We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and really good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #135 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and really good facilities”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stayed there 4 nights and had a really good experience. Really good value for what we paid. Well placed for getting to the shops, Chinatown and the major temples on the river. Breakfast is really good. I found the transportation people very helpful with the best way to get around and doorman very helpful. Great roof top bar but you pay for the view in drink prices

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    1,333
    393
    124
    78
See reviews for
491
1,846
158
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights at the start of a two week trip to Thailand. It's fabulously located, just a few minutes walk from National Stadium and Siam stations, and several great shopping malls.

The hotel is described as a 'design' hotel, and it certainly lives up to the description. It's funky and stylish, but not 'over the top'. We really enjoyed our stay and the room on the 24th floor was terrific.

Breakfast is excellent quality and includes pretty much everything you'd find at a top end hotel. In particular, the omelettes, waffles and pancakes that are all made to order are really good.

Shopping Malls are not places we would normally choose to eat, but we were directed there by the travel guide books and had a couple of absolutely amazing meals. The food section in the basement of the upmarket Siam Paragon is top quality, and includes cuisine from all over the world. We had a Japanese meal there one night which included sushi as good as we've had in top restaurants many times the price. Food at the MBK was also good, and although the 'cheaper' of the two food courts there (one on the higher floor) isn't as stylish, the food is fantastic and incredible value.

The pool is a nice feature and there are a few loungers and tables there too. We spend an hour there at the end of the day to unwind with a two for one cocktail in the sun.

There is also a huge Tesco supermarket a few minutes walk from the hotel.

All in all, we had a great stay at the Siam@siam and would definitely choose it again if back in Bangkok.


Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel was the final stay for us, capping off a 16 day holiday around Thailand. Having gotten sick just before we flew to Bangkok, it was refreshing to arrive somewhere that was so beautiful, clean and just plain exciting to be around.

Our room was on the 25th level, and had a view over Bangkok that just spread as far as the eyes could see.

The roof top bar is a must-visit and could be a single reason to stay at the hotel, if not to atleast visit the roof top bar at night.

The infinity pool is 16 levels up and overlooks the olympics athletic centre.

Siam shopping centre is just a few minutes walk down the road, as are all the other top shopping malls in Bangkok.

The breakfast buffet was the single best breakfast buffet I have ever had. The honey comb had to be a highlight.

One complaint was that it was very loud at night with construction and the protests were just beginning at this time also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

If you like architecture and design, and you enjoy the time spent appreciating the care and attention put into the layout and aesthetic appeal of a hotel, you will enjoy this Siam@Siam. It is very pretty.

If however you put a lot of emphasis on the service side of the business, I’d suggest you check in to a hostel. You’ll find much more attentive and thoughtful staff in the local backpackers.
And honestly, as a highly mobile and well-travelled couple, that says a lot.

There are some things that can be over-looked, or for perhaps the more expectant of us they could be forgiven (more on these later). Some things however are utterly inexcusable.

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. On our 2nd night as we were getting ready for bed, having just ordered some bottles of water and an extra pillow 20 minutes earlier, we hear the door being manipulated – which is a bit odd, considering the room service people would ordinarily knock. A second after hearing the initial noise, the door bursts open and there stands a newlywed couple themselves that had just checked in to the hotel.

Yep, you guessed right – the hotel had double booked the room. Not only did they do that but they re-cut the key, gave access to our room and all of our possessions to complete strangers. To make matters worse, my wife wasn’t wearing much at the time, which you could understandably imagine made her pretty upset when a couple of strangers effectively saw her naked in what was supposed to be the private confines of our hotel room on our honeymoon.

As we were checking out the following day we gave the rather long list of complaints to the hotel managers, of whom apologised unreservedly. To make up for it, they offered to give us a 50% discount on some drinks from one of the nights – or the equivalent of about $40AUD……… apparently that was all she was entitled to offer. No attempt to call someone higher up or make any further effort … that was it. We accepted the offer, and she went to process to bill only to come back a few minutes later stating that there were 2 extra bottles of water that we would need to sign off on. Really? After all of that, and you’re going to hit us up for an extra 2 bottles of water? Coincidentally, the two bottles of water were the same ones we were waiting to be delivered by room service when this entire episode occurred.

Add this to the list of other issues we had over our three day stay and you start to get an idea of the services issues this business has. They ranged from; tea and coffee never refilled by housekeeping, no milk for the tea and coffee, not enough pillows in the room for two people to sleep on, requests to place a DND on our phone in the morning was ignored – we received 3 calls in that time, long wait times for room service (40+ minutes for a pillow), the blinds in the room unable to block light seepage in the morning, internet access being flakey, a stale smell of old gym socks in the hallway …. You get the point.

So in summary … absolutely beautiful hotel, and one that deserves 5 star rating for design alone … start scratching the surface though and find the substance of a 5 star rated hotel, and you’d be lucky to give Siam@Siam a 3 star rating.

Highly disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay away from corner rooms - too much light seepage means you won't be able to sleep in without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Syd-gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Syd-gc,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay with us at Siam@Siam Design hotel in Bangkok.

Before addressing the problems which you encountered during your stay, I’d like to thank you for the praise about the design of the hotel. We are very proud to work in such a beautiful establishment!

I sincerely apologize for the fact that your room key was given to another couple. Obviously, this should not have happened and is unacceptable. The way the front desk handled your check-out saddens me as that team member was definitely not following standard procedure. A senior manager with higher authority, should have been summoned to meet you and he would have been able to offer more than the 50% discount on your drinks as a recovery benefit.

I’ve taken a note about your other comments regarding the irregular refilling of amenities by housekeeping, the disregard of the DND phone request and the issue about the pillows, light seepage and flaky wifi connection. These comments are very valuable to us as they help us improve our service levels.
Syd-gc, again, I am sorry of the issues you encountered during your honeymoon and that they impacted what should have been a worry free and amazing experience. In order to redeem ourselves and to show you that these are not the standards which we are accustomed to, I would like to invite you to stay with us again. I’d be happy to host your 1st anniversary next year or a stay before that if you happen to be in Bangkok in the near future. Please contact me directly at group.operation@siamatsiam.com to redeem your complimentary stay with us.

I wish you and your wife all the very best and hope that you enjoyed your honeymoon in Thailand despite the problems you encountered with us.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horten, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I love this hotel. It is in the middel of Bangkok. Near MBK and National stadium and near Siam paragon, siam discovery and siam center :)
It is å spesial hotel with great design, god service, nice pool and super breakfast buffet.
Free WIFI also, not every hotel have that yet sadly.

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anina007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Siam@Siam was recommended by our travel agent and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located a very short walk from a sky train station. The trains are easy to use, efficient and very clean. There are also plenty of tuktuks and taxis cruising past the hotel if needed.
We stayed in a Biz class room on the 23rd floor. The room was well appointed with some quirky design features. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the club lounge was varied and plentiful. There was a good selection of complimentary drinks available between 6 and 8pm but we thought the canapes we a bit light on. We found the roof top restaurants too pricey but the bar adjacent to the lobby and the sushi bar provided good value for money. The infinity pool half way up the hotel is amazing and should not be missed. Staff were always friendly and helpful. We will stay at Siam@Siam again when next in Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

First time in Bangkok and this was a pleasant surprise. Definitely has a designer arty feel with the decor and room design. I had a large double room, with fab views across the city, and cute little bathroom. There is a choice of restautants and the roof top one, looking out over the city at night is amazing (albeit I feel overpriced). There is a fantastic infinity pool and lounger area, and the breakfast choice was good. It seems well located to access the train or buses and I easily wandered around outside to shopping areas and things with only a little hassle from tuk-tuk drivers. I did find the reception staff a little hit and miss in terms of helpfulness, from very, to couldn't really be bothered. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 862 in Bangkok
2,086 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#74 of 862 in Bangkok
1,185 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 862 in Bangkok
5,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#115 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Siam at Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing