We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Hip New York Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #133 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like a Hip New York Hotel!”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Stayed at the Siam@Siam in Feb 2010 and first impressions were WOW! Its like a hip trendy New York hotel.
The minute you arrive at the hotel, you are taken aback by the wonderful decor, house music, friendly staff and fantastic ambience of the whole hotel.

We had a standard room on the 16th floor with lovely city views. Buffet breakfast served daily was of a 5 star hotel standard catering for both Western and Eastern tastes (although I wasnt feeling adventurous enough to try the steamed salmon steaks and tofu and veg noodles for breakfast first thing in the morning).

You must make your way up the the rooftop bar for a cocktail. An amazing experience at sunset. The restaurant up there isnt the best though. We had the 'StoneGrill' where they bring out a heated stone slab and you cook your own meat however, since we were so high up, the winds constantly cooled my stone down and it took a while for dinner to cook!

The hotel has many warning pamphlets in each room about theives, con men and shonky tuk tuk drivers. Be sure to read these carefully and keep your bag tight close to your body when travelling in Tuk Tuks. Also, a good rule of thumb is generally, dont talk to locals if they ask you where your from. its more than likely they are the con men the hotel's referring too and they usually want to take you to jewellery shops to get some sort of commission.

The majority of the local Bangkok Thai people are good people. Very friendly and generally shy so if someone starts asking you questions, like where your from or where your going, good chance that there is an alternative motive.

Back to the hotel though - The hotel provides 3 computer terminals at reception with complimentary internet.
Location wise, very conveniently located within a 10 minute walking distance to the MBK (huge shopping mall with over 2000 shops). Tuk Tuks across Bangkok (to most temples or the Grand Palace) shouldnt cost any more than 100B (about $4 aussiedollars). Just be sure to negotiate the price before you get in the car to avoid problems.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaSSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    1,355
    395
    126
    78
See reviews for
508
1,869
159
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Extremely helpful staff. Comfortable accommodation and good facilities. Superb choice of breakfast foods. Definitely recommend a massage at the day spa. Convenient location close to the huge MBK Shopping Centre and the sky train station. Had our evening meals at the International Food Hall in MBK. Lots of choice and a fraction of the cost. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Very nice hotel but I figure it is oeverrated. No complaints otherway.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenbdckr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleet
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Loved this hotel. Great styling, great location near MBK shopping centre and skyrail, superb service as is typically is good asian hotels.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My fiance and I stayed at the Siam@Siam hotel in February 2010. We had done considerable research on hotels in Bangkok and were looking for something boutique and different from the big hotel/boring room of the traditional chains. The hotel design was better than expected, and was reminiscent of perhaps a NYC hotel/bar. Our major gripe with the hotel was their poor service and cheapness.

ROOM/BATHROOM: We stayed in the "executive business" room which had more than enough space. The room was on the corner of the building and had a nice view of the city from two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows. The beds consisted of two full/queen beds pushed together-- more than ample room. The bathroom had a nice rain shower, but the other tub/shower appeared old and was pretty generic. The room design was interesting -- burnt oranges, reds, yellows, with gray walls painted to resemble rusted steel.

REST OF HOTEL: The rest of the hotel had a similar design as well, and was upscale and funky. The gym was sufficient, and contained free weights to about 60lb, a smith machine, a lat pulldown machine/row, and some treadmills and elipticals, and I think some leg machines. We did not see or use the hotel spa, as the prices appeared higher than the rest of the massages in the city. The outdoor infinity pool (11th floor?) had a nice view of the city and was not too crowded. As a plus, there were no screaming children. The pool however was not heated and was a bit chilly; maybe it's warmer in the hotter seasons. The hotel restaurant (Party House One) was open pretty late for snacks and wasn't bad at all; it also had a nice ambience. The room service was good. For the executive suite rooms, there's a nice lounge on the 22nd floor which has a balcony, an OK breakfast (think tapas, not breakfast), and some similar style Thai snacks at dinnertime. The hotel is located a block from the National Stadium sky train stop and a few blocks from the Siam sky train stop. It was very convenient to move around on the sky train and metro. Many taxi drivers did not know the location of the hotel; our map makes it look like the hotel is at Siam Square (very populated), but it is actually on the other side of the National Stadium stop, so I would recommend telling taxi drivers to go to that stop instead if they are unfamiliar with the hotel's location.

SERVICE: We awoke two nights with a few insect bites we assumed originated from an errant mosquito in the room. By the third morning, we realized that there was an infestation of approximately 50 small black ants in the bed, which had bitten my fiance up pretty badly. We called the management (the English was a challenge by the way) who came up. They moved us to the same room on a different floor. They offered to comp us a Valentine's dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, which was a grand total of approximately $60. Considering that the bug bites covered her entire arms and legs, we thought the offer was pretty cheap. As we had other dinner plans, we inquired as to other options to compensate us for the mishap, such as a free night's stay. The manager laughed and refused to budge. At our request, the manager agreed to comp some room service for two nights (like $40). That same evening, we came back to our room to find an item in the room which was not ours. When I called to the front desk to inquire why someone had entered our room, I had some difficulty explaining the issue to the staff, who did not speak very much English. They did not seem appropriately concerned that people had accessed our room. The next day they informed us that as part of the turndown service, the housekeeping staff had moved the item from our previous room, thinking we had left it behind. Upon checkout, after my fiance had paid the bill, a staff member had come to inform us that we owed money for a bottle of water from the minibar which hadn't been included on our bill. My fiance presented her swollen, red arms from the ant bites, and asked that the charge be waived; the staff complied.

In sum, if you are looking to "splurge" in Thailand (compared to other hotels there, not compared to elsewhere), and are interested in a different looking hotel, this is a nice place. Were it not for our unfortunate (and presumably rare) pest occurrence, we would have enjoyed our stay much more and would have had a favorable time. While the staff was apologetic for the incident, we felt they made a poor attempt to reconcile for the incident which has since negatively impacted the rest of our trip due to persistent itchiness and infection of the bites.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amerciangeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth western australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed at siam@siam for 5 nights in mid January 2010

Internal design and furnishngs are decidedly different. very modern "funky" feel to the building.

we were upgraded to executive floor, which also included complimentry drinks and nibbles each evening in the executive lounge from 6 pm to 8pm. Magnificent views of Bangkok from the executive lounge.

Breadfast was included and consisted of the usual offers.

Location is excellent, being only 300m from the National Stadium stop for the Skyrail.
400m from the large MBK store and one stop by skytrain to other large shopping centres.

didnt eat at the restaraunts, which seemed quite expensive, though undoubetdly good food and good views.

rooms were fine, though my teenage daughters scored a corner room which appeared to be larger than the parents room. no complaints about housekeeping or reception.

pool was fairly small and in full view of guests

no reason not to stay here again

free use of internett in the executive lounge and reception area is appreciated.

would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Siam@Siam was our first stop in Bangkok and was an amazing start to our trip around Thailand unfortunately no other hotel seemed to compare. Great service, friendly, super helpful staff and immaculate rooms. We stayed here on two separate occasions and both of the rooms very a really good size, plenty of room. The breakfast on the bottom floor is amazing. Such a great selection much better than the breakfast on the executive floor. The views were nice in parts of the hotel and it was a lovely sanctuary to return to after a busy day in Bangkok. The Spa was divine. So relaxing. The fresh fruit and delicious unusual tea was a lovely touch. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It will be the first place on my list when I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysibbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#97 of 866 in Bangkok
2,118 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#74 of 866 in Bangkok
1,195 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 866 in Bangkok
5,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok

Property: Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Address: 865 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#114 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#143 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#153 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 221 artistically appointed rooms featuring high ceilings, large clear bay windows and all modern amenities. The rooms' striking, dramatic interior designs reflect the artistic creativity that brings a new dimension to stylish easy-living - a truly refreshing approach to the way you see, feel and experience your environment. The hotel offers the very best in the way of creative artistry, combined with luxury and the highest standards of comfortable living. Accommodation units breathe sophisticated style and class. Facilities on offer to guests at this fully air-conditioned establishment include a hotel lobby with 24-hour reception and check-out service, lift access, currency exchange facilities, a newspaper stand and a hotel safe. Internet access is available, and additional facilities include a bar, pub, café and a restaurant. Room and laundry services are provided (fees apply to laundry services), and guests arriving by car can leave their vehicles in the nearby car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam@Siam Design Hotel And Spa
Siam Design Hotel
Siam Design Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing