We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff provided a very welcoming atmosphere for our first visit to Bangkok”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #78 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at Baan Chantra and the staff provided not only an excellent guest house accomodation but also provided very helpful service in arranging taxis to Cha Am, the airport and a variety of the local attractions. We couldn't have been happier with the experience. The breakfasts were good and served to our convenience and everyone on the staff provided a very personal and welcoming attitude. As a first time visitor to Bangkok, they provide some insights that things to see and things to avoid. And they even noticed that it was my wife's birthday during our visit. We left with a feeling of not only great service but also a feeling that we had made some new friends. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkToAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed at Baan Chantra for three nights and were impressed by the attentiveness of Kulthida and her staff. The rooms are well looked after, the breakfast room replete with newspapers and gorgeous coffee table books to leaf through in our spare time, and overall it was a nice respite from the polluted, noisy streets of Bangkok. Our stay was enjoyable...

Dena and Gabriel Bartra

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

After making a booking at the Baan Chantra our flights changed and we had to alter dates. The hotel staff were happy to move things to suit us and went out of their way for us. On arrival, people came to help from all directions with luggage, check-in and food options. Our room was clean and tidy, serviced each day and had a comfortable/homely feel to it. The hotel is family run, and "hands on". The people at this hotel care about what they do and how they do it. A good location to boot !!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrbee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

A very quaint hotel in very central bangkok. The service from every member of staff was always very friendly and most helpful. The hotel is situated approx 10 minutes walk from the 'koa san' rd on a major road so easy to find, this being the only downfall...the noise of the traffic. We were in a front room overlooking the street and again the staff did not hide the fact that it there is noise from the morning traffic when we viewed the room, but this was nothing that a set of ear plugs couldn,t deal with. The room had a great shower and great breakfast...loved the croissants! I would definitely book here for any future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynealexcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

After three years of heavy use, this is the first time I've been seriously let down by TripAdvisor. Baan Chantra is not what we expected. In short we expected a clean, comfortable, friendly B&B. What we got was an over-priced back-packer flop house.

We were here for two nights in early October. The room was very small, barely room for us and our two bags. The first night, the room smelled of sewage, the second night I think they tried to cover it with Lysol so the room smelled of sewage and Lysol, which was even worse. The bed was rock-hard, even harder than average for Thailand, and the rest of the furniture in the room was in worse shape than what I had in college dorm 20 years ago. The room was also loud with street noise and people stomping around upstairs. The hot-water heater in the bathroom gave luke-warm water at best.

We arrived early in the morning, dropped off our bags and wanted to head out sight-seeing. We asked the guy at the desk for directions to the palace, and to show us on the map where we were. He couldn't be bothered to look at the map as we were asking questions, and just pointed down the road saying the palace was that way. Now it is true that the palace was in the direction he pointed, but it was not so simple as that, there were two complicated intersections to navigate (with no signage), and we ended up walking an extra 20 minutes in the heat of the day.

Finally, don't take their offer of airport pick-up. The meter taxi should only be ~400bht, they charge 1000bht (I thought that was for round-trip, but when I got there it was only one-way).

I can't recommend a better place to stay, because we were only there two days, but I suggest trying some where else.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scientist_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabai-sabai1965, management representative at Baan Chantra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2009

Dear Scientist_Sailor

Thank you very much for bringing up many points to our attention. We are so sorry to learn about the inconveniences during your stay with us. Your comment will help us improving things as we always aim for 100% customer's satisfaction.

As a small 80 years old wooden house with only 6 rooms in total, we know that our facilities might not be 100% perfect, luxury and beautiful like most 5 star first class hotels. However, what we all are aiming at are
- How to treat all of guests as one of our family members. How to make them feel that they are staying in an authentic Thai family in the old town of Bangkok but not in a big hotels.
- How to improve Baan Chantra in every ways each day so that our guests from all around the world will be happy and be back to Thailand, our beautiful country.

Regarding your points about the smell in the rom or the points about our staff, we will try to solve these problems. Thank you again for your comments. Your coments will enable us to make appropriate improvements.

May we clarify regarding the airport pick up. We have an airport transfer service for our clients in a limousine (Volvo or Toyota Camry). If our clients prefer to use the normal taxi at the airport (which is normally around Bht. 350-500 depending on the traffic) we will instead send them the map in Thai as most Thai taxi drivers have poor navigation and English skills. That is the reason why we offer an airport transfer in a limousine as one other alternatives to choose to avoid the long queue at the airport

Again thank you very much for your time and comments.

Best regards
Kulthida
Baan Chantra
Bangkok, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We're so glad we found the Baan Chantra a few years ago. We visit Bangkok once or twice a year - and have stayed there since it opened (moving from a more impersonal large hotel). Our return this time, after nearly a year's absence, reinforced why we always come back - we were treated to a wonderful warm welcome (despite the hour) from our host Khutilda and her staff (thanks Praiwan!) - it felt like we had come home. This was actually Khutilda's grandparents home, now renovated into a comfortable guest house. The upstairs rooms are authentic Thai style and very beautiful with their polished wide teak floor boards and outside sittting area, although we choose the larger room downstairs with its small courtyard with beautiful orchids. I find the freshly cooked Thai breakfast is a great way to set myself up each day to explore the amazing and ever surprising city of Bangkok (while my partner works...). The location provides good access to the river ferries (about a 5 minute walk) and Khoa San Rd (you have to go there once at least!) and so much more. This is part of the 'old city' so if you want to get a glimpse of how BKK used to be with its shophouses and 'villages within a city', exploring it is a must (just take a map and a smile... and a few Thai words help too). I like the challenge and contrast of taking the local klong boat (the Nancy Chandler BKK map describes it as 'fast but smelly') to Chidlom to do some up-market shopping. You can also walk, cab or tuk-tuk it to the Grand Palace and other well-known more popular tourist attractions if they're more your scene. We look forward to being warmly welcomed back to the BC again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChezVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

After reading all the positive reviews for Baan Chantra, we were disappointed that it did not live up to our expectations. The young man that was present on our arrival did not show any interest in the new guests and his indifference continued throughout our stay. In most places we have stayed in Thailand, we were always greeted with enthusiasm and warmth but unfortunately he lacked both. During our visit he appeared to be more intrested in watching whatever it was on the computer with headphones on, than answering any questions we had. It was a shame because all the other staff were helpful and very very nice. We has 2 rooms, one standard on the ground floor and one executive on the first floor. My room was on the ground floor and again was not what I was expecting. It was very basic and did not have any of the charm we had read about. Although there were windows, we were unable to open them as they backed onto the library. The bathroom was not particularly clean and smelt the whole of our time there. In Bangkok you cannot expect the same standards as in Europe, but the smell at times was awful and I am sure the staff must have been aware of it.
The deluxe room upstairs was better and after going up to the first floor we could understand why other guests found it quaint and charming. It was very pretty. The restroom in reception needed a thorough clean and the communal towel did not look like it had been changed in weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baanchantra, Owner at Baan Chantra, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2009

As the owner of Baan Chantra, Bangkok, Thailand, I deeply regret to learn about the bad experience during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

First of all, thank you very much for bringing these points to our attention. All our clients' feedbacks are extremely important for us. It is our aim to achieve 100% client's satisfaction. Your comments will enable us to make appropriate improvements.

Had I known about the problem during your stay, I would have taken appropriate corrective actions for you right away. We have since taken appropriate actions to fix these points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 731 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 731 in Bangkok
83 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CHANN Bangkok Noi
#121 of 731 in Bangkok
14 reviews
Banglamphu
Methavalai Residence
Methavalai Residence
#48 of 731 in Bangkok
53 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#41 of 731 in Bangkok
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing