We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four and a half stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurum The River Place

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #289 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Four and a half stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Aurum the River Place is a lovely hotel in an interesting part of Bangkok. We have stayed in Bangkok many times in different locations and were keen to have a riverside experience. We chose a room with a side river view ( booking directly with the hotel) and it did not disappoint. We enjoyed watching the activity on the river at different times during the day. The room itself was well appointed and attractively decorated as was the hotel lobby and lounge area. Breakfast was served in the adjacent riverside cafe and we enjoyed the Thai breakfast option every day. It was good to be nearby some key sites such as Wat Po, Wat Arun and the Grand Palace and also to be in such a traditional part of Bangkok - so interesting to walk around the area and watch daily life including the flower, fruit and vegetable market on the way to Pier 6. It was easy to use the river transport to access other parts of Bangkok (initially with the help of the helpful hotel staff), connecting with the Sky Train etc and also fun to enjoy the view from the boat. We left Bangkok by train and the hotel was close by Hua Lamphong train station. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more to get a river view and we found the side view room good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    44
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
92
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, the room was clean, nice view over the river, fridge, good size bathroom. The staff were brilliant, they gave directions, maps lists of restaurants everything you need. Book here, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soundcheckmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014. The hotel is very comfortable, very clean and faultlessly maintained, and very well located near the Royal Palace, also not too far from ferry stops. Very friendly and helpful manageress, I recommend taking her recommendations for restaurants. Views of the river are limited from most rooms, and though I did get one of the two corner rooms with a reasonably full view of the river (301 and 401 - 301 has small balcony, room 401 has no balcony but room is a bit bigger), the room gets very hot if you leave the curtains open, so whether or not you have a view of the river may not be that important unless you are planning to sit in the window for long.

Room Tip: The two corner rooms ave a reasonably full view of the river (301 and 401 - 301 has small balcony, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Pan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked directly with the hotel and right from the first email came confirmation and advice plus the added service of pick up from the airport for a very reasonable rate. We're greeted very warmly by the owner (?) and her excellent assistant. Our room was overlooking the river - very nicely appointed and quite spacious for two people. Aurum is an easy walk to Wat Phra Kaew (Emerald Buddah) and Grand Palace at one complex and also Wat Pho (largest reclining Buddah). It is also only a couple of blocks from piers to take ferries to China Town or across the river to Wat Arun. Coffee shop Vivi next door for lunch/snacks/coffee and delicious cake. Our 2 night stay was perfect. Comfortable bed, river is quiet at night so a good night's sleep is ensured. Breakfast in Vivi's garden is a pleasurable way to start the day. Good breakfast selection. Could not fault the hotel. Would certainly highly recommend for comfort, attention to service, great location, good value and very friendly helpful staff. Ticks all the boxes.

Room Tip: We had room 401 with River view. Spacious, sunny and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Location is nice, by the river, close to some nice restaurants. Room was really nice, very clean and good quality. The girl at reception was exceptional. Extremely polite, friendly and professional with a fantastic standard of English. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melricicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel barely has a river view. We were here at the end of Dec 2013 and a new building was constructed right in front of it.

The rooms were clean if you ignore some minor details (mold on lamp shades and stained grout in bathroom).

It was pretty noisy for us - we got woken up at 5am from construction noise.

The location is nice because it is close to the Grand Palace and more. The food in the area was pretty bad and it was very difficult to catch a cab out of the area (not to mention costly).

The staff was very nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The location is okay and the rooms were decent (if a bit noisy) but I wanted to touch on what happened when we checked out.

A couple days before check out, we asked the front desk to get us a taxi to the hotel the morning we were checking out. They arranged it for us, although at a price that was significantly higher than what it cost to get to the hotel from the airport. There are no cabs available in the area as early as we needed one (6 AM) so we really didn't have a choice.

The cab driver arrived 15 minutes early (5:45 AM). Now, if we had been leaving at 11 AM we probably would have been ready early, but because it was so early we were not ready to go yet. The lady working the front desk (a manager of some type) called the room to say the cab was waiting for us (15 minutes earlier than it was supposed to arrive). I said we would be down as soon as we could. Five minutes later (10 minutes earlier than the cab was supposed to arrive), front desk lady came and knocked at the front door. I opened the door and she was extremely agitated in telling us that the cab had been waiting. I told her we needed five minutes to get ready and tried to close the door (we were still throwing on clothes).

She actually stopped the door with her foot and came into the hotel room. Then I think she had the idea she would help us pack but it ended up with her just poking through our bags. Think about that for a second - imagine you were checking out of a Holiday Inn and and an irate employee started going through your bags because a cab had arrived early to take you to the airport. This would never happen in a professional establishment. She continually berated us to pack faster because the cab was waiting. A couple of times I actually had to stop packing stuff to get her out of our bags but she seemed to develop a sudden language barrier (or she simply didn't care) when I asked her to stop.

We were almost done packing when she suddenly became concerned that we had stolen one of the sandals they provide, so we had to spend several minutes crawling around on our hands and knees to find it (under the bed) before she would let us leave (at that point she was blocking the door). In the end she rushed us so much that we ended up leaving our power adapter there (a nice profit for the hotel I guess). This was a huge problem because the next place we were going was way out in the country with no place to buy another one. Both our cellphones died so we had no access to email or a telephone to make future travel arrangements or talk to family back home. This extremely negative experience really soured that portion of our trip.

Also, we got some pretty suspicious red bite marks on our lower legs while there, but I couldn't tell if it was ants (there were plenty), fleas, or bed bugs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Manager at Aurum The River Place, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Monkey M,


Thank you very much for staying with Aurum The River Place and taking time to share us your valued feedback.

We deeply apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. Your comment about service during check out time is certainly an unacceptable standard.

This is absolutely not the experience we aim to provide our guests and we are truly sorry that this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with a personalized service with polite manner and I regret that we did not meet your expectations.

We have shared your comment with team, especially the staff on duty that early morning ( definitely she is not the manager that you mentioned in the review ) to prevent the incident from happening again in the future .

We ensure you that we are continuously training staff for hotel procedures as well as guest service and manner.

Regarding hotel-airport transfer arrangement from hotel to airport, taxi arrangement is the hotel service for guest's convenience. We had arranged a fixed price for taxi at the price range of 450 - 500 Baht all included ( toll fees included ) as we believed that a taxi would definitely come for the requested time.

From our experience that we have called a taxi from taxi center, there is chance that they would ring us back to cancel the booking at almost last minute. This may cause unpleasant situation with a delay transport arrangement.

Therefore, we believe the fixed price in range of 450 - 500 Baht for a regular sized taxi which is including all Toll Way fees is considered acceptable by our best knowledge and judgement for guests' pleasant & punctual departure time ( no cancellation from taxi center at last minute ). However, if guests need a regular metered taxi which should cost nearly 400 - 450 Baht all included ( Toll way fees + taxi surcharge ) depend on which airport and traffic at that time, there is no problem that we can also arrange as requested if guests just simply inform us.

Regarding your power adapter left in the room, may you allow us to have your postal address in order to return your adapter safely and direct to your hand at our email : rsvn@aurum-bangkok.com

With room cleanliness concern, we will pass your valued comment to our room attendants to make sure that there are no ants or likewise in the guest rooms during stay. In general, we have a pest control on a regular basis.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to share your kind feedback and we extremely sorry for any inconvenience caused.


Yours sincerely,
Aurum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#184 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#42 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#71 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#65 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#80 of 1,136 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Ibrik Resort by the River
#265 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Property: Aurum The River Place
Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing