We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Calm on First trip to Bangkok”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #76 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was referred to this lovely Guesthouse by friends who had stayed here before. If you are new to this amazing city, as I was, it can be quite overwhelming. I was put at ease even before we got to this Guesthouse. Booking our stay was an easy process online, and we received answers to our questions and a confirmation the same day. For a very reasonable fee you can include the services of a driver who will meet you at the airport and bring you to the Baan Chantra. We were offered and used their personal driver named Khun Som who made our visit a real delight. He is courteous,funny and very knowledgeable about Bangkok and its history, The proprietor, Kulthida, is a kind and gracious hostess. She was so helpful and attentive and gave us much need suggestions about places to see and things to do. She designed the unique and well-furnished rooms that are very cozy and clean, Our room connected to a private patio garden with a small fountain and comfy chairs. The scent of lemongrass candles added to the sense of serenity. The generous breakfast was served in a nice dining area and was delicious. You can easily walk to several nice restaurants by the waterfront for a romantic supper. All the staff was very welcoming and professional. I highly recommend this oasis in the big city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephie2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This small home/hotel was perfect for 2 of us, Mom and 19 yr old Daughter, fresh into Bangkok. We were greeted warmly every single time we came in and the place is enchanting. I loved having coffee or tea in the upstairs cove, and really felt that I was in Bangkok. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere. Sure, you can stay in the big hotels, and we did that too, but we both preferred our stay at Baan Chantra to any other place on our month-long adventure. It is safe, colorful, with a lovely breakfast and newspaper and great staff.
Yes, beds are hard, as are all in Thailand. I think they are all the same!
If you want to feel the culture, give this a shot, we loved it and will return. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: A/C a must! All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Baan Chantra, a very nice and beautifully furnished guesthouse. The very clean and air-conditioned room with a little wooden balcony gave us entire satisfaction.
Well situated, 'Athiti' the nearest pier and Khao San road are at 10 walking minutes. Although Samsen road is busy during the day we have had quiet nights. Different types and generous breakfasts are served. Khun Kulthida was always very helpful and gave us valuable information and suggestions. I can but recommend Baan Chantra to all those who appreciate a friendly, family like atmosphere. I would not recommend the guesthouse to disabledThank you to Kulthida and her staff.
Chris and Tee

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Well located near the Khao San Road. Fully furnished with cleanness and helpful staffs. Well guarded at night with security after 10pm impressively. It was hot and humid during my stay but the serenity in the premises was calming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel located just off Khao San road. As other reviews state this is a small family run hotel, perfectly located and has been owned by the same family for generations having previously been the current owners grandmothers home. The staff are pleasant and helpful, up for a chat and in our opinion this hotel has loads of character. We're sat outside on the veranda at present with free wifi enjoying a few beers in the lovely garden they've created - small but just incredibly relaxing and having had a good chat with the landlady you do feel much more 'connected' with the city. We stayed at one of the top Bangkok hotels a few weeks ago (Banyon Tree) and I couldn't take anything away from it as it too was amazing in its own right but bottom line is my wife and I agree we'd probably have preferred to of stayed here. Far more authentic eg you know which country/city you're in and far more relaxed and chilled out, closer to main city sites etc... Rooms are small but fantastically decorated with mohagony wood floors throughout, clean and tidy. Beds aren't comfortable as the mattress is very hard but that's the only thing I could objectively point out as not great. Overall it's a great find and I'm sure the majority of people won't be disappointed either!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just spent 2 nights in Baan Chantra with Kulthida and co and simply cannot say enough good things about the place and the people there.

From arrival we felt warmly welcomed. We arrived very early and they made a room free for us to shower and freshen up after a very long flight. Later we checked into out downstairs bedroom (kumala room? Can't remember room name- one with terrace downstairs). It was huge and peaceful. Spotless and really beautifully furnished. Bed was massive (yes it was quite firm but we like it) soft white sheets are lovely. shower was large and perfect pressure and temperature. Breakfast was spot on served in the small dining room where there are relics of Kulthidas family kept sacred on show, which reminds you that you are staying in a family home which has been in Kulthidas family for many years. This makes it extra special and I have to say, it does feel like home when you are there.

Also wonderful friendly helpful staff and its so reassuring to have a security guard there all evening too for peace of mind, checking who is coming in at night.

There is a terrace on first floor which is truly beautiful&charming. The whole place is charming, inside and out.

Location wise it's so very close to Khao San madness but also far enough away to be able to walk away from it all, 10 Min walk. Personally we found our room to be very quiet and peaceful and we slept very soundly (& I'm a light sleeper). Also we felt the room upstairs which faces the front was quiet enough too, we wouldn't have had a problem sleeping in there and are booked to stay in this room upon our return to Bangkok in a few weeks on our way home so that says it all.

Enjoy walking down Samsen road, the smells and sights awaken the senses. It's a great location. 7/11 is just over the road too.

This place is true value for money. Yes of course you can get cheaper, but here you truly get what you pay for. We felt absolutely taken care of & like family.

We really, really love it here and we can't wait to return. I think Kulthida and co. have it completely spot on. 100% all round.

Thank you for a beautiful stay & see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19lmk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I love coming to stay at Baan Chantra (this was my third stay!) it is like having a second home. Khun Kuthilda and her staff are so welcoming, caring and fun. Make sure that you have the Thai breakfast, you will get a new taste each day. The rooms are airy, lots of lovely wooden furniture and the beds have soft cool sheets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: all rooms are good, the King Superior has a charming sun room. A good place to relax with a book and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 732 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 732 in Bangkok
84 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CHANN Bangkok Noi
#106 of 732 in Bangkok
15 reviews
Banglamphu
Methavalai Residence
Methavalai Residence
#49 of 732 in Bangkok
53 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#42 of 732 in Bangkok
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing