We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back, what a wonderful place, the people are great.”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #60 of 667 Bangkok B&B and Inns
texas
1 review
“I want to go back, what a wonderful place, the people are great.”
Reviewed 9 December 2009

I have been blessed with a fantastic son who wanted to show me Thailand. He has been before and used Lonely Planet to find his places to stay,and that is what I did. Just picked one. Did our first stay over the internet, so easy and they picked us up at the airport, just like clock work. This place is beautiful and charming and all the people are so willing to help you. We traveled to other places and loved it here so much we made it our home base as we came in and out of Bangkok. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND BAAN CHANTRA AND THAILAND! Our stay was made all the more special because of the people here.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cattnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    71
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
38
143
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Baan Chantra is a very cosy guesthouse. We used the pick up service at the airport. We had a warm welcome. Staff exerts to the utmost to make one feel welcome.
Rooms are cosy and very clean. We liked our stay at Baan Chantra very much.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

What I liked best about this hotel is that it is a real house (the owner's grandfather was a doctor using the front three rooms for his practice) in a real neighborhood. If you want a spotless, sleek hotel with lots of amenities then don't stay here. However, if you want a place with character and personality then stay here.

The location is excellent for the main tourist attractions and the Thai breakfast--they do have western choices--is great. We stayed 3 nights and were served a different Thai breakfast every day. They even gave us an earlier breakfast the day we had to catch a flight.

Yes, their price for airport pickup is about double but if you like walking out of a massive airport to a guy standing there with your name then use their service. When we flew out, they happily hailed a cab for us and negotiated the fare for us--just under 400 baht.

We really enjoyed sitting upstairs on the outdoor balcony for an evening drink. It was comfortable and fun to watch the neighborhood action below. The woman we could just see partially turned out to be a tailor who had been there for 45 years.

This is not a fancy place but it is more than a fair value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at Baan Chantra and the staff provided not only an excellent guest house accomodation but also provided very helpful service in arranging taxis to Cha Am, the airport and a variety of the local attractions. We couldn't have been happier with the experience. The breakfasts were good and served to our convenience and everyone on the staff provided a very personal and welcoming attitude. As a first time visitor to Bangkok, they provide some insights that things to see and things to avoid. And they even noticed that it was my wife's birthday during our visit. We left with a feeling of not only great service but also a feeling that we had made some new friends. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkToAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed at Baan Chantra for three nights and were impressed by the attentiveness of Kulthida and her staff. The rooms are well looked after, the breakfast room replete with newspapers and gorgeous coffee table books to leaf through in our spare time, and overall it was a nice respite from the polluted, noisy streets of Bangkok. Our stay was enjoyable...

Dena and Gabriel Bartra

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Bay Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2009

After making a booking at the Baan Chantra our flights changed and we had to alter dates. The hotel staff were happy to move things to suit us and went out of their way for us. On arrival, people came to help from all directions with luggage, check-in and food options. Our room was clean and tidy, serviced each day and had a comfortable/homely feel to it. The hotel is family run, and "hands on". The people at this hotel care about what they do and how they do it. A good location to boot !!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrbee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

A very quaint hotel in very central bangkok. The service from every member of staff was always very friendly and most helpful. The hotel is situated approx 10 minutes walk from the 'koa san' rd on a major road so easy to find, this being the only downfall...the noise of the traffic. We were in a front room overlooking the street and again the staff did not hide the fact that it there is noise from the morning traffic when we viewed the room, but this was nothing that a set of ear plugs couldn,t deal with. The room had a great shower and great breakfast...loved the croissants! I would definitely book here for any future visits.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynealexcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Baan Dinso Hostel
Baan Dinso Hostel
#24 of 667 in Bangkok
310 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#7 of 667 in Bangkok
278 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 667 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 667 in Bangkok
538 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#18 of 667 in Bangkok
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Property: Baan Chantra
Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 667 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing