We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY IN THIS PLACE! DON'T RUIN YOUR VACATION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welcome Sawasdee Inn
Ranked #514 of 667 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY IN THIS PLACE! DON'T RUIN YOUR VACATION!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First of all I would never stay here again because of the hotel's receptionist. He is the absolutely most rude and insolent person that We had met during our travel in the Indochina area. He actually had the nerve to yell at me and my 53 year old friend who, clearly showed him that there had been an error in our booking (wrong bed type). He screamed that this is "not his f---n problem" (sic!) and it is our business to sort it out with expedia. Throughout our 3 day stay (we unfortunately paid up front) he maintained this scandalous attitude. Besides this our room was filthy, we had to fight for getting a clean sheet, the blanket was smelly (clearly hadn't been washed for a long time), the water didn't go down from the bathroom so we had to walk in a puddle of post shower water all the time. All of the staff look at you as if you were there worst enemy. And just try to ask them for something like directions... You'll get yours! We stayed at a lot of budget hotels but this was the only one, which we would describe as a nightmare. Learn from our mistake and stay away from this place

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VernonHardapple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Sawasdee Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear VernonHardapple2014, valued guest

Thank you for your sharing opinions let us acknowledge the problem. We apologize for the incident and regret that staff made improper verb. We will provide staff to perform their duties
better than this,The rooms will be improved and to be satisfied with all the guests. And you, with the hope that we will get that chance again.

Best Regards
Narisa S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    8
    35
    30
    85
See reviews for
7
50
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

this place made any other hotel i've ever stayed in look like the Dorchester. They don't give you a towel, they windows don,t shut, there is no air con, the tv doesn't work and i got biten about 50 times by misquitos during the night. i think i feel the same way about this room as most prisoners do about their cells in prison, with dread and regret.

Room Tip: get aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_jacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a room a day before and paid by credit card as we booked, ohh what a mistake.
The room that we got was more like a prison cell than a room in a hostel. The room was a little bit bigger the the bed, which means that if you have a bag with you, you cant move. The bed, which they call a double bed was no more then 120 cm width, covered with dirty sheet. The smell in the room was very bad and even though we mentioned in our booking that we asking for a room with window - the window was to the corridor. I felt insulted. The receptionist offered us a twin room instead, which had the same dirty sheets and a broken window to the corridor, so every one who passes there can see all your room (which is as tiny as a cell).
After travelling a few monthe in asian guesthouses and backpackers hostels i can definitly say that this one is below any standarts. Eventhough we are a backpackers in a low budget, we ran away from there, giving up on the unfair 15$ we already paid. It was too much even for jail.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OlgaandEilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Thats true- the staff Is rude. Cats everywhere.tiny room,very hard to move if 2 people are in. BUT air con Is working,you have a bed and a toilet.so thats everything you bede to stay in hotel FOR THAT PRICE.cant give more stars-its obvious.but cant understand all that complaying if you pay soo small amount of money for a hotel which Is so good located!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kasia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel was booked for 1 night by travel agent. It has open front first thing you see is a group of cats running the around the lobby. A 50bht deposit for keys is required I was traumatised when i saw my room at the top of the building, no lift and i am on crutches. No towel or soap, just toilet roll. The room was tiny with basic, ancient furniture. The bed was lumpy, hardly any bed linen just an itchy blanket, I had to ask for a sheet. No hot water. Water in Wet room/toilet didn't drain just remained in a big puddle making floor slippery. Ac above the bed created a draft on my head. There was one electric socket which was hard to access. Missing louvre to window allowed mosquito's in Everything was grubby and dated. hotel was full of hippie back backers who seemed not to mind the poor accommodation. The plus is tv had English channels and sound proofing was adequate also staff were helpful. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: No tips. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleheavenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked our stay through STA when we booked our flights from the UK. When we arrived, there were stray cats walking all around reception and the smell of cat wee was awful. The receptionist was extremely unhelpful, and pointed us roughly in the direction of our room. As we walked to the back of the hostel to climb the stairs, there was a terrible stink of raw sewege. Bangkok doesn't smell great at the best of times but this was something else. When we arrived in the room, there were panels of the window missing so people could easily get in from the outside. There was damp all over the walls and in the toilet. There was a big hole in the floor of the bathroom and the shower was placed directly above the toilet and bin for toilet tissue. The bed was tiny for two people and rock solid with dirty sheets. The air conditioning dripped on us all night. All in all, the worst place I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was sold to us as part of a package booking including flights. Upon arrival we were shown the double we booked, which was very small. We had to pay the same price again as the original booking (roughly) to upgrade to a good sized double. There was a discrepancy between their lower estimate of what we'd paid originally, compared to the actual price paid, but this may be because the travel company took a big cut. The hotel had a strong sewage smell downstairs though luckily not affecting the rooms. There is a building under construction next door. The staff were reasonably accomodating as long as we paid the extra money, though not overly friendly. The room was basic but plus points were a large bed which actually was comfortable and a largish bathroom space with window, which you certainly don't get everywhere. OK for a night or two if you pay top whack for a superior room (expect them to ask for more), but there were much better looking places nearby...just have a wander around the adjoining streets!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IJ780816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
7.6 mi away
Cazz Hostel
Cazz Hostel
#101 of 1,243 in Bangkok
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
S1 Hostel
S1 Hostel
#307 of 1,243 in Bangkok
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Green Home Hostel
Green Home Hostel
#564 of 1,243 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Riche Boutique
The Riche Boutique
#665 of 1,243 in Bangkok
7 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bed@Town Hostel
Bed@Town Hostel
#701 of 1,243 in Bangkok
10 reviews
9.3 mi away
Grand Mandarin Residence
Grand Mandarin Residence
#807 of 1,243 in Bangkok
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Sawasdee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Sawasdee Inn

Property: Welcome Sawasdee Inn
Address: 5-7 Soi Rongmai, Chao Fa Rd. | Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 667 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Welcome Sawasdee Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 15-minute walk from Khaosan Road, Sawasdee Welcome Inn provides free 24-hour receptionist with English speaker . It features eastern vintage’s lobby and free wifi in public area . All rooms are simple décor equipped with air conditioning and flat screen TV , offers mixed dormitories with a shared bathroom and rooms with a private bathroom. Sawasdee Welcome Inn is 300 metes walk to the Grand Palace and Chaopraya river and easy access to get public transportation to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Sawasdee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Sawasdee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing