We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sour staff ....Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Rajtaevee
Ranked #374 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I booked a 2 bedroom family suite 2 months ahead by email. Confirmed with them till last day from arrival. Upon arrival checkin, the reception tells me my room has faulty electricity and that i'm advised to upgrade at 3,600 baht per night to another room (the initial family suite was confirmed at 2,400 baht/night). I firmly told them that it is unacceptable and shows all my printed email correspondences with them of 2 months. The manager tells something in thai to the receptionist and then they show me to a 2 bedroom family suite. I reconfirmed that it is at the initial rate agreed upon and they said yes! I've read previous reviews of this hotel and the trick they usually pull to get more money out of guests!

Anyway, the family suite they showed was worn down but large and clean. My kids had enough space to run around. There was one TV in the living room and one in one of the bedrooms. It had Aljazeera, NHK, TV 5, CNA and thai channels. The bathroom was compact with a bathtub and white clean towels. The kitchen had no cooking stove but had a microwave, a medium sized fridge and a hot water dispenser. As our kids were picky eaters we brought a rice cooker and a portable hot pot cooker so that we could prepare their usual meals. The housekeeping had no problems with it. Beware that the glass bottled water is free but the plastic ones are payable. We read it in some reviews about this so stored the plastic ones on top of the fridge, out of reach of the kids. On our checkout, the receptionist told us one bottle was missing and we had to pay 40 baht for it. I didnt want to make a fuss and paid. My advice is keep all plastic bottles locked in your luggages throughout your stay and produce them at the reception upon checkout. Beat them at their own game. They are kind of pathetic these staff. Sour, depressed looking but since we are not in bkk to socialize with them, we just ignored their behaviour.

The best thing about this hotel is the location.
Turn left at its entrance and its only 5 minutes walk through a quiet private lane to Siam Paragon. A further 5 minutes walk to MBK mall. Siam Paragon buggy Operates from 11 am to 1 pm then from 3 pm to 5 pm. From the lane to Siam Paragon. Then you wont have to walk that 5 minutes at all!
Turn right at the hotel entrance and its only 30 seconds to Petchaburi road (7-Eleven right there for water and other neccessities). A further 5 minutes to Pantip plaza, a further 5 minutes to Platinum mall (in front is Pratunam market), a further 10 minutes turning right to Big C and Central World. All along a road filled with street food galore!

So if you book at this hotel, do it in advance, keep proof of your requirements and their confirmation, be firm, and hide the plastic water bottles! Wish you a safe trip to BKK!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprilmyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Residence Rajtaevee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Was introduced to The Residence by a colleague. Indeed, this property is close to Siam Paragon, Pratunam Market, Platinum Mall. The package that we paid for supposedly includes a free ride to Siam Paragon, but you can rarely see the golf kart and you still have to walk out to take this ride to Siam Paragon. The family room comprise of 2 bedrooms, 1 kitchen, 1 living room & 1 bathroom only; two tv sets (1 in bedroom, 1 in living room). The tv in the bedroom couldn't work at all. So disappointing. However, there are newer rooms in the building & from outside it looks pretty decent. So if you want to stay here due to the location, opt for that & don't get the family room. It'd be even better if there are 2 bathrooms, 1 common bathroom & 1 in the master bedroom. There's no free wifi (unless the package says so), and the unlimited wifi package cost 950 baht (for 1 mth usage). The connection is not fantastic & can only be used for 1 device only. So if a family have more than 1 device, you have to logout so that another person can use the wifi.

The air-condition is wonky too.. The rooms were super cold while the living room felt like a sauna.. The staffs were rude on the phone when they called & threatened that we have to pay additional 100baht should there be additional people in the room. She sounded very threatening. To me, even if we need to make any extra payment, as a service staff, they could have said it in a more polite manner.

Lastly, the kitchen.. They provided a flask which was utterly disgusting & not working! When we opened the flask, it was filled with water & white particles... In summary, avoid this place if you can..

Room Tip: Don't choose the family room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_De_Souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Found this place on the internet and was attracted to the character of the place... location is the only good point, Facilities is quite old and run down, service and condition leave travellers wanting

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tachyang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Went there is Aug 2012 ( note: the date below did not allow me to select august 2012 ), got a family suit. 2 rooms, 1 kitchen, 1 living room, 1 bathroom - reasonable priced.

they also arranged our transport of us.
they had a good restaurant, yummy and reasonable priced. * drools** yummy tom yam kung

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lvamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

During our family vacation to bangkok, we statyed at this hotel. The last time we stayed in this hotel was January 2006. We booked this hotel upon our arrival, we didnt have prior booking. We booked two double rooms as our kids 10 and 12 yrs cannot be accomodated in one room. The price of the rooms were quite reasonable. The reason for staying in this hotel is because of its excellent location. Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery, MBK shopping mall is just a five minutes walk from the hotel, just ask the front office and they will guide you. Pratunam market, Platinum mall, Pantip Plaza is a five to ten minutes walk from the hotel. Indira market is 10 to 15 minutes walk. 7/11 store is just next to the hotel. The rooms are kept very good and the house keeping is very good. There is a tour desk to book daily tours. The front office staff is very helpful and if you require any information they are willing to offer you thier assistance. There is a SPA in the hotel which i didnt visit. The morning breakfast is excellent as it has a mix of continental and chinese. Overall the staff is good. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Locality of this hotel is good for shoppings. Walking distant to Siam Paragon Mall, Central World, Platinium Mall, Pratunam Market and etc. However, most tuk tuk and taxi unable to find this hotel as it it off the main road of Phetchaburi Rd. The rooms especially the deluxe ones are quite comfortable and clean. Overall, value for money.

Room Tip: take rooms on the 5th floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ongbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Have stayed here quite a few times over the last 20 years including 3 days in June 2013. Every time I have wondered why I've done it again and now realise that it's all about location and very little else. I like Pratunam partly because it's lively and partly because I know the area pretty well but the more I see of this hotel the less I like it. That sounds a bit fierce, especially as the bedrooms are O.K. and reception isn't that bad. But the breakfast is only ever lukewarm and has always been like this in spite of being told about it often. And none of the staff ever seem to smile. After a couple of days this starts to get to me [ and I am easy to please ]. Anyway after having a look round this time it looks to me that I could do better for the same cost so it's goodbye Residence Rajtaevee, for the last time.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is fine
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldred136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#116 of 880 in Bangkok
360 reviews
Hotel Vista Express
#321 of 880 in Bangkok
310 reviews
KLUB Hotel
#323 of 880 in Bangkok
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#154 of 880 in Bangkok
1,492 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#731 of 880 in Bangkok
408 reviews
First House Bangkok
#360 of 880 in Bangkok
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Rajtaevee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Rajtaevee

Address: 588/1 Phetchaburi Rd, Rajtaevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#118 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £28 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Rajtaevee 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Rajtaevee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Rajtaevee Bangkok
Residence Rajtaevee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing