We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solo - Soi1”
Review of Soi 1 Guesthouse

Soi 1 Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soi 1 Guesthouse
Ranked #691 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Solo - Soi1”
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Best hostel to stay at in Bangkok if you're a solo traveller.. they're incredibly helpful with getting to them, from them, going out, kept really clean, great location (not near Ko San Road but a meter cab is about 80 - 100 baht - fine if you're splitting with others).. during the day can take the river boat.. Will definitely be going back. definitely read their website before going...

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Solo traveler? No Ideal at all about Bangkok but how to spell it? Don't like being ripped off and abused...You'll like us!!
That is all.
Soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
2
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This place is incredible to discover Bangkok. Far from the historic center but close to the modern art of the city (and its different public transportation).
The owner is better than any travel guide and gives you accurate and first hand hints about the country. Moreover, its got several services really handy for backpackers: free wifi, laundry, free package storing !
At last, you met really crazy people there ! Just the best place to stay in Bangkok !

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank FelipeBk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
We are a Backpackers, A proper Hostel. Being long time travelers ourselves we know and appreciate what you need. and beyond what you need all the rest is just $moke and mirror$.
If you need a 'Boutique" place, go there.
If you want proper Hostel, come here.
"Seize the world before it seizes you!" that's our motto.
Enjoy!
Soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
316 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

I stayed at Soi 1 on my first trip to Thailand. I can't say the place was too terribly memorable but it definitely got the job done; very easy to get to via cab from the airport and close to the BTS.

I was very pleased with the management though; I awoke one night at 3 AM to find the drunk Australian kid above me puking onto my luggage. Needless to say I was displeased but upon informing the management they provided me with my own room for no extra cost and with basically no questions asked.

Also be aware the restaurant is apparently only open during the high season, and take the five minutes to walk to the main Sukhumvit area to grab a taxi; the guys who hang around out front are horrible and will gouge you like crazy.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riptor3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
LOL, I remember that night. Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi. Poor lad he was so embarrassed.
Sure mate we moved you easy and the others that were in the room , I was just lucky that we had other rooms open to move you to.
You took it well by the way..that's a story you'll have forever...
Another day in paradise!!
Thanks for your review
soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2009

I got into some strife outside of the Hostel, They went out of thier way to help me. I'm certainally glad they did.
A bed is a bed, This place is more.
JF

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soi1David, Owner at Soi 1 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
If you deep Google Soi1guesthouse and look at reviews you'll find a few that Call me a legend. Now I'm not completely comfortable about it as most legends are dead and hopefully I have a bit of time to go yet. But this particular fellow DID get into some heavy trouble that saw him in a Bangkok jail to which I was summoned. long story short...After negotiating a fine I finally got him home. There's not much worse than being in a Bangkok jail house. Needless to say He loves me and to him I will always be legendary. LOL he had pink hair in his passport photo that should'a been my first warning..
I love my job......
soi1david
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

A friendly and well run hostel, ideally located and with all the required facilities for any traveller and visitor to Bangkok. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful, giving advice to newcomers to Bangkok and Thailand on the do's and don'ts, where to go and what to see. I visited Bangkok for a weekend on my own and by the end had made lots of new friends and contacts from all around the world. Highly recommended and a must stay for those on a budget in Bangkok!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mnicol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

was really nice to get to a nice clean freindly place after a long trip, would deffinitly go back.was in a great location, staff soo freindly and helpful , no negatives.would recomend to anyone who is planing on staying at a hostel in bangkok.

  • Liked — really great atmosphere
  • Disliked — really cant think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank asskicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Skyy Hotel
Skyy Hotel
#453 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Banglamphu
The Street Hostel
The Street Hostel
#161 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Sukhumvit
FIRST 1 Boutique Hostel at Sukhumvit 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
De Talak Hostel
De Talak Hostel
#134 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Siam Journey Guesthouse
#79 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soi 1 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soi 1 Guesthouse

Property: Soi 1 Guesthouse
Address: 220/7 Sukhumvit Soi 1, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Soi 1 guesthouse' is an Australian/American influenced, Thai owned 24 hour, guesthouse, and youth hostel, now being over-seen by our diligent, on-site English speaking owner, Nai. The Friendships made and the Adventures shared are what we are about. It's partly but, more than just the Parties, Game-room, Bar, Live Sports from Satellites, Free Wi-Fi, Free maps, Hi speed internet, Clean rooms, New linen and Mattresses Plush towels and Hot showers (did we mention that 'Nai' keeps the place clean enough to walk bare-foot in?) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing