuwanda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The location is good, near Khao San rd. and Rambuttri. Otherwise it was quite bad. Kind of dirty. We stayed in a double room with a shower, the shower was on top of the toilet, so not really comfortable. Staff was not nice at all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liisa112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is a classical example of half cup full and half empty situation. I trust the Sawasdee Inn is a chain business, I found so many of them within the 4 blocks near the Khoasan Road. The Smile Inn and the Welcome Inn are so close by to each other, they are just within 1 minute walking distance away.

My personal experience with the personnel in Smile Inn was always negative, everything was like "Cannot be done" and "Don't bother me" types, while the personnel in the Welcome Inn was the opposite, much more friendly, and trying to resolve the problem in every which way possible. They have the "Can do" attitude.

I stayed in this little Inn for a week and another day in another occasion. When I arrived they told me their rooms were full and switched to their sister inn the Smile Inn a 100 yards away. I had a horrible experience to deal with the front desk person at the Smile Inn and I returned to the Welcome Inn. The front desk person was helpful and worked out something to save me for the night.

This particular Inn is NOT easy to find, the local taxi driver dropped me at the wrong place (there are so many Sawasdee Inn in that neighborhood). It is almost like hiding in a more secluded location on a side street, but more quiet and less crowded impression at the lobby after 10pm

They charge similar rates to most backpackers hotels. The rooms are not tidy nor clean, the photos on their websites must be the premium rooms, the regular rooms are quite dark, smudges like ghettos, holes on the wall (must be punched by some previous angry customers).

The shared bathrooms were clogged most of the time with no windows or ventilations possible.
That works to make sure nobody will stay in the bathroom for too long. During the week I stayed there, the water pipes broke twice within a day, customers had to take showers at their sister inn.

Like most of the backpackers hotel, internet access is possilbe within the lobby area but if you are lucky, get the rooms on the first floor, there is a good chance you have internet connections.

They have a restaurant afiliated next door, it s run by east indians, and has vegetarian menus only. I never try it myself but who cares, food vendors are everywhere.

They also have an in-house traveling agency, the advisor was not that friendly until you decided to do business with her. I found out later the prices she offered was much higher than most other traveling agencies on the street. They are using the same resources - the drivers, the vans and the tour guides. So, paying more doesn't mean you get better services. Say, the airport shuttle service was priced at150 bahts with her at the hotel but one can easily find another offer at 120 bahts a hundred yards away.

The lobby is always crowded, either getting the internet connection or waiting for the transportation during the morning.

One more thing, it is great if you like cats. For some reasons, one of the front desk personnel, likes cats, and she has 2 cats running around at the lobby. With a large wooden basin for food and water at the lobby, and the cleaning lady was mopping the lobby all the time, still cannot get rid of the traces and the smell of the animals. You ought to love cats to stay at the lobby for internet connections, otherwise, it is quite irritating.

Room Tip: Don't trust the photos on the website, get the air conditioned rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The only good Thing with this hotel is the location. The hotel is dirty, the rooms are small and they smell bad. We had mould everywhere in the bathroom and there were Stains on the matress. This was not a good place, and im not picky.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Stayed here for a night while we were in Bangkok!!! Good location ( one star) and air con ( one star) apart from that, this hotel doesn't deserve anything else!!! Not bothered staff!!! Ppl hanging around the reception!!! In a small ally way!!! TINY room!!! TINY bathroom!!! Small insects on bed!!! Room soo small that coz of the double bed the door to the room don't open fully!!! Got a room on the third floor and there r no lifts n the stairs are very steep!!! I guess it's just okay for a night to spend in Bangkok and move along coz of the cheap room price but I won't recommend it to anyone !!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,863 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 894 in Bangkok
6,121 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Sawasdee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Sawasdee Inn

Address: 5-7 Soi Rongmai, Chao Fa Rd. | Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £0 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Welcome Sawasdee Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15-minute walk from Khaosan Road, Sawasdee Welcome Inn provides free 24-hour receptionist with English speaker . It features eastern vintage’s lobby and free wifi in public area . All rooms are simple décor equipped with air conditioning and flat screen TV , offers mixed dormitories with a shared bathroom and rooms with a private bathroom. Sawasdee Welcome Inn is 300 metes walk to the Grand Palace and Chaopraya river and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Welcome Sawasdee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Sawasdee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing