We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good show, not amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siam Niramit

Siam Niramit
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.32*
and up
Siam Niramit Show
Ranked #1 of 33 Concerts & Shows in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the centre of Bangkok, Siam Niramit is a state-of-the-art 2000-seat theatre, open every day, presenting one of the world's largest stage productions. In the grounds of the theatre are three restaurants, and an authentic traditional Thai village that visitors can stroll through and savour the atmosphere of Thai life in bygone times.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good show, not amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

First off, they are very strict about banning cameras from the show. Don't try to sneak one in.

The show itself is preceded by some outdoor entertainment, which is good for the kids. Some dancing, singing, audience interactivity, etc.

The show itself has one scene that is TOTALLY not suitable for young viewers. There's a scene that depicts hell, and is basically a bunch of people writhing around in pain, getting boiled alive, being beaten, etc. Could be scarring for the kiddies. Maybe I'm oversensitive, but there it is.

The show is mostly entertaining, good fun, and not that long. My partner liked it much better than I did... in fairness, I don't think I'm the target demographic (30yr old male).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Willyliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,792
    738
    262
    83
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
209 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic show in Bangkok, not to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are many shows in Thailand, some disappointing, some better but Siam Niramit is a must, a show not to be missed and any visitor to the kingdom should attend.
The show has nothing to do with the current transvestites shows in Thailand. This is a blockbuster based on the culture of the kingdom through its history and its various regions.
The staging is remarkable, scenic devices are top of inventiveness and Siam Niramit could be proposed in News York or Las Vegas without much envy to Cirque du Soleil. Do not hesitate one second, go ahead ...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzaccio2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

One of the most interesting shows ever. Definetely a must see. It tells a story of Thai culture through colourful costumes, playful music, humour and very professional performance. The stage transforms into rivers, lakes, rice fields, burning hell and cloudy heavens, They had real elephants too. Impressive indeed!

One advise is to come earlier as the theatre has an old open air villige display. Certailny worth seeing prior to the show as they close down once the show is over.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 929Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Maybe not Very Good, but Good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were a little early, and on a night where there weren't many customers so got to spend some time talking to the a couple of the actors and also to the resident elephants. This and the wonderful costumes were probably the highlight for me.
Going to somewhere like this I think you have to be aware that they are planning to get the most money out of you they possibly can, however it is not an expensive night out.
We had a walk around the village, which I think was good, but not fabulous. There are some lovely photo opportunities. There is also the opportunity to tip people for weaving and cooking and taking you on a canoe ride and other type things which I didn't do.
The buffet was quite large, and had something for everyone. A lot of the food was cooked to order and I did see some of the other food being replaced at certain times. I think you have to keep in mind that it is a tourist buffet for tourists, you can't expect fine dining and I would recommend, as with any buffet, to be cautious about what you eat.
There was lots of dancing and fighting in the square before the show, and it was nice to have the chance to participate.
The show itself has some great costumes, great special effects and I liked that they come out into the audience. The river was very clever! The only real downside is that you know that they do this every night, exactly the same, whether the theater is full or empty. On a full night I can imagine that it would be a great place to be.
If you haven't been, and you are in the area and want to go. then go. It is worth a look and you don't have to have the dinner, you can just turn up for the show.
Perhaps be wary of taking small children as the second act features a section on Hell that made even me a little wide eyed.
Also, you can't take photos in the theater, so be prepared to check your camera before the entrance. It is okay to take phones in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathiiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The stage and the show is just spectacular and captivating! A must see! Regrettably, we did not get to visit the Thai Cultural Village though as there wasn't enough time. Buffet dinner was good. So should plan to arrive much earlier in order to have enough time to visit the village and join in the outdoor cultural performances. One thing they should do though is to give the elephants a bath! Ew...the smell! But all in a really wonderful experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeohGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam Niramit also viewed

 

Been to Siam Niramit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing