We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5stays in Siam@siam but getting worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #131 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Well we have stayed with them 5 times in their 6 years of operation, and the service has definitely gone down. I'm not going to comment about the ambience or location as I have done this in a previous review. Their breakfast has become ridiculous the staff are all grumpy and the only greeting you get is "room number?" They are always busy as a hotel but this has definitely worn off on the staff and the Thai smiles have long disappeared. The food quality at breakfast has also gone down, overall the bfast experience is not a pleasant one. The check in & check out are also the same, no smiles and they are conducted in a robotic manner nothing personal. The only thing I'd like to comment about the rooms is the amount of stains on the bed sheets this time round was ridiculous. When you walk into the hotel you will always be annoyed by the same ppl trying to sell tours nowadays. The pool is also disappointing for those who like the sun. They don't get too much sunlight and when they do it is packed. There are only 8 to 10 deck chairs and a useless amount of tables and chairs which take space which could be used for more sunbeds. We did enjoy one hour at the spa which we would recommend, and also we do like the rooftop bar, it has a good vibe and great staff. Have to admit that we are not the type of ppl who would approach management during our stay to complain or tell them that we feel the place is not the same, but on the other hand we did move to another hotel after 3 nights and I doubt we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Travel A,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at Siam@Siam Bangkok. Your comments are really important and relevant to us. We will use them for an immediate readjustment and share them through all department of our property.

Meanwhile, we sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and wish we will be able to give you a better impression on a future venue.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 3,717 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

My partner and eight year old daughter stayed here for five nights. The hotel is fantastic, clean, service five star and a good location for shopping. We didn't get harassed by the person at the tour desk once....so maybe things have changed because based on previous reviews I was bracing for this to happen. Further, the breakfast buffet was amazing so I don't know what some of the other reviewers were complaining about. Yes the lifts are annoying but that is the only thing negative to say about this hotel and that is nothing really.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello Samantha J,

Thank you for your amazing review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the service of our great team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel is stunning in so many ways. It's so modern, the rooms are gorgeous, the views are spectacular and the staff are on board to help in any way they can. It's very clean, and well located. They have a restaurant/bar on the roof which has breath taking views, but so very very expensive, and large services fees are automatically charged to your bill. You also have to be dressed up (according to the dress code), which can be a hassle in the heat if you just want to watch the sunset with a cocktail. Other than that, it's really stunning and I was more than impressed :) I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you're not afraid of heights, the higher you can go, the better as the views are incredible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here recently with our family of seven. Great location,close to MBK. Friendly helpful staff,clean rooms and great pool and gym! Just beware of buying any drinks at the hotel. They are very expensive!! Head to Tescos for any supplies! (Two minute walk away)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent three nights at Siam@Siam during mid Nov 2013. The location was perfect, close to the skytrain, easy to get taxis and tuktuks and most importantly, about 200m from MBK & Siam Paragon.

The downside....

On the 2nd night we found a cockroach in the room so called and complained to reception. They sent up the Duty Manager who bagged up the cockcoach and apologised and went to leave...

As he went to leave we asked if he was going to change our room? He replied by saying 'Oh you want to change rooms?'....so we ended up being moved rooms and he profusely apologised on the way to the new room. I asked if we were being upgraded for the inconvenience and he said no. I was quite frustrated about this as it was revolting to find a cockroach in the room and even worse no compensation was provided.

Breakfast was awesome, except they didn't keep the dishes full and often there were multiple empty dishes.

At breakfast they had a sign saying no singlets (men only). So I was told to go and change out of a singlet, fair enough they have standards...but then a girl walked past me with overalls on (sleeveless) and no bra underneath and the waiter let her in. This was quite frustrating as clearly there was a lack of gender equity and I felt very mistreated being told not to wear singlets yet this provocative female was allowed in half naked.

The pool was freezing cold and the pool area not too appealing. We stayed about 5mins and left because felt quite uncomfortable.

When checking out, I went to pay on my 28 degrees credit card (no exchange rate fees) and was given a bill in australian dollars...when I asked to pay it in baht I was told they charge in australian dollars. When I repeated that paying in australian dollars was not appropriate, I was told they had already charged it and I had to sign the credit card receipt because if they refunded it they would charge me for the transaction. Ridiculous........

The room was pretty cool, very contemporary design but a bit over the top, there was no TV guide nor any cable TV (as advertised), except a movie channel that was shocking reception.

Overall this hotel received amazing reviews on tripadvisor but apart from the great location close to MBK, was about a 3 star hotel. Very average, won't be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0hn_C986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Hello J0hn_C986,

Thank you for sharing your last impression regarding your stay at Siam@Siam Bangkok. I am really sorry that our facilities and service recovery didn't exceed your expectation. Regarding your comment about our Breakfast, Swimming-pool and Check-out procedure, we are really thankful for your useful report and will take your comments into consideration for further improvement in our services.

Best Wishes,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Siam@Siam was placed in the heart of Bangkok. It is close to all the shopping you want and even more within a walking distance! It was even close to the train station, which lets you get to all the other famous spots in Bangkok so easily! The hotel itself is artsy with a very hipster feel. The rooms are very clean and the pool is excellent! The staff is very friendly and they spoke very good English. They were very helpful with getting us taxis and they were very informative when asked about which landmarks are a must-see in Bangkok. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is absolutely stunning, the artwork is beautiful throughout the hotel and my room was immaculate, very clean and comfortable. The Breakfast buffet was so yummy, had a large variety of different foods and the area was clean. The only downfall I must say is although most of the staff were friendly and welcoming their were some staff members that seemed quiet rude and would never put a smile on their face, and at the time of check in we got different messages whether our room was ready or not. The rooftop bar was beautiful as you could see most of Bangkok City but I must say it was very overpriced but i guess if you have alot of money it wouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sez00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Hello Sez00000,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review about our property Siam@Siam Bangkok. We are delighted to hear our design and concepts are at your liking. Your great and useful comments will be communicated to our departments in the purpose to always improve our service and your satisfaction.

Waiting to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#81 of 887 in Bangkok
1,223 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#93 of 887 in Bangkok
2,220 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 887 in Bangkok
5,579 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £69 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing