We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #293 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location is nice, by the river, close to some nice restaurants. Room was really nice, very clean and good quality. The girl at reception was exceptional. Extremely polite, friendly and professional with a fantastic standard of English. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melricicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    44
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
92
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel barely has a river view. We were here at the end of Dec 2013 and a new building was constructed right in front of it.

The rooms were clean if you ignore some minor details (mold on lamp shades and stained grout in bathroom).

It was pretty noisy for us - we got woken up at 5am from construction noise.

The location is nice because it is close to the Grand Palace and more. The food in the area was pretty bad and it was very difficult to catch a cab out of the area (not to mention costly).

The staff was very nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is okay and the rooms were decent (if a bit noisy) but I wanted to touch on what happened when we checked out.

A couple days before check out, we asked the front desk to get us a taxi to the hotel the morning we were checking out. They arranged it for us, although at a price that was significantly higher than what it cost to get to the hotel from the airport. There are no cabs available in the area as early as we needed one (6 AM) so we really didn't have a choice.

The cab driver arrived 15 minutes early (5:45 AM). Now, if we had been leaving at 11 AM we probably would have been ready early, but because it was so early we were not ready to go yet. The lady working the front desk (a manager of some type) called the room to say the cab was waiting for us (15 minutes earlier than it was supposed to arrive). I said we would be down as soon as we could. Five minutes later (10 minutes earlier than the cab was supposed to arrive), front desk lady came and knocked at the front door. I opened the door and she was extremely agitated in telling us that the cab had been waiting. I told her we needed five minutes to get ready and tried to close the door (we were still throwing on clothes).

She actually stopped the door with her foot and came into the hotel room. Then I think she had the idea she would help us pack but it ended up with her just poking through our bags. Think about that for a second - imagine you were checking out of a Holiday Inn and and an irate employee started going through your bags because a cab had arrived early to take you to the airport. This would never happen in a professional establishment. She continually berated us to pack faster because the cab was waiting. A couple of times I actually had to stop packing stuff to get her out of our bags but she seemed to develop a sudden language barrier (or she simply didn't care) when I asked her to stop.

We were almost done packing when she suddenly became concerned that we had stolen one of the sandals they provide, so we had to spend several minutes crawling around on our hands and knees to find it (under the bed) before she would let us leave (at that point she was blocking the door). In the end she rushed us so much that we ended up leaving our power adapter there (a nice profit for the hotel I guess). This was a huge problem because the next place we were going was way out in the country with no place to buy another one. Both our cellphones died so we had no access to email or a telephone to make future travel arrangements or talk to family back home. This extremely negative experience really soured that portion of our trip.

Also, we got some pretty suspicious red bite marks on our lower legs while there, but I couldn't tell if it was ants (there were plenty), fleas, or bed bugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Manager at Aurum The River Place, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Monkey M,


Thank you very much for staying with Aurum The River Place and taking time to share us your valued feedback.

We deeply apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Your comment about service during check out time is certainly an unacceptable standard.

This is absolutely not the experience we aim to provide our guests and we are truly sorry that this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with a personalized service with polite manner and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We have shared your comment with team, especially the staff on duty that early morning ( definitely she is not the manager that you mentioned in the review ) to prevent the incident from happening again in the future .

We ensure you that we are continuously training staff for hotel procedures as well as guest service and manner.

Regarding hotel-airport transfer arrangement from hotel to airport, taxi arrangement is the hotel service for guest's convenience. We had arranged a fixed price for taxi at the price range of 450 - 500 Baht all included ( toll fees included ) as we believed that a taxi would definitely come for the requested time.

From our experience that we have called a taxi from taxi center, there is chance that they would ring us back to cancel the booking at almost last minute. This may cause unpleasant situation with a delay transport arrangement.

Therefore, we believe the fixed price in range of 450 - 500 Baht for a regular sized taxi which is including all Toll Way fees is considered acceptable by our best knowledge and judgement for guests' pleasant & punctual departure time ( no cancellation from taxi center at last minute ). However, if guests need a regular metered taxi which should cost nearly 400 - 450 Baht all included ( Toll way fees + taxi surcharge ) depend on which airport and traffic at that time, there is no problem that we can also arrange as requested if guests just simply inform us.

Regarding your power adapter left in the room, may you allow us to have your postal address in order to return your adapter safely and direct to your hand at our email : rsvn@aurum-bangkok.com

With room cleanliness concern, we will pass your valued comment to our room attendants to make sure that there are no ants or likewise in the guest rooms during stay. In general, we have a pest control on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your kind feedback and we extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused.


Yours sincerely,
Aurum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel is conveniently located in the old town close to the main palaces and temples, which means you can avoid taxis and tuk tuks scums. Neighbourhood is quite scary at first sight, however didn't have any problems at all. Room was very small but had everything we needed. About Service, front desk was always very friendly and supported us a lot, however there were some downs. There was a lady who just couldn't speak English, it was very terrible to communicate. Other down was during check-out. Since we had a very early check-out, staff decided to knock at our door and inspect the room and specially the minibar. Very unpleasant goodbye.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Manager at Aurum The River Place, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Henrique2012,


Thank you very much for taking time to share your valued comment.

It is certainly delighted to hear that you find our hotel is in a good location of Bangkok Old Town.

We also glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities in the room even our rooms are not so big.

However, we truly sorry that you have encountered an unpleasant experience during check-out time.

Our goal is to go beyond guests's expectation and needs. We would ensure guests to have a great experience during stay with us and I regret that we did not meet your expectation in terms of language barrier and service.

We will put all our efforts to improve every aspect of service to meet guest's expectation.

Your valued feedback was passed to our staff to rectify and discuss for the guest service standard and procedures to prevent the incident from happening again in the future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your kind feedback and we truly sorry for any inconvenience caused.


Yours sincerely,
Aurum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The place is ideally located by the river side, right next to Wat Pho and a couple blocks from the Grand Palace. And right across the river from the Wat Arun.
What makes this place special though was the service!! The ladies at the front desk make you feel like you are visiting family. They came out to greet the cab when we came in from the airport, and every time we needed to go somewhere, they would go out and flag a cab/tuk-tuk for us, and fix the pricing with the drivers. The manager/owner spent some time with us as soon as we checked in giving us a brief run-down of all the places in the area as far as eating, shopping and sightseeing went. Set up dinner reservations for us upon request, setup a cab service for us to take us to the floating markets, etc etc etc.
The rooms themselves were well appointed. I asked for Rm 401 and I got it.
If I ever went to Bangkok again, this is where Im staying!

Room Tip: Room 401 has a nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltermelon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The Aurum River Palace is a beautiful place, with beautiful 5 star rooms and service!

It's located right across from the Royal Palace and right down the street from the central pier, making getting around Bangkok via the river super easy and continent.

The manager/owner and super kind and helpful in giving us recommendations and directions as well!

Would definitely recommend and come back to the Aurum River Palace!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CayoHeusoLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

It's a little quaint hotel with very few amenities. Breakfast is included with a choice of American or simple prawn fried rice. I would skip it and aim for authentic thai street food if you would like to have more of a Bangkok experience. Staff seems friendly enough and communication was easy until we had a complaint (of course - more of that later). This is a hotel where you come sleep and leave for site seeing temples and the grand palace, nothing more. China Town's lively street food scene is a short cab ride away. It's by the river.

On to the juicy stuff....

We booked a boat tour through them since there's been so many stories of shady tour trap. Unfortunately our trust was misplaced. I didn't know this, but the husband paid $30/person for this tour that included a little riverside market (not much floating), visit to an orchid farm, and a boat ride to Wat Arum (which is across the river). Our $30/person got us a 20 minute stop at the market, frightening boat ride back, and a photo of Wat Arum.

When we complained. ...it was the first time we ever experienced a language barrier. They said we couldn't go to the Orchid farm because of the protest and something about it being too hot for the temple. No freaking sense!!!! First of all TELL US THAT instead of telling us what the tour included. Second WHY WOULD PROTESTERS go to an orchid farm along the river? ???????

A freaking waste of money spent at this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tksamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Manager at Aurum The River Place, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear tksamurai,


First of all, we would like to thank you for your valued comment for our hotel to improve the service.

We truly apologize for the service you experienced from the outsourced long tailed boat operator.

Your valued comment came to our attention.
We then actively investigated with staff who worked on that day to find out what was going on.

We found out that after our staff confirmed with guest to arrange the long tailed boat trip and guest left the hotel for sightseeing already and will come back for boat trip after, the staff just realized that a regular boat operator that we normally used was just happened not to operate on that day.

Our staff tried her best and decided to find other boat operator which is the first time we used this operator since guests already left the hotel at that time and our staff thinks guests would expect to have canal tours when coming back to the hotel.

We probably did not have a proper clarification to this boat operator and boat driver to use the same route we have already told guest which is the route that our regular long tail boat operator normally used.

Also we could not deny there was a language barrier of the staff in our side to explain to guest what happened after getting the complaint from guest.

Once again we apologize for dissatisfy our guest with our tour arrangement due to the above mentioned reason which is not the regular practice.

However, please kindly be informed that tour arrangement is only for guest convenience and pleasure, it is not the hotel operation.
Since there is advantage of having a private pier in front of the hotel, for guest's pleasure and convenience, long tailed boat for canal tour is normally our recommended tour for our hotel guests. However, this has to operated by a trusted boat driver.

We will tell our staff to be more careful about this matter when using outsourced operator for tour and should make a better clarification to guest.

We thank you for your valued comment and will try our best to improve this arrangement in the future.


Yours sincerely,
Aurum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#184 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#35 of 615 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Ibrik Resort by the River
#268 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#65 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#62 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 615 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Property: Aurum The River Place
Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing