We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avana Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #610 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel was so rude and disrespectful.
First of all in morning buffet, staff of hotel were monitoring the guests. And
if guests put some dishes or spoon at wrong place they sigh so loudly and complain to guests. Even Sometimes they were yelling at kids or teenagers in buffet to put spoon for food at right place. Staff never tried to serve for guests but just complain to them.
My team checked out in early morning beacuse of Bangkok traffic jam, font desk staff stoped us and they said robes were missing in two rooms. We were in hurry that time so we cheked to aur team members and know that cleaning staff took it already. But staff just keep saying that never happens and talk so impolitely even my boss was there and he is much older than them. It was so disrispectful. They didn't try to find robe but just trying to make us to pay a fine. Finally we asked front stff to see manager, they were yelling to us to Get away! Go away! It's done, so Just Go! I still can not believe that serving staff ayelling at gusts even guests were much older than them. It just happened at 10.Feb.2014!! Some of my friends checked out later than us so they looked all the laundry bucket and found our two lost robes in the end. Can you believe this is the atitude of the hotel man? After all we tried to phone call to manager but they are avoiding it untill now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haru0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    87
    71
    21
    23
See reviews for
29
36
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Word to Steve B's review. I could not say it any better. We basically had the same experience. Not sure what Tracy H is talking about. The only highlight was the man singing at the restaurant near the hotel. The only restaurant in the area that we had to walk down a long dark alley to get to. I wouldn't recommend the food but the entertainment was top notch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarGul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this place as a transit hotel awaiting another flight.

This hotel is no different than a hostel. We did not have running hot water, there were multiple leaks in the washroom and the sink had trouble draining. it was a horrible experience.

The hotel also is not close to the airport - its a good 20-30 km away. There are any places closer to the airport that are similarly prices, or just A LITTLE more expensive. Spend the money and avoid this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm not a crank and I've never panned a hotel before. However, I've used TripAdvisor many times and I'm trying to give back to the community. The Avana Hotel in Bangkok is way, way past its prime. You can do much better in Bangkok.

First, the location. The hotel is near the BITEC convention center but it's not a walk you'd want to take. The surroundings are horrible. There's a dilapidated, unfinished, vacant high-rise just across the entrance to the hotel's long, narrow entrance street. The elevated highway is directly overhead. Stray dogs roam the streets. There are no restaurants nearby. Well, there is one restaurant but it's not one you would want to eat at. We ate there and it was like we were living through a bad movie. The location is simply horrible.

Second, the facilities. The lobby has had an obvious facelift but everything else is tired and worn down. Halls, window casings, floors, doors, elevators, everything is old and worn out. The hallways are tile, not carpet. They look clean but the sound echoes. Good luck sleeping if anyone, and I mean anyone, evens walks down the hall. The bathrooms? Simply awful. My shower drain backed up and the toilet leaked. At least it flushed.

Third wireless. The wireless is completely inaccessible from any of the rooms that we were in. We had people from our group on the third, fifth, seventh, and eighth floors. No one could access the wireless. If you want it, you have to go to the lobby. Oh, you have to pay extra for it and it's slow, slow, slow.

Fourth, the staff. I've had better service at a Motel 6 in South Chicago. I'm serious. The staff was overworked and genuinely unhelpful. My favorite part was trying to check out and get my room deposit back. I had forgotten to save the receipt that they gave me for obtaining the deposit. After presenting my passport, my drivers license, and my credit card to prove who I was, I then offered repeatedly to sign on their register ticket that I had received the deposit. They refused. Without the piece of paper, they would not return the deposit. Finally, after two unsuccessful trips back to the room to try and find the receipt in the garbage can or on the floor, I was finally passed off to a fourth attendant who unhappily gave me back my deposit.

Bottom line: you can do much, much better in Bangkok. We moved to a different hotel close to the Asok station and had a superb experience for just a few dollars more per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Avana hotel is a great place to stay while in Bangkok. It is about 15 from BKK airport. Great restaurant inside. You can get a quality massage in the Spa. Very nice spa, not trashy. It has an excellent pool and the rooms are nice and clean. The price is very good for this quality hotel.

Room Tip: You can get a great price using Agoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Check-in was quick and easy.
Staff efficient and friendly.
The room was very clean with good space.
The aircon was not working properly but this was attended to within minutes.
One disappointment was the residual smell of cigarette smoke in the room.
The breakfast was great considering that this is not an expensive hotel.
Excellent place to stay if you are passing through Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is situated in Bangna, the nearest BTS is Bangna. From Bangna BTS,you still need to take a taxi ( about 10-12 mins) to reach the hotel. The exterior of the hotel look old but the room is reasonably clean and big in size. Please also take note that the hotel does not provide free Wi Fi serice.

The good point of this hotel is near to the exhibition center and some big shopping centers around such as - Bangna Mega, Paradise Park and the old Seacon Square. This hotel is also popular with tour groups from China, Korean.

Accessibility from point to point, you will need a taxi where you are able to hire one any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sk123singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
The Color Living Hotel
#628 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Paradise Sukhumvit
Paradise Sukhumvit
#711 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
CS Residence
#591 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clef Hotel
#4 of 15 in Samut Prakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Brighton Hotel & Residence
#636 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Marsi Hotel Bangkok
#529 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avana Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avana Bangkok Hotel

Property: Avana Bangkok Hotel
Address: 900 Moo 12 Bangna - Trad Rd. Km 2, Bangkok 10260 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#253 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avana Bangkok Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avana Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avana Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing