We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkoks best fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungsamran Fishing Resort
Ranked #543 of 1,192 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Guantánamo, Guantanamo, Cuba
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bangkoks best fishing”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I always fish a day or 2 each trip , 3 + X a year for the past 9 years here and love it every time. I have fished all over Thailand and find the fun and fishing great each time , as it is catching really , but it always set the tone for a great trip and good time. I love fishing in Thailand as the rivers are fished very little and lakes (the ones you can fish in ) are always good.

Plan an over night stay as the morning and late afternoon are best and a good nap in the mid day with a massage is great, also getting a massage while you fish is a great plus.

Room Tip: Only a few real room & with bathrooms, but plan ahead and should not be an issue. Or deck sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Myself and my Partner had a wonderful time fishing here, even being one of the only girls fishing i didn't feel out of place and our guide for the day was awesome and very friendly.

We caught a lot of fish easily 15 during the day, we also paid to stay over night and it was just perfect, simple amenities but that's all you need.

FOOD AMAZING!!!!! Tom Yum soup the Hottest and best soup we had while in Thailand. they delivered the food to our hut the service was fantastic.

I also liked the girls working in the shop and reception as she complimented me on arrival : ) lovely start to the day,

We will be back next year.

Kim & Tony - York England stayed Feb 6th

Room Tip: Just have fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTudorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

I fished at Bungsamran lake for one day with Siam Fishing Tours on my trip to Bangkok and lived every minute. From the moment I arrived I was shown straight to my private fishing villa where I stayed for the whole day. Food and drink was brought to me and my girlfriend had someone come and give her a massage while I fished. I have always wanted to catch a mOnster fish and although my biggest wasn't a world beater (it was 66lb) I was happy that I managed to catch 11 Mekong catfish. All in all this was one amazing day and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyspurs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

If your into fishing & have a spare day in Bangkok & don't want to spend a bomb then this is the place.
Was a little difficult to find, however staff at the hotel were great in giving instructions to taxi driver. A map can be found on their website.
Trip took about 1 hour from Asok BTS station. Didn't book & lucky to arrive & not have too many other fishers. Fished the central pier with a guide for the day.
Price was very reasonable (<$AUD100) for the whole day & what a day. Got to the stage whereby i was happy to have used all the bait. These things just don't give up. They fight long & hard & really test your endurance. All up caught about 7 fish around the 40 pound size.
Checked out the bungalows before I left & these looked great if you had a larger group or wanted to stay overnight.
There is no need to hire a guide however would strongly recommend for anyone new to this style of fishing & the guide mixs the bait, baits the hook & casts the line. All you have to do is fight the fish.
Would highly recommend Bungsamaran to anyone keen on fishing (and giving your arms a real workout)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maitlandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I have read somewhere that you can actually do a DIY day fishing trip in Bungsamran Lake Resort. Being new to Thailand and not wanting to spoil the highlight of my partner’s trip, I decided to book this trip with a fishing organizer. Very happy that I did.

We were picked up at our hotel in Bangkok 5 minutes earlier than scheduled and arrived at the Resort about 30 minutes later. We were led to our own fishing cottage/platform just a few meters away from a very clean washroom. The fishing guide was already busy preparing the bait which seemed to be a ready mix of chicken feed then hand pressed into a ball.

My partner did the fishing while I took videos and pictures. It is true. You can catch a Mekong giant Catfish in BLR at a rate of 2 for every hour with each fish weighing no less than 30 lbs. My partner did. In fact, everyone who fished whether booked or DIY had a heyday.

Bungsamran Lake Resort has a restaurant, souvenir shop, fishing gear and equipment rental. I’m not sure about the costs because ours came in a package that included lunch and lots of iced cold water.

For anyone, family, friends, couples or singles…it is a truly wonderful experience. I did not actually fish but even a non fishing person can actually be entertained by simply being there and watching everybody have fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank up_sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

I was always looking for something new to do during my numerous visits to Bangkok on business. Bored with the usual facilties offered by regular hotels, I went in search of something that would afford me time to truly relax and escape the madness of Bangkok, at least whilst I returned to my room anyway!

Bungsamran Fishing Resort was just the ticket, it is first and foremost a world reknowned fishing venue, but has recently upgraded all it's facilities to include A/C Bungalows, with double and single beds, along with its bar's, cafe, restuarants, shops and other facilities it's now possible to stay on Bungsamran whilst in Bangkok on business, and unwind by side of a world class fishery!

This is something completely different to do in Bangkok and has renewed my ability to look forward to my stay in Thailand's capital!

  • Liked — Unique in Bangkok
  • Disliked — Its basic, but clean
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,108 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungsamran Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungsamran Fishing Resort

Property: Bungsamran Fishing Resort
Address: 21/596, Soi Navamin 42, Navamin Rd. | Bungkum, Bangkapi, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #543 of 1,192 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bungsamran Fishing Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing