We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, terrific location for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Watergate Hotel
Ranked #731 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Grayson, Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great value, terrific location for shopping”
Reviewed 7 June 2008

Paid 999 baht per night per room ($30 USD plus 17% tax). Arrived @ midnight to two clean rooms centrally located in the shopping area. Rooms are basic . Location is in an alley type area, but we didn't feel in danger. Kids loved the Burger King the first night @ midnight.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perdido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    55
    49
    15
    23
See reviews for
33
45
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

This hotel is great for the price. I thought it was clean and the staff friendly. When I arrived it was late and I wanted to walk to the 7-11 but was a bit afraid. The neighborhood is not scary so please do not get the wrong idea. I was just nervous because I did not know the area at all. A front desk employee walked with me and I thought that was above and beyond. The location is great and there are always taxis and tuk-tuks waiting out front of the hotel.

The few drawbacks.... The breakfast was awful. Really awful. Also, our room was right on the street and was very loud as trucks are being loaded ALL night long. We did get used to the sound after a while though and slept quite well. The location is a bit dificult for some taxis so just make sure you have the hotel card with map on you at all times so you can get back.

I would recommend.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Grand Watergate in Pratunam. It was slightly further, about 15 mins walk from the nearest BTS station, than Samran Place where we stayed during an earlier visit, but Grand Watergate is much much newer (just over a year old) and we didn’t mind the walking, and whenever we were too tired or lazy to walk, the hotel’s just a short walk away from the main road (Petchburi Rd) with its abundance of taxis and tuk-tuks. It’s also a short walk away from the Pratunam night markets, and even the malls (Central World Plaza, Siam Paragon, Siam Square etc) are accessible by foot if you’re up to it.

Overall, the hotel’s strongest point was its newness – everything still looked quite sparkly & clean – and its quiet location, tucked away behind the noisy main roads (though do try to get a room on a higher floor so you don’t have to hear the kitchen crew’s early morning banter like we did). Our rooms were spotless, very spacious, bed extremely comfortable, minibar nice bonus for chilling drinks, some cable tv channels. Our rooms did not have windows though, and I believe all rooms are tiled not carpeted as are the hallways, which means rooms are free of old carpet mustiness but passerbys’ conversations & footsteps in the echoey hallway may interrupt light sleepers’ rest. Bathrooms lacked shower curtains but there was always warm water and fresh towels, though sometimes slightly tired ones, were changed daily.

Breakfast was eat-all-you-can buffet style, though limited and repetitive. There’s no concierge or travel agent at the reception and counter staff were less friendly or helpful than your average Thai, but we encountered no problems during our stay. Overall, a real bang for the budget traveler's buck.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed 5 nights in a deluxe room - surprisingly spacious, clean, bathroom fittings new, except the floor is not carpeted. Beds were clean and turned down daily. Staff is friendly and helpful, to our requests - extra pillows, adaptor.

The breakfast was as good as any other buffet spread. Truly value for money. Highly recommended to budget travellers.

Being new, the hotel is located inside one of the side lanes and is not familiar to many taxis. The first night, the driver couldnt find the place and had to stop few times to get directions.

An armchair in the room would have been welcomed than always having to sit on the bed.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — location in a side lane
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ceci55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varies
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2008

The best thing about this hotel is the location - easy walking distance from lots of shopping places. Near the main road but very quiet. Also very clean and the staff are really nice. Fridge in the room very useful (I think they might have had a mini bar once upon a time).

Downside is the bathrooms - very small and hardly enough room between the edge of the toilet and the wall, had to sit side-saddle, water pressure in the shower very weak. Also the breakfast was awful which, in a city like Bangkok where you are surrounded by incredible food is a bit disappointing. Coffee was horrible. Restaurant/bar shuts at 8pm which is annoying if you just want a drink in the evening without going out and no tea or coffee making in the room. Satellite TV connections very hit and miss. Some of the clientele leave a lot to be desired - came out of our room one morning to find someone had puked right outside the door and just left it there.

Overall though the location (central but quiet) and friendliness compensate a lot for the rest.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank alisonlord11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2008

after get help of traveladvisor info. we did book for a week stayed in grand watergate. is from 15/3-21/3/2008. the hotel is new. everything is just fine since all is new. however, the only problem is the house keeping. we found tat they are oni keep your bed neat but they will never vacumn the floor. and they will never change the bed sheet by every single day. tis cleaness is bad compare to ibis siam which we stayed 2 times before. However the hotel location is good. between 5 min u may reach pratunam, palatinum,.... for taxi reference to get to tis hotel. just say. petburi, soi 15. then they will noe.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cassabigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Stayed at the Grand Watergate for 3 nights just this Feb. Very clean, comfortable and an excellent value. The breakfast was not to my taste but I am used to eggs, pancakes, cereal. Their breakfast was Asian in nature but there was toast and coffee which suited me. The staff was eager to help even if there were language barriers. There are 2 computers in the lobby to check email or whatever but you can find better deals at internet cafes. All in all a good experience

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaiatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Cozi Inn
#597 of 863 in Bangkok
46 reviews
Phayathai
White Palace Bangkok
White Palace Bangkok
#716 of 863 in Bangkok
419 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#314 of 863 in Bangkok
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ten Stars Inn
#602 of 863 in Bangkok
100 reviews
PJ Watergate Hotel
#604 of 863 in Bangkok
197 reviews
Cubic Pratunam
#748 of 863 in Bangkok
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Watergate Hotel

Property: Grand Watergate Hotel
Address: 49/29, Soi Petchburi 15, Petchburi Road | Phayathai, Ratchtewee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Watergate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Watergate Hotel provide the most affordable rooms in the best location in downtown Bangkok. You will find how easy to go to the city's landmarks. Daily & long stay rates are available. Building : The exterior of the hotel is an Eearth Tone Color highrise with six storey. Parking space is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Watergate Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing