We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel but service was lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #129 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is the 3rd time i had stayed at this hotel, i returned because of my wonderful previous experiences at this hotel. However, I did not find this time round the service to be of very high quality in comparison to my visit 18 months ago. We were not greeted as we arrived in the taxi and when in the lobby we were not given cool towels and a welcome drink as i was last visit. We were initially put in a room with 2 seperate beds, but they were quick to correct this and gave us an 'upgrade' to level 22. My partner and I had also found the gentleman on the ground level giving information about tours etc very pesky, whenever we would be on the ground level he would always hassle us into doing some sort of tour or visit certain shops. After the 2nd day we were fed up with this (especially this being one of the hotel staff) But in saying all this, the breakfast is wonderful, huge array of food, perfect location and wonderfully designed rooms and Hotel, also i unfortunately fell very ill on my last day in Bangkok, to which the hotel allowed us to stay longer until the doctor had arrived, this was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Alannah W,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. Your nice comments regarding our breakfast buffet, our room setting and our location are really appreciated. Please accept my apologies regarding the lack of service you perceived during your last stay. We are implementing new Standards Operating Procedures and we will take our comments into consideration for further improvement in our services. I am surprised that you didn't received a welcome drink as we provide voucher with the arrival documents. Regarding the sightseeing & tours desk issue, please rest assured that I have addressed your concerns appropriately and we have undertaken measures to prevent any inconvenince.

Thanks again for your useful feedback and your loyalty. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and we hope that we will be able to meet and exceed your expectations then.

I hope that you are feeling better now.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 3,753 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Siam@Siam for two nights. The pictures looked nice and the hotel has some good reviews so we were optimistic.

We got an upgrade to the biz class floor, that (and the cocktail hour in the biz lounge) was the only good thing about this hotel.

What didnt we like? For starters the pillows, hard, synthetic and not comfortable. The airco didnt work well and the temperature in the room was a constant 25+.

It is almost impossible to get a cab in this area, even the congierge can't get you one. A professional hotel should be able to get you a taxi in no time. Also you are constantly harrased by tuk tuk drivers around the hotel, the hotel should get rit of them.

We wanted to make a spa booking, but the girl at the spa was very unfriendly and not at all service minded.

The restaurant is way overpriced, the food is so so but the prices are sky high (17% service and government tax is not even included).

Overall we did not like our stay here at all. The design is nice, but the hotel is old, very old and badly in need of some refurbishments.

We paid around EUR 125 per night. You can also stay in the W or Pullman G for that money, and those hotels are a way better option if you ask me.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LittleBirdFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear LittleBirdFrannie,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent experience at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. We are sorry to hear your stay was not as special as you expected it to be. Please accept my apologies regarding the bad experience you encountered with our Spa Ten receptionist.

Thank you for raising our attention regarding the problem with the air conditioning. We will ask the technician to fix it. Regarding pillow issue, we are planning to propose different option soon. At Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address transportation problem and prevent future occurrence.

We hope you will allow us to restore your confidence by returning to stay with us for your next visit to Bangkok so that we may demonstrate our commitment to serving you better

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is a little oasis in the middle of crazy Bangkok. Central location and easy access to sky train. Two minutes from Jim Thompson house.

The rooms are large and clean. We stayed on 1507 and had great views of the city and national stadium. The staff were friendly enough and came quickly when we had a problem with our safe box.

The pool is great, off the side of the 14th floor. There is a cool roof top bar and a good bar and restaurant downstairs.

Bangkok itself is interesting and has lots to offer but you definitely need a place to stay like siam@siam at the end of the day.

P.S.

Let the hotels help you get tuk tuks and taxis, we got ripped off a few times and taken to their 'sponsors' which are shops I guess they get commission from. Some get very angry if you don't want/refuse to go! Also don't always believe things are closed if people stop you on the street to 'helpfully' tell you.Often they just dont want you to go in or offer an alternative which somehow benefits them.

The Muay Thai boxing at the main stadium is great and well worth the money. We got VIP tickets and sat ringside with a waiter coming by every so often to get us more beers.

Room Tip: Room on the end (such as 1507) has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachaelF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear RachaelF18,

Thank you very much for taking time to write that amazing review.
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I am glad that Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts was an oasis to help you to relax after visiting bustling Bangkok. Your compliments regarding our Champagne and Wine Bar and our Roof Restaurant are really appreciated.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Reception staff unfriendly and unhelpful any time we spoke with them during our visit. Despite booking through their own website 6 months in advance, we arrived and were told no available rooms with single beds and there was nothing we could do about it. This had a big impact on our stay, as we were friends travelling together. Having said that, the staff in the Rooftop Bar, Bar Eleven and Spa10 were fantastic. Highly recommend a massage at Spa 10 = bliss. And the rooftop bar has a great vibe.
Breakfast okay but items were not refilled quickly.
A note for the girls - the low lighting of the rooms are not great for putting on make up. Location is good for MBK, MRT. Good massage place just down the road from hotel.
Friend I was travelling with had previously stayed at Novotel on Siam and I would probably try there on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear 357NicBee,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience with us. Please accept my apologies regarding the fact that you did not receive the room you expected.

Thank you very much for the nice words regarding our staff. We are delighted that you appreciated your massage at our Spa Ten. The check-in experience you went trough is inappropriate. At Siam@Siam Design Hotel, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
Thank you for raising our attention regarding the lack of lighting for make-up. I will discuss about that issue with our head of department.

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive feedback but also your concern. We hope to be able to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Other than those traditional 4 star hotel, I really love the stylish design of this hotel. Everything beyond standard for the grading of the class. Location is great and easy to find, Big C and shopping mall just in front. Staff are nice and friendly with smile on their face all the time. Room are tidy, clean and big enough for a relax stay, Especially you should visit the two rooftop pool. You can enjoy the beautiful sunset and whole beach view day and night. It is a great experience to stay at the hotel. Highly recommended to those enjoy stylish travel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great hotel in siam square. A little way from the main shopping strip. The rooftop was fabulous great view and great food very expensive,and the service charge wow.Breakfast is very nice ,great variety. Room was okay, no hairdryer or space for cases.Staff in the bars and eateries are friendly. Front line staff ,reception were not friendly and didnt understand english disappointing. Pool what a view , but very small.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Annette D,

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted that you appreciated our Roof Restaurant. Your comment regarding the quality of our breakfast is really appreciated. I will be sure to share your positive and negative comments with my team. I am sorry that you were not made to feel more welcome by the reception staff. I hope you will feel the difference during your next visit as, we are working on implementing special english training for our front desk staff.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great hotel. Full of Aussie tourists who I think had all booked through Flight Center (like we had)
Great food at all of the restaurants but warning - they are at Australian prices when you do the conversion.

Beautiful room.
Very friendly staff.
Excellent view on our side of the hotel.
A short 5 minute walk from the infamous MBK.

We would stay here again if we return to Bangkok.

Room Tip: We were on level 14 (the second lowest level) of a possible 23 and we had an excellent view. I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possum_chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#77 of 889 in Bangkok
1,228 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#92 of 889 in Bangkok
2,239 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#54 of 889 in Bangkok
5,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 889 in Bangkok
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £64 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing