We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Chantra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tara Place(Bangkok)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Nithra(Bangkok)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Diamond House(Bangkok)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
172
71
13
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
71
13
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai breakfastkhao san roadthai familythai culturewithin walking distancea great place to staythe location is perfecttaxibanglamphu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend two nights in April 2010. The pick up from the airport was very convenient, we were greeted with cold water and the drive into town was quick and smooth. The hotel staff is really friendly, there is free internet in the lobby and a very good breakfast included. The hotel owner went far beyond duty, giving us advise about security in Bangkok (there were big demonstrations at the time), shopping opportunities and when we left at 4am in the morning they woke up and gave us sandwiches instead of breakfast.

The room was on the small side and had now windows leading outside (just one to the lobby - no see thru glas) but was spotlessly clean. Same applies for the bathroom.
All in all we felt very welcome and good in this place and will definately come back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sodasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The management were very welcoming and couldn't do enough in offering us advise on excursions, solo trips, transportation etc. The staff were always attentive and extremely courteous. The hotel is within walking distance of the main Temple and Grand Palace (25 min) or 10 min from the river and its excellent, cheap, water taxi service. Our room had all modern conveniences including TV, Cable, Internet at no extra charge and there was always plenty of hot water and a very efficient A/C system. There was a little noise from the street but the hotel is on a main road and although soundproofing steps had been taken this is an old wooden Thai building and only so much can be done. My wife and I wouldn't hesitate in staying again and if we ever return to Bangkok this hotel would be first on our list.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We chose to stay here based on reviews i read on tripadvisor.
We found the guest house to live up to its well deserved reputation.
The room was very large, spotless and well maintained.
This is more of beautiful home than a nonpersonal hotel.
The staff all spoke english and were always very helpful.
Breakfast prepared special for us daily was delicious.
Free wifi worked great with my iphone as well as a computer in the room and in the lobby.
We stayed in a room facing the main street while not quiet would not say that it was at the level that i would request a room change.
Directly across the street is a 24 HR 7-11 which is conveinent as well as a good landmark when coming back late at nite for the taxi.
Great location - Bangkok is hot so we used taxi outside the door to get everywhere and never paid more than 170 BHT about 450 BHT to the airport. Things in the area only 35-50 BHT by taxi.
When we return to Bangkok this is where we wil stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Bangkok was the end of a 2+ month trip thru So.East Asia. We had booked 3 nights in the"back packer" area of the city and decided it was not the area for us. We found this wonderful small guesthouse (in the Lonely Planet Book). The staff and owner were so gracious, welcoming and helpful...and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We had different Thai breakfast meals each day. Rooms in the front can be noisy but ...the service and staff made up for the street noise. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaandPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Baan Chantra is a wonderful hotel with the most accommodating staff one could ask for! Kulthida in reception was terrific, friendly, and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent also. This is truly a great place to stay in Bangkok with an excellent location too.

Annie and Stu Coleman/San Diego, CA/USA

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews