We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aurum The River Place
Ranked #290 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good base for Bangkok”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Aurum for 3 nights upon arrival in Thailand. Great location for exploring Bangkok's temples, and enjoyed the fact the hotel was away from the more commercial Siam district.

Hotel is relatively basic but has everything you could need for a city base and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served next door at the 'Coffee Place' with a American and Thai options.

Well worth considering.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OLAS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    44
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
94
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I started travelling around Thailand on the 1st of July and thought I would book a nice hotel for the first night, so I read some reviews and picked a quite expensive one.

When we got there the hotel was down an alley, I had a basic room, and the breakfast wasn't too good either.

Was worse than some of the places I've been staying at which were only £10 a night.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stayed 2 nights at the Aurum Reiver Place on our way home from another part of Thailand.

We arranged ahead of time for them to pick us up at the airport and take us to the hotel, for which I had sent them our flight details so they knew when to be ready for us. At 1100 baht one way it was more expensive than most other transport options (we paid 500 for the return journey via private car) but we decided it was the best way to make the journey as easy as possible since we flew in in the evening and didn't want to have a hassle. We got to the airport and there was no driver waiting. I called the hotel (luckily I had a cell phone available to me) to be asked which terminal I had flown into so they could send the driver. As mentioned earlier, we had already given them all of our flight details so I was disappointed that we were not met as we exited, like with every other car service I have ever used. Once I did call them the driver arrived in about 15-20 minutes (it would have been quicker to have caught a taxi at half the price or less).

Once we arrived we were met by a very nice young lady who got us checked in and let us know that they had already fire up the A/C in our room for us, which was thoughtful (the hotel uses the "put your key card in a slot by the door to turn on the electrics in the room" system used by some hotels here in the states). I later mentioned wanting to leave the A/C on all the time and they kindly had someone put a hotel card in the slot for us so we didn't need to use our key, and the A/C would stay on.

When we arrived that evening we hadn't eaten so I asked for some suggestions and the front desk lady was very helpful in giving us options that would be available even though it was getting late.

The room is not huge but it is comfortable and well designed. We were on the 4th floor at the end of the hall. There is a view to river here to the left of the view, while the right side of the view is taken up by a building between the hotel and the river.

The minibar is VERY reasonably priced. I usually don't touch hotel mini-bars because of high pricing, but helped myself to a beer and some snacks which cost very little more than buying them at the local 7-11, so that was a huge positive given that we flew in so late.

The bathroom is compact but perfectly comfortable and water pressure/temperature is good. The one poor design choice is in the bathtub. There is a "lip" around the top of the tub which means that any shower water that doesn't land directly in tub gets routed around the top of the tub and dumped on the bathroom floor. The water that comes out at the top of the tub by the shower head falls onto an in-floor drain but any that ends up going the other way just ends up on the floor of the bathroom. This really isn't a big deal if you just put a towel down on the floor, but I figured I would mention it.

The breakfast is served in a small garden across the street from the hotel in front of the river. There is a nice water feature there, but it is right between you and the river, leaving me to wonder if it might be better to just let us see the river instead.

We didn't ask but I suspect that we were the only guests in the hotel during our stay. We didn't see any other guests there and when we went to breakfast there was only one table made up with placements, knives, forks etc and that was ours.

The breakfast itself was excellent. My wife had the American style with eggs and bacon and I had the Thai style with chicken and rice. Both were excellent, really tasty and fresh and they really set us up well for a big day in town.

We asked them about a driver and they set us up with a great driver for the day.

As we only in the city one full day really, I can't comment too much on location other than to say that is a couple of minutes walk from the vibrant 24-hour flower market and a couple of minutes drive from the grand palace so nicely in the middle of things, but it is on a small side-street so there is no noise or traffic outside.

They do offer a discount for cash payments upon checkout (we paid with CC due to time constraints but could have saved about 800 baht paying cash).

Overall a good stay, and we would absolutely look at staying here again on another visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingaskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurumtheriverplace, Owner at Aurum The River Place, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear gingaskunk
Cypress, TX

Thank you very much for your valuable comments and time to review our hotel.

There are 2 points of thing that you mentioned and we need to improve :

Regarding airport pick up; we have talked to the person in charge of pick up at the airport not to have this happen again. Since this flight is Domestic, the pick up should be at Domestic Gate 1, not the meeting point for the International Gate which should take 5 – 10 minute walk from there to Domestic Gate 1 even it is the only terminal, but it is quite a big terminal.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and will ensure to improve this service, not to have this happen again. However, we are glad to hear that you are happy with the driver we arranged for a day trip in Bangkok and sent you back to the airport with a reasonable price on the departure day.


The 2nd point you mentioned about shower water that has possibility of dumping on the bathroom floor if it doesn't land directly in tub because the design of the lip around the top of bathtub. For this problem, we have realized and will try to do our best to solve this technical problem as soon as possible to avoid bathroom floor wet on our best efforts.


However, we are delighted to learn that you have mentioned for overall a good stay, you feel our staff helpful and comfortable with our room even it is not hugh and happy with the breakfast in the small garden and minibar in the room. Thank you for your mention that you would absolutely look at staying here again on another visit to Bangkok.


We hope you could come back to stay at Aurum the river place and enjoy Bangkok longer for your next time visit.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We take all your comments and see it as an opportunity to improve ourselves.

With kind regards,
Aurum management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This past April, my wife and I held our latest vacation in the South East Asia area of this beautiful planet. This trip involved several legs of various durations, starting in Bangkok, then Jakarta, a few days in Borneo and then finally Bali.

In Bangkok we stayed at the Aurum River Palace Hotel. Foremost, we found this hotel to be situated within walking distance, or very short commutes by took-took, to most of the major attractions in Bangkok (Wat Pho, Imperial Palace, Wat Arun, etc.). Our room was clean, well maintained and with modern furnishings. Daily room services are at par with hotels of this size. Overall service and courtesy from staff we qualify to be above expectations. Included breakfast packages are adequate all things considered.

Be advised however that recent construction in front of this hotel does limit significantly the view on the Chao Phraya River, so do manage your expectations on this point.

So basically, if you are looking for a hotel at a reasonable price, clean, well maintained and with a great location, Aurum River Palace is your selection. This even more important if you are in Bangkok for only 2 or 3 days and you do not want to hassle with long commutes to get to the major historical sites of this city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie and Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Aurum the River Place is a lovely hotel in an interesting part of Bangkok. We have stayed in Bangkok many times in different locations and were keen to have a riverside experience. We chose a room with a side river view ( booking directly with the hotel) and it did not disappoint. We enjoyed watching the activity on the river at different times during the day. The room itself was well appointed and attractively decorated as was the hotel lobby and lounge area. Breakfast was served in the adjacent riverside cafe and we enjoyed the Thai breakfast option every day. It was good to be nearby some key sites such as Wat Po, Wat Arun and the Grand Palace and also to be in such a traditional part of Bangkok - so interesting to walk around the area and watch daily life including the flower, fruit and vegetable market on the way to Pier 6. It was easy to use the river transport to access other parts of Bangkok (initially with the help of the helpful hotel staff), connecting with the Sky Train etc and also fun to enjoy the view from the boat. We left Bangkok by train and the hotel was close by Hua Lamphong train station. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more to get a river view and we found the side view room good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel, the room was clean, nice view over the river, fridge, good size bathroom. The staff were brilliant, they gave directions, maps lists of restaurants everything you need. Book here, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soundcheckmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014. The hotel is very comfortable, very clean and faultlessly maintained, and very well located near the Royal Palace, also not too far from ferry stops. Very friendly and helpful manageress, I recommend taking her recommendations for restaurants. Views of the river are limited from most rooms, and though I did get one of the two corner rooms with a reasonably full view of the river (301 and 401 - 301 has small balcony, room 401 has no balcony but room is a bit bigger), the room gets very hot if you leave the curtains open, so whether or not you have a view of the river may not be that important unless you are planning to sit in the window for long.

Room Tip: The two corner rooms ave a reasonably full view of the river (301 and 401 - 301 has small balcony, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Pan875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#221 of 862 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#175 of 862 in Bangkok
306 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#35 of 650 in Bangkok
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sala Arun
#53 of 650 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#43 of 1,210 in Bangkok
110 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#68 of 1,210 in Bangkok
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurum The River Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurum The River Place

Property: Aurum The River Place
Address: 394/27-29 Maharaj Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurum The River Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's riverside boutique hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River. Located in "Rattanakosin Island " the historical-cultural reserved area in the middle of Bangkok. Few minutes walk to the Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Pho), Watpo Thai traditional massage school, and the Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aurum The River Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurum The River Place Hotel Bangkok
Aurum The River Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing