We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Siam Guest House I
Ranked #154 of 753 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here before heading off to the Islands, booked a double with bathroom and AC. It was noisy from the hustle and bustle outside which I expected and my room was just next to the lane so continual music from the bar accross the way. The room was basic but linen was clean. Didnt fancy the communal shower/bathroom as it is located on each floor by the stairwell so you need to position the shower curtain well! The guest house location is handy enough and there is plenty about. The Cafe downstairs has plenty to choose from and luggage storage was handy on the departure when had to check out and our train was late in the evening. The train ticket arrived a couple of days before we did and reception held onto them for us no bother. If your looking for a place to crash then its fine, dont expect any luxuries as thats in some of the other New Siam's by the Riverside.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aly_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Cheap (excessively hot) rooms, with quite possibly the most unfriendly staff ever. More rules than a catholic boarding school, the staff will quickly jump on you for anything not to their liking. Never wrote a bad review in my life, but felt the need to do so here. I highly suggest paying out the extra 300 baht for a nicer room that wasn't previously a sauna. Best bet is to go across the road to wild orchid and stay in a place that has a bit more friendliness to it, and avoid the black hole of deprivation this place is.

Room Tip: Kill yourself, and sleep on the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have walked past this place many times during the few trips we’ve made to Bangkok over the last couple of years but the last time around we decided to actually check it out and were very surprised.
For around 620b we got a decent sized double room with ensuite bathroom, air-con, fan, TV and great wi-fi (which is due to the fact that they have 2 routers on every floor).
The food is also surprisingly good, especially the Submarine sandwich and we ended up eating here quite often.
They offer a cheap laundry service and have a tour desk and also offer use of a swimming pool at a sister hotel for around 60b but I think it may be quite a bit away so its unlikely you’d use this.
It is also in a great location at the far end of Soi Rambutri so you don’t get any of the noise from Khao San Road or even late night bars on the road like Sawasdee.
We will definitely be staying here again if we return to Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in New Siam at the start of July 2013 in a single room with a fan. The rooms are very basic with a mirror, a drawer, 1 plug socket and 2 chairs. The fan did not seem to have much effect in the room, as it was like a sauna most of the time. The bed is ok, but make sure you take a sleeping bag liner/ sheet as there is no bedding. You also have shared showers and ONE toilet for the whole floor which I do not think is adequate!

I would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone. The staff are very unfriendly, and the heat in the room is unbearable (I think this may be due to the fact that all single rooms are on the top floor). The only redeeming quality for this place is that it is fairly cheap (280 Baht per night, around £6) but you have to pay 30 Baht per night on top of that and a 200 Baht deposit for room key).

This is in a good location though- near to Koh San Road but much more quiet, and close to the River taxis, therefore if there are 2 of you I would go to BB round the corner (not the one on the same street)- it is 500 Baht for a gorgeous double room with Air con, private bathroom, everything! If you are on your own I would go to Wild Orchid just across the road, I haven't stayed in the single room but I stayed in a double room which was fine (it was fully booked which is why I stayed here!).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

New Siam guest house is really clean and good value for money in Bangkok. The rooms are simple, a bed, towel, chair! A fan and the bathrooms are shared but it is very cheap for central Bangkok. It is in a good area, near koh San road but not too close and you can get buses to Chinatown and the train station from right outside. Also the ferry station is just accross the street.

The staff aren't friendly but they are efficient. The wifi costs per day but the connection is very good. We have visited Bangkok many times and have stayed here most times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

New Siam I has a perfect location close enough to Koh San rd, but not so close that you are kept awake till 4am by blaring music. At 260B for a single room (at time of writing) this is also one of the cheapest places in the area, hence the popularity. Admittedly you could probably find coffins bigger than some of the rooms, but they are all cleaned regularly and the overall service in the place is faultless. There is a restaurant downstairs serving great food and an adjoining travel company with first-class service, but somewhat inflated prices. Overall this is surely one of the better backpacking/budget options in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The room is very basic, but clean. Good matrasses, quiet room. Good food. Just 5 minutes walk to Khao San Road, express boat 13, the river. Restaurants, massage, shops, little park around the corner. Good hotel for starting your trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AxiAxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House III (Super)
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#371 of 893 in Bangkok
459 reviews
Bluefin Guesthouse
#164 of 753 in Bangkok
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#33 of 753 in Bangkok
848 reviews
Banglamphu
Green House BKK
Green House BKK
#61 of 753 in Bangkok
578 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu House
Lamphu House
#20 of 753 in Bangkok
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Siam Guest House I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Siam Guest House I

Address: 21 Soi Chanasongkram, Phra-A-Thit Road | Chanasongkram, Phanakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 753 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £7 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Siam Guest House I 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your New Siam Guest House I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Siam Guest House i Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing