We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Close to shopping” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #141 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bowral, NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and it is in a good location and is a short walk to the MRT station and MBK shopping which is great. However although we were on the 20th floor it was very noisy and the Mosque call to prayer at 4.30 annoying! The rooms were modern and fairly well appointed with an industrial design but the bed was like sleeping on concrete!
The breakfast area could not cope with the numbers of people ( in the low season?)and we were seated at the bar on 2 occasions waiting for a table. Often the dishes were not replenished by 10.15 when breakfast finished but the choice of food is reasonably good.
Do not rely on the concierges as they often gave us erroneous information on directions, train times and shop closing hours but the staff are all quite friendly and amenable.free Wifi is a good extra which is included
The rooftop is well worth a visit for a pre dinner drink- spectacular views over the whole of Bangkok. The pool is quite cool and there is not much shade area however but the bar on the same level is very elegant.
Overall the hotel is good for the price and location but we feel we would pay an extra $20-$30 a night next time and have a little more luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shellybellybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear shellybellybuster ,

Thank you very much for your loyalty toward Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts.Yours nice comments regarding our location, our dedicated staff and our breath taking rooftop view are appreciated. However, we are sorry to hear that your last stay was not as good as expected. At Siam@Siam Design Hotel, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered regarding incorrect information given by our concierge.. To clarify about the breakfast, the last order is at 10:00 am and we are closing at 10:15 am.

Should you be back in Bangkok, I truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,200
    352
    108
    68
See reviews for
411
1,658
136
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The first thing that got us, was a personal greeting from our taxi, and a welcome from nice staff with a good sense of humour.

The hotel is pleasing on the eye as it's quite different looking with a modern retro feel.

The only negatives was the pool was quite cold, but usable. Also, the breakfast wasn't to our taste which meant that we ate the same thing each day due to a lack of other options that we liked.

Do not accept any taxi from the concierge.... They tried to charge us 3000 baht for an excursion, and then when we told them we could get it for 1500 he offered us that price.

The location is ok, taxi's are very cheap so you can get almost anywhere if you want.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazzer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, was nice and close to MBK shopping Centre, Discovery Centre, National Stadium Train Station, which was good and very easy to get around.

Rooms were very small, beds were terrible, very hard (like sleeping on the floor) but lucky that your not in there too much. Had free wifi in the rooms, however very slow in room, a little faster in the main areas.
Staff were very pushy to sell tours etc... which was a bit of a turn off.
Food/ Drinks at the hotel in the restaurants were expensive for what you get, best to go down the road to get better value for money.

Highlight - would have to be the breakfast, great selection of food.

Room Tip: Great variety for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Alyssa B,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. Your nice words regarding our breakfast buffet and our locationsare really appreciated. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; we will take your comments into consideration for further improvements in our services.

We hope to have the chance to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were fortunate to secure a great 3 night short stay deal staying at this hotel in Bangkok. It was recommended to us on other visits to Bangkok but pricing was always too high for us until this last visit. So happy to have had the chance to stay here and certainly a treat for us. Our room was comfortable, modern and spacious. Our room was near the skystrain and a little noisy at times but we were so tired from touring that it did not bother us that much to worry about. The staff were always so helpful and accommodating. We were able to check in earlier than expected due to our early flight arrival in BKK. a pleasant surprise. The décor was very inviting and I am sure they used some recycled material which was pleasing to see and added a touch of earthiness. The pool was amazing overlooking the city of Bangkok. Don't miss visiting the roof top for a further view of Bangkok skyline especially at night. The food and drink was a bit pricing but no more usual than other hotel pricing and this is always expected anyway. Location is great. A very short walk from MBK and Siam shopping centers and also the skytrain. Free wifi. A must and very handy. Buffet breakfast was amazing. We are vegetarians but managed to always fill out plates with ample delicious food. Will we stay here again? Most certainly.

Room Tip: Request a higher level room and away from skytrain side for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Blazert,

Thank you very much for taking time to write that amazing review. We are delighted that our unique atmosphere and concept make a difference. Your compliments regarding our swimming pool, our breakfast buffet and our convenient location are really appreciated. Moreover our team is thrilled by your praise and is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This funky little hotel was our second experience in landing in Bangkok & Thailand, after the hectic ride from the airport, and it was a welcome one. The hotel was exceptionally well presented for intermediary level accommodation budget and suited our "young couples" demographic. Friendly staff, clean facilities, fresh and colourful decor. The room was everything we could want, high up, quiet, great little bathroom and large comfy bed. The location is very close to shopping percent and transport options. The pool deck was an amazing place to relax high above the city streets and several Chang's and Cocktails were consumed whilst soaking up the sun and warmth. The hotel has an amazingly serene spa level to meet all of your relaxation needs. Buffet breakfast was as you would expect for international tourists and quality was excellent. We had dinner on the open air rooftop bar and restaurant and although I don't recall the quality of the meal and wine there were 360 degree uninterrupted views or the vibrant colourful and hot city of Bangkok were we watched the Sun to provide some relief from the sultry climate. Staff (and I would assume similar for most quality hotels) are warm, friendly, helpful and humble. We would definitely stay at Siam@Siam again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great breakfast bar - best I've had in Thailand.
Nice stylish, god size, comfortable rooms and comfortable beds; firm but with some movement.
Very close to MBK and Siam Centre - the perfect shopping centre hotel.
Pool - day time one - nice, but over priced beers. 200 Baht including taxes for one!!
Restaurant downstairs - average and way over priced. Paid 350 baht for a Tom Yum Goong which was tiny and my friends dish was also really small for around the same price.
Same with the room service... Average food quality for the price.

My advice... Stay here, but when you want food, just venture out the door and there are great cheap food vendors on the street.

Would stay here again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladypawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After staying in budget accommodation for most of our travels, we decided to treat ourselves to this hotel and it was well worth it. The room was spacious with a good view and a very comfortable bed. The pool is amazing and the staff are friendly. However, the food and drink is expensive and the receptionist lost my girlfriends departure card out of her passport. Overall, though, very good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#89 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#65 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#56 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#135 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#154 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 203 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing