We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissappointing service for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #128 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“dissappointing service for the price”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on our honeymoon. This was one of the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed at during our 3 week holiday around SE Asia so i was expecting great things. However we were dissappointed with the hotel and its staff considering the price.

There were some good points which were:
- the rooms are very cool and well designed and the decor, although a little bizarre, is good fun and different.
- The pool is amazing with brilliant views of the city and a nice little bar and lounger area next to it was a perfect retreat from the hectic streets outside.
- the food in the hotel was delicious (we only had the breakfast and the lunch buffets) loads of variety and well executed.

however, as stated above, the service was well below what we were expecting from a hotel of this calibre. These may seem like small things but having stayed at other, similar price hotels during our honeymoon this is nnot what we were expecting.
For example:
- despite english supposedly being the 2nd language of bangkok the hotel manager seemed to have found all the people who couldn't understand it so every time we asked to something or needed an issue resolved we just got blank looks from the staff.
- On booking we were told that there were a few small deals on for couples on honeymoon and that to get these we just had to show our marriage certificate. we did so at check in and the hotel staff were completely indifferent and none of the promised benefits ever materialised.
- the free welcome drink promised is not brought to you, but you have to go to one of the bars with a token only to find that there is no choice but that you all get given a non-alcoholic fruit punch from a jug. just a small thing but if it is a welcome drink i think we should have actually been 'welcomed' with it.
- all the bars and restaurants in the hotel close at 11pm and the staff don't seem to agree on this so we were sent up a down in the lift a few times before really working out that everything was closed.
- on our first night at the hotel we were woken up at 5am, 6am and 7am by a 'wake-up call' which we had not asked for. when i went to reception the staff member who dealt with metook ages to understand what i was saying then didn't even apologise and told me i had to call the operator myself to cancel the wake up call rather than sort it themselves. we were also interrupted again at 9am by cleaners wanting to come in, surely they understand that western tourists in Bangkok are unlikely to be early-risers?!
- when we went down for breakfast one morning we were sat at a table where one of the chairs was soaking wet where something had been spilt, when we mentioned it to a member of staff we were, once again greeted with indifference and ignored so we just moved ourselves.
- at checkout my husband was being dealt with by a member of staff when someone else who must have been more important came towards reception so the person dealing with my husband just walked over to talk to that person without any sort of apology or expanation.
- also, and this isn't something the staff can help, but the skytrain is right next to the hotel and makes a sound like thunder striking overhead every time a train goes by. this stops at around midnight but starts again at 5am so if you are a light sleeper and not having a heavy one this is unlikely to be a good nights sleep.

All this may seem petty but we were so excited about going to this hotel and these little things left an incredibly bad taste in our mouths about our stay and we were glad to leave.

will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle_Daron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,482
    1,285
    371
    112
    71
See reviews for
452
1,782
150
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed just for a couple of nights but anyway we can highly recommend this hotel! We was very impressed of the breakfast menu..very large and a little bit from everything! The pool is nice as well, the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. If we come back to bangkok again, pretty sure we would stay there again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jess261275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear jess261275,

Thank you very much for taking time to share that amazing review from you recent stay at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at your property and that we fulfilled our aim to anticipate your needs. We are happy that our facilities and dining options are to your liking, and we look forward to seeing you again upon your return to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Nice but not my taste. Bit 'out there' in colour, design and style. Clean and food was good but very pricey at the roof restraunt but the view was amazing! Rooms were small but
comfortable. Èxtremely close to monorail station so very easy to get around the city.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L&b H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Got to spend a few nights there on my way to and from Laos. What a wonderful hotel. The exterior and interior are wonderful if modern styles. Very close to MBK (10 minutes walk) and Tesco (10 minutes the other way). Want night life??? Jump a taxi and 5 - 10 minutes you are in the hub of the nightlife in Bangkok. Been to Bangkok quite a few times and this is the best place ever we have been. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean, food is great in all of their restaurants. If staying here you have to have an evening meal at the rooftop restaurant, what a spectacular view and top service with affordable prices. Was there anything bad about the place . . not that we could identify, still we are travelling for pleasure, not to pick the bad points of everywhere we stay . . Have a great time here everyone. We will be back soon Siam@Siam staff, so get ready hahaha

Room Tip: They have smoking and non-smoking rooms so make sure to ask for a smoking room if you want one at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Russ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sue_Russ2013,

We would like to pass you our utmost appreciation and thanks for issuing your very positive review regarding your recent stay at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts and for recommending our property .We are elated to know that we were able to meet, if not surpass your expectations, and are happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and homely. Your compliments concerning our cuisine have been noted and will be relayed to the Chef. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have stayed at Siam@Siam for the second time this year. We decided to stay here again for many reasons, particularly for the hotel culture, adorable staff, location and quality. Our second stay was in a beautiful corner suite on the 24th floor. Youthful & Vibrant Hotel with a great atmosphere amongst guests, you can keep to yourself however fellow guests are always friendly-this is sometimes rare in other hotels.

Hotel) Is modern/contemporary with a chic industrial theme. You can relax by the pool, or unashamedly relax in your room without feeling like you are missing out. There are several bars/restaurants throughout the hotel, including a gorgeous rooftop. Due to political/tourism issues this year in BKK, the hotel has suffered, resulting in a large staff turnover. Fortunately, there are some familiar faces working in the hotel, however the new staff obviously are building on their english skills, and haven't yet caught onto the magical culture of my stay 6 months earlier.

That said and very importantly, the cleaner on our floor-Montilla, Concierge Attaporn, and manager Pongsak must be noted for their extra special service, attention to detail and making each and every interaction with these individuals special. A very big Thank you.

Location) Couldn't be better. You can go anywhere from this hotel with ease via Taxi or TukTuk. Walk 1 block to MBK which is all the shopping you really need. Am yet to fully explore Bangkok.

Overall I cannot imagine staying anywhere else while in Bangkok, and always plan extra nights in Bangkok just to stay at Siam@Siam. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mitchell B,

We would like to take the opportunity to send you our sincere appreciation for your great feedback upon your recent stay at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resort and for your loyalty to our property.

Glad to see that our team succeed in making your stay unique. Thank you especially for the praising regarding our dedicated team. Khun Montilla, Khun Attaporn and Khun Pongsak are thrilled with our rewarding comments.
It will be our great pleasure to host you soon again for another fantastic stay. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My friend and I spent five nights here, though the style of the hotel was not to our personal style, it had a rather dark and industrial feel it was clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff. We spent a lot of time shopping at Siam Center and MBK and to walk there only took about 5 minutes. The buffet breakfast was amazing with a wide variety of food to suit any preference. My only negative comments was the glass panel on the bathroom/bedroom wall which ment lack of privacy if someone was using the bathroom, and the wifi in the room was poor but down in the lobby was ok. Overall it was good value for money and i would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Hilary J,

Thank you very much for taking time to write that amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that that you made the most of our convenient location. Moreover, your nice comments regarding our breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our staff are really appreciated. I will be sure to share your positive comments with my team. I agree that our hotel has a very strong design element to it and it is understandable that the decoration and layout of the room is not to everyone's liking, but it is guaranteed to be interesting and different!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Slept 2 nights at the 22nd floor of this excellent hotel. Room decoration is superb. Spa services very good. Staff friendly and helpful. Only note to the mangement: roof top bar and restaurant to be improved, air conditioners fans are blowing hot air to the roof, Lights hanged on the handrail kill the skyline view, dry martini served on a flat glass?? Mmmmm....rest is fine. Cheers.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AAndreAA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, Manager at Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear AAndreAA75,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Siam@Siam Design Hotels & Resorts. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our property. Our staff is thrilled with our praise. We are really thankful for your useful report regarding our experience at the Roof Restaurant and will take your comments into consideration for further improvement in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for another fabulous stay.

Kind regards,

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#73 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#55 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#111 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing