We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay in an odd location”
Review of Diamond City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond City Hotel
Ranked #712 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok stay in an odd location”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

It isn't a bad hotel but certainly isn't great either. The decor is dated and quite odd as is the location. I think the management need a lesson or two on interior design!! yikes!!
The food for breakfast is truly odd and isn't well prepared. It seemed like the food staff didnt really understand what made a good breakfast in a buffet style. I was a bit perplexed by this.
Is it really that difficult to research good breakfast option for guests?

Shocking.

However, I will say that the staff are very helpful and do provide honest and accurate information to guests about the realities of Bangkok and how to stay safe while touring around. I am happy that the management are pushing to educate their guests this way.

Inside the rooms I was happy with the style but cleanliness needs work.

Free wifi - this is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwhyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    114
    122
    61
    61
See reviews for
55
115
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Service was fantastic always greeted politely and with a smile. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had what we needed and often went beyond what we needed. Rooms weren't very clean smoke fumes filled the room from pervious stays although The beds were very comfortable. Pool seemed unhygienic and food from restaurant was of an acquired taste.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irdl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here two nights. The decor of the hotel is a bit odd - sort of reminded me of The Shining. The place is close to the major shopping areas like MBK and Siam Discovery etc (note, you will need to cross to the other side of the river to get there) which is convenient. Khao San Road is quite far away and you will need to put your bargaining boots on with tuk tuks and taxis to get the best price there. After winding down on our first night, we were horrified to find bed bugs and other critters around the room. After reading the reviews (of course we read them after we got there and not before we booked) we found that this was not an uncommon thing, but the lady at reception insisted she 'had never seen this before'. After getting her up to our room and literally pointing out the bugs, we were moved to a different room on another level. Even after moving rooms, we still felt a bit itchy and noticed little bites here and there. The breakfast was average, you could choose from something more traditional like eggs and toast to something more of a lunch or dinner meal like noodles and fried vegetables. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel last year, March 2012. It was a little difficult to find, but nothing the GPS on phone can't find and I already took care of internet on phone by purchasing a SIM card from Airport. The hotel itself is very nice, nice interior and all. It was close to the siam area, and not far from MBK shopping center. I recommend this hotel for the price, and you get a good experience of the local thai life too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzurfahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Diamond City Hotel, $42 after taxes, stayed for 4 nights, breakfast included
The hotel is in a small street 3-4 blocks off one of the train stations. The street is not lit so there were spots where we were walking in almost darkness. It did feel a bit scary the first night. However, two blocks east of the hotel, there is a small night market with food vendors. This was NICE having it close by and we visited the vendors everynight along with the Seven-Eleven 2 blocks down. The hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful. They told us how much the taxi was to the airport and called a taxi for us. We did not have to negotiate with the taxi man. We paid 350 baht to go to DMK. The breakfast offered a selection of Thai and Western foods. There was different things cooked each morning for the Asian option. We had curry one morning, pan fried noodles the next morning and the next was pan fried chicken breast. We ate both Asian and Western options. We made sure NOT to stuff ourselves because we knew there were so many different kinds of street food to try! The room was clean. It had all the typical things that would be in a hotel room. We did not use the balcony because they are all connected to each other. It was small and smelly. I did not like the shower; I did not like standing on the wooden plank to shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nguyen612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I had a nice stay at this hotel a few days ago.
We arrived with my friend at 10 AM a bit earlier than the usual check in time, but since the room was already available the let us move in. The room was spacious and with nice furniture, for the price, I think it was a good deal.
Location is quite good in a small street, but not far from the main shopping malls, you can also get a cab if you need to move around the city, and since we were two, price is not so different than the BTS or MRT.
The staff was really friendly and informative, every time we had a question they were here to help. The inclusive breakfast is not a buffet but a simple breakfast served at your table, not fancy, but good enough to satisfy us.
You can also enjoy their small but nice indoor swimming pool.
The overall experience was satisfying, with good service and nice room. I will probably come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxime112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This place is simply awful and does not deserve to be called a hotel. The carpet, beds and furnitures are all old. Even though the pictures of their hotel look really nice and big on their website, everything is actually cramped. The beds are so small, not fit for adult. Even the pool is ridiculously small. If we didn't have to go out for the whole day and night to do tour and shopping, we wouldn't last a day in this hotel. I truly regretted having to experience a stay in this hotel on my first trip to Thailand. Although the staff are nice enough, it still doesn't make up for the horribleness of this place. It was not a comfortable and good place to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#377 of 858 in Bangkok
216 reviews
Siam
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#740 of 858 in Bangkok
50 reviews
Bangkok City Hotel
#280 of 858 in Bangkok
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#375 of 858 in Bangkok
258 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#745 of 858 in Bangkok
135 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#120 of 858 in Bangkok
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond City Hotel

Property: Diamond City Hotel
Address: 594/23 Soi Payanark ,Rama 6 Road | Thanon Phetchaburi,Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Diamond City Hotel, BangkokExplore yourself in this boutique hotel styles in the center of Bangkok with our friendly staffs that will always welcome you, cater to your every needs, and anticipate your every desire.At the heart of Bangkok, Diamond City Hotel is located in the best shopping area and at the core business area. Please visit us and enjoy our warm hospitality at a reasonable price with excellent services, newly furnished guest rooms, convenient location, security and privacy, and not to mention our delicious cuisine available 24 hours.Here you will receive 5-star service from our team with years of experience and friendly staffs that will go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that your stay with us will be a comfortable and memorable one.We offer hotel accommodation within your budget. Diamond City Hotel embraces and takes pride in our boutique mood setting, situated in the heart of Bangkok.Location: Minutes away from Siam Square, MBK Shopping Plaza, Pratunam, and Siam Paragon. Less than 10 minutes to Ratchathewee Skytrain Station Less than 2 minutes walking distance to 7-eleven, local markets, and variety of authentic Thai Restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Diamond City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond City Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing