We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soi 1 Guesthouse

Soi 1 Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soi 1 Guesthouse
Ranked #655 of 1,128 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Srinagar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A friendly and well run hostel, ideally located and with all the required facilities for any traveller and visitor to Bangkok. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving advice to newcomers to Bangkok and Thailand on the do's and don'ts, where to go and what to see. I visited Bangkok for a weekend on my own and by the end had made lots of new friends and contacts from all around the world. Highly recommended and a must stay for those on a budget in Bangkok

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
2
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed here two times already, one of them being during crazy New Year's Eve in Bangkok. I definetely would recommend coming here, especially if you're a solo traveller.

This is not a fancy building or a boutique hostel, but it has got you covered on everthing you need - and what really matters - good beds and blankets, A/C,wi-fi and hot shower work like a charm. That alone, combined with place's great location in the city - right in the spot of the Sukhumvit action and mercifully away from that frutiy Khao San Rd types - would be enough to make this a great haven for the true backpacker.

However, Soi1's got more: ther is no place in Bangkok where you will find more information on how to bring the most juice out of our stay here. The owner, David, is an incredibly friendly American guy who's moved here years ago and apparently gets great satisfaction and karma from helping you have a nice stay. The very walls of the hostel are packed full of information on everything from Cambodian visa scams to how to naviagte the city's bus/boat/skytrain system. Really, just looking around is sure to educate you and you'll most likely find out some nice experience to have (feeding tigers at a Buddhist temple, anyone?). David and the staff are incredibly helpful and will go out of their way everytime to help you. During New Year's Eve he even personally guided us to a sample o the city's best nightlife.

The place is very clean, there is a laundry service, and you'll certainly meet crazy types inthe communal area. The hostel is at a walking distance from Phloen Chit's skytrain station, which is greatly convenient, and also near major bus and boat venues. To round things up, there are no less than 3 7-elevens on the same block, and food vendors stack up across the street every morning selling delicous food.

All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorge_Kost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

i first went here to check out the place before flying to krabi & they were nice enough to let me use the wifi without booking a room so i went back a few days later when i got back to bangkok.
perfect for what i wanted, to be away from khaosan & its right in the centre of Bangkok beside the skytrain so i never got stuck in traffic. for this price its the best you will find. staff really laid back & friendly, very helpful. free wifi & they were nice enough to print my boarding pass for me for half the price i would have paid elsewhere. great aircon & fans in the rooms keeps you nice & cool.
if i was going back to bangkok i would stay here, its 150m from the BTS sky train(phloem chit station) which connects with phayathai station for the express train to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durianseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Soi 1 Guesthouse, Sukhumvit puts you right in the centre of the action in Bangkok and serves as a useful hub for young travellers entering or leaving Thailand for the first time. The owner Dave is Western, which helps settle you in, and is a goldmine of information about the local area but also gives handy tips about Thai culture and your onward travel, giving excellent advice on how to travel cheaply and efficiently and avoid the fortunately few scams and con artists you may find lurking around the next corner ready to pounce on fresh, jet lagged faces. Dave also runs legendary pub crawls of the local area showing you some of the "sights" of Bangkok that make this area infamous in a non seedy fashion, both women and men are welcome to join him for fun and laughter, safe in the knowledge that you'll not be ripped off or find yourself in a difficult situation but instead be able to let your hair down without feeling the need to constantly look over your shoulder.

The Sukhumvit area of Bangkok is in stark contrast to the old town and backpacker ghetto of the now overcooked and overpriced Khao San Road but well placed to access these areas. And whilst Soi 1 Guesthouse is in a touristy area, it's very much East meets West which helps you to slowly acclimatise into east Asian life. There's excellent cheap real Thai street found a footstep from the front door and its also close to the main hospital of Bangkok and international embassies/consulates. It's also a short walk from Ploen Chit BTS station, so all in all ideally placed.

The laid back guest house is as you'd expect and consists of dorm rooms with a couple of private rooms for those on a bigger budget who seek privacy. All have the necessary air-con to help you escape the oppressive Bangkok heat. The common area hosts a reception, bar, pool table, free wifi, tv and a good vibe where international travellers meet for the first time, swap stories and form lasting friendships. It's ideal for solo travellers and those in small groups. The emphasis here is on relaxation. "We don't do stress" says a large sign on the wall and after a couple of hours here and one amazingly cheap Thai massage to get over the long journey it took you to get here, you'll understand why.

Don't make the mistake of thinking this is a hotel. It's not. While there's regular laundry service and the place is kept impeccably clean, don't expect breakfast in bed, room service and en suite facilities (except for the private rooms of course). This is a place to get your head down, meet some interesting people on the same wavelength as you and gather all the advice you need before you head off in search of your own little corner of paradise. There's no curfew, so you can come and go as you please. Reception is manned 24/7. Oh and did I mention the bar serving the cheapest beer in the area? The amount of return travellers to Soi 1 speaks volumes for the popularity, location and cheap prices offered by this guesthouse. It's my regular haunt in Bangkok for all the reasons stated above but also because of the fantastic location and being a stones throw from real Thai street food and public transport links. Soi 1 Guest House, Sukhumvit deserves its reputation as one of the friendliest, cheapest and fun travellers hangout in Bangkok.

Room Tip: A smaller dorm can be less noisy as travellers come and go throughout the day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vern L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Pros: 1. Very well located, 2. Very helpful and knowledgeable owner, 3. Lots of notes to help you go around, 4. They arranged our bus to get to Siem Reap, which was comfortable.

Cons: 1. Bed was uncomfortable, 2. AC barely worked.

All in all, a mixed stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddhartha_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

After being let down by another hostel, this place came up as a perfect location for those who aren't tourists.. I needed to be amongst people that were treading the same path as me, and this place nailed it.

On entering - because the owner is Australian - there are notes everywhere giving amazing tips and advice, not just for the local area, but for a lot of places in Thailand. He even made an appearance later in the day and I was given a chance to pick his brains on some info I didn't see posted on the walls.

The dorm that I luckily turned up and was able to secure myself a bed in, was orderly, clean, and close to the shower/toilet (which - while it does have paper - has a funny note explaining about the bum hose.. I now use this religiously!) I shared with 7 others who were all easy going and shared great stories.

Location wise, it's extremely close to the BTS which was handy for me and my two heavy bags, it has a 7/11 directly below for your creature comforts, and a food seller permanently stationed.

It was a bit pricier than I think I should have paid, 400 Baht for a mixed dorm, but I was only staying one night so I allowed the 100 Baht more than I think should be charged.

I only have one criticism, the beer is quite expensive and you're not allowed to bring your own food or drink into the guest house, but as the owner states in his notes dotted around, there's no bar in the world that would let you bring your own.

There's a locker and a luggage storage, for free - so long as you have your own padlock or buy one from Soi 1 - be prepared to meet others from all over the world and chat life.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mglinearart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

After being diagnosed with Dengue fever from a recent trip to Cambodia, I decided to recover in Bangkok for 2 weeks. I did not hesitate to return to Soi 1 guesthouse where I had a pleasant stay before. Dengue is not contagious so I knew that I could recover in the dorm especially since I needed to take naps and it was peaceful throughout the day!! David, the owner was very supportive. He even recommended a great Doctor who has seen Dengue patients before. I received proper guidance from both as I enjoyed the comfort of a fine mattress along with TV and a WiFi connection for my laptop. Soi 1 guesthouse was truly a sanctuary in busy Bangkok where lots of energy is required. I felt welcome at all times and the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean at good prices and the place is near a BTS station. It's a great choice in an exciting area of the city especially for those who crave Bangkok nightlife. Check it out!! EM

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erast M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#135 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
Warm White Hostel
Warm White Hostel
#95 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#8 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#119 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Sukhumvit
Analog Hostel
Analog Hostel
#76 of 1,128 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soi 1 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soi 1 Guesthouse

Property: Soi 1 Guesthouse
Address: 220/7 Sukhumvit Soi 1, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #655 of 1,128 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Soi 1 guesthouse' is an Australian/American influenced, Thai owned 24 hour, guesthouse, and youth hostel, now being over-seen by our diligent, on-site English speaking owner, Nai. The Friendships made and the Adventures shared are what we are about. It's partly but, more than just the Parties, Game-room, Bar, Live Sports from Satellites, Free Wi-Fi, Free maps, Hi speed internet, Clean rooms, New linen and Mattresses Plush towels and Hot showers (did we mention that 'Nai' keeps the place clean enough to walk bare-foot in?) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing