We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #292 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The location is great for sightseeing, the rooms are immaculate, the staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very tasty and the bar fridge well stocked. The hotel is on the river with easy access to river taxis which also connect to the Sky train downstream. Taxis and tuk tuk's are also freely available nearby. Rarely do you find a gem like this in a big city. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlesvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    44
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
94
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The location is fantastic, this boutique hotel is tucked away at the end of a lane that fronts onto the Chao Praya river. You can walk to many of the historical sights: the Reclining Buddha (Wat Po) - 5 mins, The Grand Palace - 10 minutes, Tha Tien Pier - 10 minutes. From Tha Tien Pier you can catch the public ferry up and down the river for 17 baht, there are direct ferries across the Chao Praya to Wat Arun (Temple of the Dawn) and you can also hire a long boat for a private tour (1000 -1200 baht for an hour).
The owner Gin, manager Assnee and the staff are fantastic. They are all helpful, friendly and make you feel very welcome. We stayed for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are super clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. We had room 401 which is a good size and has great views of the Chao Praya. Breakfast is good, you can choose a English or Thai style breakfast which is accompanied with fresh fruit and is served in a pretty garden when the weather is fine or in the beautiful foyer on rainy days.
The surrounding streets and markets are very interesting and have an authentic feel ( the markets are not filled with the usual knock off watches and polo shirts). Don't miss the flower markets, they are a 5 minute walk. Apparently these are most lively at night and into the morning - we went about 11pm.
I highly recommend eating at:
The Deck: A little pricy but great food, make a booking as it can be very busy and the best tables come with views across the river to the Temple of the Dawn.
Coconut Palm: This is a great little cafe, delicious light meals and cheap. Highly recommend!
Both of these restaurants are a very short walk around the corner from Aurum.
We would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissap333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of the historical centre of Bangkok. We stayed only for a few days in Bangkok and were mainly interested in the historical part of the city. This hotel is only 5 minutes walking distance from the infamous Wat Po. The room was extremely neat. The view to the River is superb. The breakfast was decent. You can pick Thai breakfast or European breakfast. At the reception you are kindly inquired of your choice. As for the night life is concerned, I am not sure if this location is the one you should aim at though. In the room you will find a paper indicating 10-12 restaurants that the hotel advices, and whatever we tried we were extremely happy with! Moreover, there was another paper warning the foreigner guests towards the taxi or tuktuk drivers negotiating on a higher price. This hint was really helpful because otherwise we would have indeed paid more for the taxi stuff! I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to spend some time in the historic city centre!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CERROMERRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed at this boutique Hotel on our first visit to Bangkok. It was located within walking distance to all the major temples. Loved the personalized attention. The breakfasts were great, served outside next to hotel. Every morning when I returned from my run I received a latte just the way I liked it. Our room had a great view of the river. The spa that was recommeded picked us up and was totally awesome! Can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jads8627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stay for 4 nights and were very impressed with the accommodations and staff. We stayed in the river view room and were very happy with the view, bedding and general room decor. Really like the location in the old part of town but if you want the nightlife you will be traveling a distance to get there, everything is a cab ride in Bangkok anyways. Lots to see and do down in this area and lots of sidewalk stalls to browse through on your way to where you are going. Small boutique hotel is what we like to stay in and this fit the bill absolutely. Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gm_beachsuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I took my daughter to Bangkok to celebrate her pending graduation from medical school and spent weeks looking for a special place away from the craziness of Bangkok but near everything as well. My daughter's requirements were "street food, temples and shopping" and Arum's location made this all possible. It is near the famous sacred sites, a boat ride away from subway and sky train connections, and street food is everywhere. Jin arranged for a taxi to pick us up at 1:00 in the morning after 30 hours of flying, helped us with every map inquiry, showed us how to get to the largest outdoor market in the world by skytrain and made everything so easy in a truly chaotic city. I am returning in December with my son to celebrate his graduation, that is how special this place was to us. Sincerely, Susie Flores, San Antonio, Texas

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank susieflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

If you are interested in visiting the main temples and the Grand Palace in Bangkok this is the perfect place to stay. It is literally one block from the Reclining Buddha Temple and a few blocks from the ferry station to take river buses and taxis. It is right on the riverside and a beautiful view of the river. I'd suggest the river view rooms for the best view. Breakfast is included and starts at 7AM or a small packed breakfast can be accommodated if you leave earlier. Very nice staff. Overall a very nice experience and the view for New Year's fireworks was amazing. The rooftop is also available to sunbathe or just enjoy the riverside.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CALETARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#211 of 858 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#178 of 858 in Bangkok
295 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#41 of 643 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#42 of 1,192 in Bangkok
103 reviews
Sala Arun
#57 of 643 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#62 of 1,192 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Property: Aurum The River Place
Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing