We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #277 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wonderful wonderful staff. Held room for a very lake check in. Breakfast was incredible outside by the river. Choice of Thai or American breakfast. Cooked fresh just for us. Very clean rooms. Helped us with maps and suggestions for what do do. Arranged airport taxi and called driver because my Epipen had fallen out on bed so we came back and got it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I came during low season and I think I was the only one there the first night. The staff were all extremely friendly and even greeted me by name. They continued to be helpful and friendly the entire visit. The hotel itself is so cute. From the lobby to the rooms, it was very nice. The complimentary breakfast was delicious as well. If you have a limited amount of time and are trying to only to wat pho, the grand palace, and wat aurum then this place is great. If you're trying to do anything else it's a bit out of the way, but the hotel can all taxis for you. There isn't anything to do late night in the area but we didn't really need that for our stay. If you're looking for more late night activities, I would stay somewhere more accessible. But, It was a great experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had just 24 hours in Bangkok on our way to Chiangmai, so we needed to be close to the places we wanted to visit. This hotel is ideal, and I just wish I had longer to spend there. They efficiently organised a taxi from airport, a boat trip and gave recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was lovely served in the outdoor coffee shop by the river. We lost a phone in Bangkok and the staff kindly called round police stations and bars before calling us back in our next hotel. Only downsides: river view rooms are lovely, but an extra bed for a child fills the room and is impractical, there is no bar- but thee is one just down the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I would certainly recommend this family run hotel based on the river, that is only a short cab drive out of Bangkok city. From the start they were super helpful, with finding us transport to the hotel and even providing us with a map to show the cab driver (in case we needed it) on how best to get there, they even stored some of our luggage (a massive bag with surfboards in it) for 4 weeks while we travelled to the South of Thailand.

The hotel is very clean, neat and spacious and even though its only 4 stories it has a lift (we noticed that in many hotels with more stories that there were no lifts). The floors are marble, and the ceilings are very high giving it a comfortable, European style. The lobby area leads into a communal lounge that has a few tables and chairs for reading or relaxing. A nice breakfast is served outside at the riverside, unless raining, in which case its inside.

Our room was a river view room, which had a 180 degree view of the river in front. The room although not massive, was big enough for us for the few days that we spent there. The bed was big, comfortable and had clean linen, the only thing that may concern some visitors is that the shower is in the bath, the boats in the river are failry loud in the morning and the small size of the TV, but we were so busy checking out the city that that we never even turned the TV on!

Location wise its great and there are several restaurants along the river that you can walk to within 5 minutes. Its walking distance to the Wat Pro, the Grand Palace and its close to several other temples. The Wat Arun is a five minute walk and then a ferry across the river away and if you want to get into the centre of town take a cab for 15 -20 minutes or catch the boat from the pier and then the sky train in to the CBD.

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Non river view rooms may be slightly more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We only had 2 nights in Bangkok at the start of a 2 week holiday. This could not have been better. Staff SO helpful. Location perfect - short walk to the major sights - Close to Pier for river taxis - some good places to eat (both local and slightly more western to keep everyone in the party happy) - 7 11 store round corner - and just great to be able to walk back to hotel to cool off, recharge the batteries - have a shower - quick snooze - during the day before heading to next thing as we got over jet lag and acclimatised. So much better than staying in one of the larger hotels that are further away. On final morning hotel staff arranged a long tail boat trip for us round the canals etc. last minute decision as we had to leave at 11.30. Asked reception at 8am where we could get a one hour boat trip from. They had a boat arrive at the hotel jetty at 9am for a two hour trip (much better - see so much more) - back at 11 am - walked off boat - quick shower and change - then left for the airport. Perfect! Hotel itself had everything we needed - clean - super rooms - nice breakfast in cafe at side of river. Seriously - was perfect start to a great holiday. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank MHA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

When choosing a hotel in a big city you also choose what slice of the city you will have a taste of. Aurum The Riverplace offers a slice of old Bangkok and river life.

I stayed here for three nights and I loved it to pieces. The staff does everything to make your stay an enjoyable one, giving practical advise or help with bookings - all with a big smile.

I had a river front room which I truly recommend if it fits with you budget. The view adds to the whole Asian river life feeling and ferries and boats cruising up and down stream make you forget that your share Bangkok with another 7 million.

The room was impeccable, robes and slippers ready to use. The decor is both elegant and fresh.

I took the local ferry to Taksin and the BTS from there to go shopping and see central parts of town. Easy, quick and a total relief not to be stuck in the horrible Bangkok traffic.

At Aurum's doorstep awaits two riverside restaurants with a tasty menu and a lovely view of the Wat Arun. Both The Deck at Arun and the restaurant at SalaArun are 5 minutes walk from the hotel and highly recommendable. On my last night I dined under a moonlit and starry sky in an Asian metropolis - what more can you ask for?

If you're not into night clubs and the high life I trust you will take a liking to my slice of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Aurum is in a peaceful spot on the river, right near the Grand Palace, etc. and an easy walk or tuk tuk ride to other old city sights. We had an amazing views of the river from the windows of our 4th floor room and the staff were extremely helpful with transportation, directions, restaurant recommendations, and reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KPC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#201 of 891 in Bangkok
335 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#160 of 891 in Bangkok
356 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Theatre Residence
#395 of 891 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Banglamphu
Siam Champs Elyseesi Unique Hotel
Ibrik Resort by the River
#309 of 891 in Bangkok
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £72 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing