We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a charming stay in an old and beautiful thai house”
Review of Baan Chantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Chantra
Ranked #72 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We loved the beautiful old style house (the current owner's grandmother's place as it turns out), with the aged wood flooring, the elegant windows, the nice smell of camphor in the pristine clean bathrooms. The breakfast is delicious (try the thai food!) and generous and we are still talking about the fresh orange juice! The owner and the sweet lady who works with her are so helpful: they even managed to track down a store where you can find a thai object we had been looking for for a year...And the veranda on the second floor over the very narrow alley is such a great place to read! The location is perfect too! Outstanding!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleineTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2009

This is the third time we stayed in Baan Chantra. Its in a great location not far from the Khao San Road. The owner is extreamly friendly and is full of good advise for travelling around. The food is lovely. The rooms are spotless. The building has lots of character and feels more like staying with a family than some large inpersonal hotel. Will certainly stay here again. Rich

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

I have been blessed with a fantastic son who wanted to show me Thailand. He has been before and used Lonely Planet to find his places to stay,and that is what I did. Just picked one. Did our first stay over the internet, so easy and they picked us up at the airport, just like clock work. This place is beautiful and charming and all the people are so willing to help you. We traveled to other places and loved it here so much we made it our home base as we came in and out of Bangkok. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND BAAN CHANTRA AND THAILAND! Our stay was made all the more special because of the people here.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cattnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Baan Chantra is a very cosy guesthouse. We used the pick up service at the airport. We had a warm welcome. Staff exerts to the utmost to make one feel welcome.
Rooms are cosy and very clean. We liked our stay at Baan Chantra very much.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backpackAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

What I liked best about this hotel is that it is a real house (the owner's grandfather was a doctor using the front three rooms for his practice) in a real neighborhood. If you want a spotless, sleek hotel with lots of amenities then don't stay here. However, if you want a place with character and personality then stay here.

The location is excellent for the main tourist attractions and the Thai breakfast--they do have western choices--is great. We stayed 3 nights and were served a different Thai breakfast every day. They even gave us an earlier breakfast the day we had to catch a flight.

Yes, their price for airport pickup is about double but if you like walking out of a massive airport to a guy standing there with your name then use their service. When we flew out, they happily hailed a cab for us and negotiated the fare for us--just under 400 baht.

We really enjoyed sitting upstairs on the outdoor balcony for an evening drink. It was comfortable and fun to watch the neighborhood action below. The woman we could just see partially turned out to be a tailor who had been there for 45 years.

This is not a fancy place but it is more than a fair value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at Baan Chantra and the staff provided not only an excellent guest house accomodation but also provided very helpful service in arranging taxis to Cha Am, the airport and a variety of the local attractions. We couldn't have been happier with the experience. The breakfasts were good and served to our convenience and everyone on the staff provided a very personal and welcoming attitude. As a first time visitor to Bangkok, they provide some insights that things to see and things to avoid. And they even noticed that it was my wife's birthday during our visit. We left with a feeling of not only great service but also a feeling that we had made some new friends. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkToAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We stayed at Baan Chantra for three nights and were impressed by the attentiveness of Kulthida and her staff. The rooms are well looked after, the breakfast room replete with newspapers and gorgeous coffee table books to leaf through in our spare time, and overall it was a nice respite from the polluted, noisy streets of Bangkok. Our stay was enjoyable...

Dena and Gabriel Bartra

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#344 of 887 in Bangkok
756 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#12 of 728 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 728 in Bangkok
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#91 of 728 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#48 of 728 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#7 of 728 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chantra

Address: 120/1 Samsen Road | Bangkhunprom Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Chantra 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Chantra is a privately owned and run establishment located just a few blocks away from the famous Khao San Road. Originally built in 1936, this renovated historic home offers a unique and personalized travel experience with a touch of local flavour. The owners pride themselves in the quality of their accommodation and wonderful service they offer. Beautiful traditional Thai home - Enchanting guest rooms featuring wooden decor. Quiet, friendly atmosphere - Convenience of library/study room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelsClick so you can book your Baan Chantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chantra Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing