We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #290 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Lives the thai hospitality so friendly so helpful. The rooms were clean and gOod size the price I paid was also good. The location ok but transport is so cheap so meant that I could go anywhere in BKK for so little. Thank you to all the staff for your great hospitality and help

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lebinchiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    44
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
94
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This has to be one of the best places I stayed. A great situation as you can walk to some of the major sites and easy walking to the pier to use the river buses. Nothing was to much for the staff, lots of help and advice given. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Thai breakfast! Hope to visit again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Great hotel in the perfect location. There are only a few hotels in this river-front area of Bangkok. I have been to all of them. They all have trade-offs, but you can't go wrong with this choice.

Positives:
1. This hotel is perfectly located on the river just a few blocks from Wat Pho, the amulet market, the Grand Palace, and the Pak Klong Market. (All are must-see places. Be sure to visit the Pak Klong Market at night when the fresh flowers are delivered. Amazing!)
2. The breakfast is really good, especially since you can sit by the river and enjoy the early morning breeze before it gets hotter later in the day.
3. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4. It is very quiet at night once the longtail river boats head home.

Negatives:
1. Very few of the rooms have a good view of the river. Most views are partially blocked or are a side view.
2. There are not too many choices for dinner in the area. Most of the nearby restaurants are only open for lunch. I recommend The Deck a few blocks upriver at the Arun Residence Hotel.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, tr
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

To my understanding the are only a handful of boutique hotels with views of the river and the old city of Bangkok: of these, the Ibrik is a bit on the small side for a family with kid and is on the other side of the river, so you have to take a ferry to visit around, and the Arun (which potentially has the best views) had only a room without views available, so the Aurum was our best option (and they were also the most prompt and attentive in their mail correspondence, I might add).

The hotel is perfectly clean and charming, thou maybe a tad less thai-chic than the competitors, as rooms are large but mostly modern in style. It seems indeed that only a handful of rooms have onubstructed river views, as other reviewers have pointed out: we were lucky enough to have room 412 which, large as it is, had sweeping views over the river and its traffic.
The room with views do not open on the most famous Wat Arun (the eponymous Arun Hotel does, while Ibrik opens on the Gran Palace), but on a minor but impressive temple ('Wat Kanlayannamit', my iPhone tells me it is called), and on a beautifully illuminated white stupa further ahead. You can see Wat Arun from the deserted terrace above (too hot to enjoy for much of the time), and from the cafe by the river where you have the nice breakfast arranged for you, and you can sip a coffee at sunset.
The hotel and the location are nice enough, but where Aurum excels is in service: the lady and gentleman go out of their way to provide information and suggestions, and to anticipate your needs: they do an excellent job at it.
The hotel is perfectly situated to visit the golden triangle of Wat Arun, Wat Pho and the Grand Palace, all within walking reach (but do not underestimate the distances: the Grand Palace is a brisk walk).
The real problem starts at dusk: there are actually no proper places to have dinner apart from the Arun Hotel (which indeed offers good food with great views), and to reach downtown (Siam Square, say) is not that simple: a long if pleasant boat trip down to the skytrain and a chilly ride on the train itself. Notice also that the ferry service stops pretty early at night: then you are left at the mercy of taxis and the traffic.
Aurum and its competitors seem all perfect choices to stay in Bangkok if you have only a few days and want to take all the sights at once. I can imagine that staying in the old city might get boring and unconfortable for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yudhisthira70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

A vey well run boutique hotel that makes you feel right at home. Jin, the manager and her team are very helpful and attentive to all our requests. The location is excellent for those who want to stay near the Grand Palace, wat Pho. It is also very near the pier where we can take the water taxi to avoid the traffic during peak hours.

In my next trip to Bangkok, I will definitely come back here again.

Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SerenaSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at the Aurum in Jan 2012. The owner's knowledge of the city and willingness to share is outstanding. Her english is terrific. The breakfast by the water is excellent --We recommend the Thai breakfast. When we complimented them on the quality of the soup -they brought another bowl. You are close to the Grand Palace, Wat Phro (book yourself a massage at their school when you first enter) and across the water from Wat Arun -3 "must sees". Water Taxis zip you around -- take one to the Mandarin Oriental for a sunset snack on the water and be close to the Skytrain. Otherwise like everyone else and for other sites --you have to fight the traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for an "01" room (201,301, etc)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 707TOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 perfect nights in February 2012 and found it to be an outstanding location for a few short days of sightseeing in the historic city.
Getting There and Away:
The car service, (1100 baht) booked through and payable on arrival at the hotel, was a godsend after 30 hours of travel to Bangkok. The car and driver were at the airport to meet us at 1:00 am because we didn't want to hassle with taxi negotiations when we were cognitively and physically spent. It worked flawlessly. Just exit from baggage claim and turn right, and then keep searching the several "pods" of people holding signs until you find the person with your name and the hotel.

For the return to the airport, the hotel can book you a metered taxi which also worked flawlessly and cost under 400 baht.

Hotel Room:

The hotel itself is in a perfect location for touring the palace, Wat Po, and Wat Aurun. One can easily walk to the palace and Wat Po, and the 6 baht r/t river shuttle to Wat Arun is just down the street. The hotel is is on the river at the end of a quiet little street which we found charming. You can buy your bottled water supply for 8 baht per bottle from the lovely family restaurant on the left as you exit the hotel and head to the street.

The room had excellent beds (quite comfy and not the hard-as-cement beds we found elsewhere during our 3 weeks of travel.) We had a partial river view, and the air con was great. The water in the shower fluctuated from too hot to too cold without the ability to really get a steady comfortable temp, but then, one simply took a quick, refreshing dip and all was well. We experienced this same minor issue in another hotel on our trip, so perhaps it is a Thai issue.
Food: The breakfast was superb and served in the extremely pleasant garden right on the river. I branched out and ordered the Thai breakfast on 2 of our 3 mornings, and it was absolutely delicious. The soup was marvelous, and the fried rice (with eggies and fruit) or the what I think was tofu were just wonderful.

I can't imagine a better location or more pleasant hotel for a quick trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: We had the partial river view which was wonderful. Viewing life on the river was fascinating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#221 of 862 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#175 of 862 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#35 of 650 in Bangkok
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sala Arun
#53 of 650 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#43 of 1,210 in Bangkok
110 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#68 of 1,210 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Property: Aurum The River Place
Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing