We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's HUGE, Safe, Sleek & Modern & Quirky”
Review of Urbana Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Urbana Sathorn
Ranked #342 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed for 5 days. Like some other reviews, this is more of an apartment rather than a hotel, so I'm reviewing based from that point of view. I stayed in a one-room unit w separate kitchen and living/dining/study area, and had a 6-year old w me. This was recommended to me by a local, and I'm very happy for the great recommendation i got.

Overall: Love the modern, sleek, quirky design. Well-equipped, good condition rooms. Safe. Lots of Space - separate bedroom and living/dining and kitchen. Worked for me!

Located on the same street as embassies and luxury hotels like the Banyan Tree and the Suthothai, we felt safe walking 700m to the nearest train station - plenty of security guards along the way!

If you plan to be out the whole day in bangkok and you have young children, you might want to consider what are the food options nearer to where you stay (as i did). In this aspect, Urbana's location turned out to be a great choice.

There are convenience stores and decent restaurants closeby- Secret Garden and the museum restaurant - they are not cheap but the food (and range) is good. If you have children - there's a pizza place within walking distance of Urbana. Cheaper alternatives (street food) are further - about 10mins walk on Silom across the road.

What i loved most about the restaurant / bar is that we met the owner there twice - i like hands-on bosses who take care of their businesses - it shows in the way the place is run. If you don't mind the heat, the outdoor seating area for the restaurant is lovely at night. satisfied with the meal (burger and the rice options we had were good) and drinks we had there. prices aren't cheap compared to elsewhere in this city but neither are they unreasonably high. i'm happy to fork out a bit more for the convenience + ambience + comfort it offered me.

Service was good. Friendly - from the frontdesk to the housekeepers to the doorman. No issues getting a cab from the hotel but not all cab drivers know Urbana but most will know Banyan tree - guide them a bit from there (less than 400m away). For breakfast - the fruit and veggies served were fresh on all days we were there - that is an indication of good standards for me. it is true that the breakfast place isn't big but we never had trouble finding a table during our time there.

The only thing that is not so good for me was the wifi service in the unit was s...l...o...w... But this is fairly common for most of Bangkok. In the end, it was cheaper and faster for me to just blue-tooth my laptop using a pre-pay unlimited sim card in my mobile.

There's a wading pool for children and a separate jacuzzi for adults. Nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leavethewritingtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear leavethewritingtome

Thank you for choosing our property as a place to stay during your trip in Bangkok. It was extremely fun reading your review as you gave us the specifics of your experience.

It was good to know that we were able to render a great service to you and your family. Our rooms are in fact an apartment style since we cater mostly to travelers who expect comfort and space. We also value convenience for all types of travelers since they travel from different parts of the world. Our location is also comfortable since it’s near the train and the main road. If ever you come to visit us again, you can ask our front desk staffs for restaurant recommendation, famous sites and other places to see within the area.

We will be passing along your compliments to the restaurant team and to the owner as well. We will also be sharing it all the hotel staff for them to have an inspiration in doing their tasks more satisfactory. On the other hand, we do apologize for the slow speed with the internet. The management team was already informed with this problem and an immediate action will be done.

We hope that we were able to see you again in the future and render better service for you and your family. Thank you for your time in posting such a great experience and we are looking forward for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Urbana Sathorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

we were pleasantly surprised that we got upgraded to a better unit as there were many cancellations because of the disturbances around Bangkok during that time. That didn't stop us from enjoying our stay at Urbana. It was a nice 2 bedroom unit with a complete kitchen and washing machine :) Overall the whole family liked the place and will most probably come back soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear mat_asri

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review. We are delighted to read compliments from you.

It was good to know that the political problems that happened in Bangkok didn’t stop you from enjoying what the city offers and also in our property. Our rooms are specially designed for comfort, space and convenience and we are very glad that we were able to exceed your expectations with our service.

Thank you for recommending us and we truly appreciate your time in posting your reviews. We’ll be more than glad to welcome you again in our property with the service that you expect us to give.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Terrible service from the check in process, I found the lady extremely rude and impatient. Around 6pm the energy in the room died I had to go out to Starbucks to get internet to finish business. When I come back to the hotel my room was filled of cigarette smell coming from the HVAC. 2504. I called down and the same lady that checked me in picked up the phone and told me that she would send security. Security didn't show up as I was waiting outside and the lady called and told she sent someone. I called back and she argued that someone came by the hallway. I was waiting outside the entire time. Moments later 3 engineers showed up trying to fix the problem. She said there is no compensation for this and offered me a room move on the 8 floor. She said it's an upgrade. I don't care about the upgrade it's now 10:00pm. I am only staying one night and going to sleep. Horrible service. Bad attitude. I asked to speak to the manager and she said she was. It was the lady sitting on the left computer at lobby entrance. March 19. Room 2504. I am in the same industry and this kind of service in a 5 star establishment is unacceptable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank WeilunGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear WeilunGrace

Firstly, we still want to thank you for staying with us. On the other hand, we apologize for the problems that you’ve encountered.

We’ve investigated the situation occurred and the staffs concerned. We’ve been informed that the you’ve requested for a non-smoking room however, due to the unavailability of these rooms, we were unable to provide it for you. We understand that you weren’t satisfied with the measure that they did. The management has taken action with all the departments concerned to prevent this incident to happen again.

We sincerely apologize if we had made your stay unpleasant. We do hope that you can give us another chance to render better service and regain your trust. Please accept our utmost apologies.

Sincerely,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here in november 2013 excellent location walking distance to night life only 10 min walk to patpong night market, excellant breakfast in the bar downstairs, rooms very spacious and clean with washing machine and tumble dryer, few problems with hot water but fixed quickly, pool excellant but not many sunbeds had to sit on chairs one day. My only suggestion would be more sunbeds other than that all was excellent, in fact that good we have booked to go back and we arrive there on the 26th march 2014 for 11 nights

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neiltfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear neiltfs

Thank you taking time in posting your reviews. We are glad that you had chosen our property as a place to stay in Bangkok and gaining a wonderful experience.

Our location makes it very convenient to our guest to visit famous places here in Bangkok particularly if you enjoy night life. It was a great pleasure for us to be able to give you the service that you expected upon arriving. We took note of the few problems that you encountered and will do immediate action. The management has also been informed with the sunbeds in the pool area since many guests request for more. We will be placing this sunbeds as soon as possible for guest’s enjoyment.

Your review during your stay is an encouragement for us to give better service to you and to our future guests. We are hoping to see you again when you get to visit Bangkok.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really big and the breakfast is excellent. If your room is high floor you also get great view.The room had mold surrounding the bathtub. My living room air conditioning unit had problems with the control buttons (they didn't work). The beautiful pool on the seventh could not accommodate many guests and there was no towel service !!!!! Also there was no free wifi, a minus for a 5* accommodation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JQcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear JQcreations

Thank you for staying with us during your trip in Bangkok. We apologize if there were some inconveniences that happened during your stay with us.

Firstly, we are glad that you appreciated our spacious room, breakfast and swimming pool. We are truly sorry for the problems that you encountered. We have informed the housekeeping and engineering department to double check all room’s condition to reach the standard quality. We also apologize for the wifi system that we have however, we already informed the management about this concern.

Overall, thank you for taking time in posting your reviews. Thank you for informing us about your experience so that we could improve our service. We hope to see you in the future and we’ll be more than glad to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Often overlooked as a Bangkok hotel destination in favour of the more well known brands (the Marriott is around the corner). Walking distance to Silom and "tourist" areas. Quiet rooms, nice pool and gym area. Small but adequate restaurant and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Rooms differ in specifications. Ask to see the room before moving in.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Graham B

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are thrilled to hear about your wonderful experience. Compliments like yours is an encouragement for our staff to maintain the quality service.

We are very much delighted that you enjoyed everything in our property. It is always our aim to provide memorable experiences to our guests during their stay. It was a pleasure for us to read your comments and had known that you had a great stay. Rest assured that we’ll further improve our service and rooms in order to give better service to all the guests.

Thank you for taking time in posting and we hope to see you again in our property.

Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Price/value ratio is indeed pretty good, just as the location. However, in our point of view, this isn't a five star hotel. The rooms look a bit like apartment rooms, which is good as they are quite big. However, the usual 5 star hotel facilities are missing (in-house spa, concierge, bathroom utilities, own restaurants...). On the other side, the breakfast (attached restaurant, not from the hotel though) was great and for a trip for mid 20 year old friends it was great, but I can imagine that you get better stuff in Bangkok.

One very bad incident: We asked if there was a Spa in the hotel and got told no by the reception. They then asked us if we want to order a massage from outside (even got asked if thai or oil massage), which we requested. Surprisingly, 3 professionals showed up in front of our door 30mins later, which is DEFINITELY not very professional for a hotel if you ask me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrbanaHospitality, Manager at Urbana Sathorn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Andre B

Thank you choosing to stay with us during your trip to Bangkok. We hope that aside from the incident that had happened, you find our hotel as great place to stay.

Our rooms are indeed an apartment-style since we aim to provide a home-away-from-home feeling to our guests. It is also very comfortable especially for tourists to have a complete range of in-room facilities. Nevertheless, we apologize for the disappointing incident that had happened. For clarification, we do have an in-room spa service that opens from 10am to 10pm with last order at 9pm. To top it all, we sincerely apologize if this gave an unprofessional impression to you.

We hope that we could be able to render better service for you in the future. We would be more than glad to serve you again.

Kind regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Silom
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#113 of 880 in Bangkok
814 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#144 of 880 in Bangkok
714 reviews
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#186 of 880 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbana Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbana Sathorn

Address: 55 South Sathorn Road | Tungmahamek, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#114 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#215 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £44 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Urbana Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urbana Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Urbana Sathorn Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Bangkok
Fraser Hotel Urbana Sathorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing