We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so much of a diamond.....”
Review of Diamond City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond City Hotel
Ranked #742 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 19 September 2013

the hotel is quite close to the main streets....however the rooms were very outdated, dark,dingy . The receptionist was very polite, breakfast was repetitive overall will never ever go back there again. The taxis were all rip-off even the ones arranged by the hotels.....everywhere the prices are hiked up for commission purpose be it by taxi guys or the hotel....Its price is very reasonable even so that fact alone will not suffice.The hotels brochure is a big lie...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seelan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The best of this hotel I think the service of his, especially the woman in front of the desk. of early check-in he so kindly provided rambutan and welcome drink and everytime we met always smiling and friendly.
The hotel location is not too far from bts and under bts have tuk2 that could transfer to the hotel if not too tired to walk.
and every night near the intersection of street food and there are 7-11.
Overall I was satisfied with this hotel.

Room Tip: choose a bigger much better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_liu819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

ive been there. it was just an OK hotel. nothing special. cheap only 20e. the rooms was a bit noisy. the first time i booked from internet it was 20e when i arrived without booking the 2nd time amd i asked for the same price they told me that they cannot do that but their special agent can !!! what a mess :P

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

It isn't a bad hotel but certainly isn't great either. The decor is dated and quite odd as is the location. I think the management need a lesson or two on interior design!! yikes!!
The food for breakfast is truly odd and isn't well prepared. It seemed like the food staff didnt really understand what made a good breakfast in a buffet style. I was a bit perplexed by this.
Is it really that difficult to research good breakfast option for guests?

Shocking.

However, I will say that the staff are very helpful and do provide honest and accurate information to guests about the realities of Bangkok and how to stay safe while touring around. I am happy that the management are pushing to educate their guests this way.

Inside the rooms I was happy with the style but cleanliness needs work.

Free wifi - this is a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwhyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Service was fantastic always greeted politely and with a smile. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had what we needed and often went beyond what we needed. Rooms weren't very clean smoke fumes filled the room from pervious stays although The beds were very comfortable. Pool seemed unhygienic and food from restaurant was of an acquired taste.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irdl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here two nights. The decor of the hotel is a bit odd - sort of reminded me of The Shining. The place is close to the major shopping areas like MBK and Siam Discovery etc (note, you will need to cross to the other side of the river to get there) which is convenient. Khao San Road is quite far away and you will need to put your bargaining boots on with tuk tuks and taxis to get the best price there. After winding down on our first night, we were horrified to find bed bugs and other critters around the room. After reading the reviews (of course we read them after we got there and not before we booked) we found that this was not an uncommon thing, but the lady at reception insisted she 'had never seen this before'. After getting her up to our room and literally pointing out the bugs, we were moved to a different room on another level. Even after moving rooms, we still felt a bit itchy and noticed little bites here and there. The breakfast was average, you could choose from something more traditional like eggs and toast to something more of a lunch or dinner meal like noodles and fried vegetables. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel last year, March 2012. It was a little difficult to find, but nothing the GPS on phone can't find and I already took care of internet on phone by purchasing a SIM card from Airport. The hotel itself is very nice, nice interior and all. It was close to the siam area, and not far from MBK shopping center. I recommend this hotel for the price, and you get a good experience of the local thai life too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manzurfahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#424 of 887 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Siam
Muangphol Mansion
Muangphol Mansion
#756 of 887 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#380 of 887 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok City Hotel
#265 of 887 in Bangkok
1,068 reviews
Nantra Ploenchit Hotel
#766 of 887 in Bangkok
53 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#114 of 887 in Bangkok
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond City Hotel

Address: 594/23 Soi Payanark ,Rama 6 Road | Thanon Phetchaburi,Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #742 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Diamond City Hotel, BangkokExplore yourself in this boutique hotel styles in the center of Bangkok with our friendly staffs that will always welcome you, cater to your every needs, and anticipate your every desire.At the heart of Bangkok, Diamond City Hotel is located in the best shopping area and at the core business area. Please visit us and enjoy our warm hospitality at a reasonable price with excellent services, newly furnished guest rooms, convenient location, security and privacy, and not to mention our delicious cuisine available 24 hours.Here you will receive 5-star service from our team with years of experience and friendly staffs that will go above and beyond their call of duty to ensure that your stay with us will be a comfortable and memorable one.We offer hotel accommodation within your budget. Diamond City Hotel embraces and takes pride in our boutique mood setting, situated in the heart of Bangkok.Location: Minutes away from Siam Square, MBK Shopping Plaza, Pratunam, and Siam Paragon. Less than 10 minutes to Ratchathewee Skytrain Station Less than 2 minutes walking distance to 7-eleven, local markets, and variety of authentic Thai Restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond City Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing