We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing room, unfriendly staff, not cheap enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Siam Guest House I
Ranked #157 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depressing room, unfriendly staff, not cheap enough!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in New Siam at the start of July 2013 in a single room with a fan. The rooms are very basic with a mirror, a drawer, 1 plug socket and 2 chairs. The fan did not seem to have much effect in the room, as it was like a sauna most of the time. The bed is ok, but make sure you take a sleeping bag liner/ sheet as there is no bedding. You also have shared showers and ONE toilet for the whole floor which I do not think is adequate!

I would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. The staff are very unfriendly, and the heat in the room is unbearable (I think this may be due to the fact that all single rooms are on the top floor). The only redeeming quality for this place is that it is fairly cheap (280 Baht per night, around £6) but you have to pay 30 Baht per night on top of that and a 200 Baht deposit for room key).

This is in a good location though- near to Koh San Road but much more quiet, and close to the River taxis, therefore if there are 2 of you I would go to BB round the corner (not the one on the same street)- it is 500 Baht for a gorgeous double room with Air con, private bathroom, everything! If you are on your own I would go to Wild Orchid just across the road, I haven't stayed in the single room but I stayed in a double room which was fine (it was fully booked which is why I stayed here!).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    129
    83
    24
    16
See reviews for
12
111
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

New Siam guest house is really clean and good value for money in Bangkok. The rooms are simple, a bed, towel, chair! A fan and the bathrooms are shared but it is very cheap for central Bangkok. It is in a good area, near koh San road but not too close and you can get buses to Chinatown and the train station from right outside. Also the ferry station is just accross the street.

The staff aren't friendly but they are efficient. The wifi costs per day but the connection is very good. We have visited Bangkok many times and have stayed here most times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

New Siam I has a perfect location close enough to Koh San rd, but not so close that you are kept awake till 4am by blaring music. At 260B for a single room (at time of writing) this is also one of the cheapest places in the area, hence the popularity. Admittedly you could probably find coffins bigger than some of the rooms, but they are all cleaned regularly and the overall service in the place is faultless. There is a restaurant downstairs serving great food and an adjoining travel company with first-class service, but somewhat inflated prices. Overall this is surely one of the better backpacking/budget options in Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The room is very basic, but clean. Good matrasses, quiet room. Good food. Just 5 minutes walk to Khao San Road, express boat 13, the river. Restaurants, massage, shops, little park around the corner. Good hotel for starting your trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AxiAxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Don't expect too much, the place is 1 star tops :) But then, it's very cheap and definetely a perfect place for budget travellers. I especially liked the location of the hostel, very close to Khao San Road, in a small street. It's not very noisy and crowded there, but still a few steps from "the place to be" for backpackers in Bangkok. The rooms are quite okay (we had a fan-room), the showers a bit dirty. The atmosphere was very very nice and friendly. We recommend it to all friends going to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Fan-room is enough, no need for A/C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onefineday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have stayed in New Siam I numerous times and can say with great conviction that it is by far and away the best budget option in Khao San.

I have stayed in the fan room which is as cheap as you will find for a room that's liveable in at around 350THB in the peak season. It is basic with a very comfortable and sizeable king size bed, good storeage area and a ceiling fan. It can get hot in here and the shared bathrooms can be hit and miss due to the sheer volume of guests and the unpredictability this can cause. Generally the bathrooms are clean but you have to bring your own toilet paper... Nonetheless, you're unlikely to find anywhere else at this price in Bangkok that is anywhere near this kind of luxury.

Now I always stay in the air con with bathroom option, however. This is a steal at 620THB in the peak season and currently 540THB (it will go down further as the rainy season continues). This is by far and away the best value for money you'll find in Bangkok. An extremely comfortable bed, good storage space, a sofa and stool with desk, effective air con and a very clean bathroom with hot water. The rooms are not the kind of luxury you'd find at the Hilton, but for this price in Bangkok it's shockingly excellent.

Highly recommended - there is a real charm to the aircon rooms. Give it a try!

Room Tip: You should ask to use the lift (for goods/baggage only!) if you have heavy luggage. If you book ahea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed in the standard double with a/c for 620b per night, room 412. Good value for money as very close to khao San but away from the night noise & tuk tuk drivers Reasonable sized rooms with large clean beds. The bathroom was clean and in working order. The a/c could get quite cold at night and only had 1 setting, however there was also a fan on the roof. Didn't eat at the restaurant but gecko bar on the alley corner did a good cheap breakfast. Friendly staff. Wifi for 55b for 2 days, which worked well. Room also had mirror, dresser and window seat to put your stuff. Also good size rail to hang 2 towels to dry inside. All up would happily stay again. One downside, no elevator.

Room Tip: Room 412 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#329 of 858 in Bangkok
441 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#547 of 858 in Bangkok
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#33 of 643 in Bangkok
813 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#48 of 643 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House I

Property: New Siam Guest House I
Address: 21 Soi Chanasongkram, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Siam Guest House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House i Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing